We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideally located dog friendly cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dragonfly Cottage

Dragonfly cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dragonfly cottage
Dragonfly Cottage Bright and airy open plan living and dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Dragonfly cottage
Dragonfly Cottage
Bright and airy open plan living and dining room
Bright and stylish living space
Dragonfly Cottage
Comfy chairs to curl up in front of the fire
Twin room featuring comfy mattresses and beautiful Egyptian cotton bedding
Dragonfly Cottage
Twin room featuring comfy mattresses and beautiful Egyptian cotton bedding
Double room with comfy bed and beautiful Egyptian cotton bedding
Peaceful double bedroom
Fantastic kitchen with all the thing you'll need
Kitchen looking out onto the private courtyard garden
Private sun-filled garden with outdoor dining, BBQ and secure shed to store outdoor equipment
Private secluded garden with fruit trees and herb garden
Secluded garden perfect for dining on a summer evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeanette...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ideally located dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely cottage that had everything we needed. On arrival the host had left fresh local bread, homemade scones, jam and cream, pint of milk. All super thoughtful and appreciated. The cottage was clean and fresh, plenty of towels and toilet rolls! I would note that the stairs are extremely steep and not ideal if infirm. Luckily there is a toilet upstairs so they didn't have to be negotiated in the night. The road is a little noisy and for that reason, and the stairs, I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. The host couldn't be more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs and road noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Hi Jeanette,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay - and the treats! Always welcome after a long trip! As you say, the stairs are quite steep, in keeping with period properties of this type. We're always careful to include this on all our marketing material. We're glad you found the upstairs WC to be handy though. It's a real bonus in a property of that age.
Sorry to hear you found the road to be a little noisy. It's not the main road into Holt, and so less busy than the High Street, although Holt is of course a popular and bustling town so there are some comings and goings.
Once again, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope to welcome you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanna S
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location far outweighed the Cottage”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a one week stay in this cottage. Booked our stay in March after reading other reviews and were really looking forward to it. Now, I am only going to give a 100% accurate review based on our experience. It is not intended to offend anyone, or detract from Norfolk's good points. The cottage has WIFI/TV/Washing machine which was a bonus, fresh bread and scones nice touch.

The cottage is situated on a fairly noisy road, tractors, boy racers, lorries were a regular occurrence and considering the property isn't double glazed it wasn't great. The walls are so thin you could hear the neighbours on both sides talking/TV's etc. Expected old walls to be better sound proofed in all honesty. Other comments, stairs are incredibly steep ( no good for older members of our families had they been with us)

The Sash windows don't open in the front bedroom or lounge, only 2 inches in the master bedroom...health and safety issue? Didn't help when the weather was hot either.

There was a Strange smell in double bedroom, not sure what from and some stains on the carpet. Maybe I'm a perfectionist, but found it a little bit :(

The property is dog friendly which was a reason we chose Dragonfly, however the grey squishy chair in lounge smelt of dogs which meant we didn't want to use this as it wasn't very relaxing. Our dog isn't allowed on our furniture, and I would suggest other visitors hadn't read in the manual about using throws.
The downstairs toilet has a dodgy handle which needs looking at. It takes a good while to flush.
This area has RAF jets flying overhead every day which is not ideal when you have a dog who isn't used to such loud noises. The holiday was for the 3 of us and I would suggest to other dog owners places like Sherringham Park which is beautiful is hell for our 4 legged friends. We now know that the Jets are a major theme in North Norfolk.

I have to add the cottage needs a clean, unlike other comments which said 'spotless' when I wiped the kitchen floor to remove a coffee spill, the kitchen towel was black :( Another selling point was the word 'spotless'. We certainly weren't going to spend our week cleaning.

Spoke to some really nice people whilst touring the area who stated 'Holt folk think they're in Chelsea/Mayfair'... how right they were! There are much less snobby parts of Norfolk unless this is what you like.

Finally, YOU WILL HAVE NO PHONE SIGNAL!! :) Like it or hate it, that's the deal and apparently its the way the locals like it! lol

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
We are really disappointed and surprised by your review and negative comments, particularly as we have never heard any of these comments from our other guests. We pride ourselves on providing a great cottage for a great holiday. Regarding the 'noisy road', the cottage is centrally located in the town of Holt as is advertised. Generally people would choose the cottage for it's proximity to amenities. So while it is not as quiet as some rural cottages, it is certainly not a noisy road. The period sash windows do in fact open in every room. For safety, the window in the twin room only opens from the top as this room is often used by children. The stairs are indeed steep, in keeping with cottages from this period and this is mentioned in all of our advertising.

We were particularly shocked to read your comments about cleanliness. As you pointed out, many other guests comment on how clean the cottage is. It undergoes a thorough clean after every stay, including all furniture. We cannot detect a smell in the upstairs bedroom and we have had no comments about this before. Contrary to your comments we have found that our dog-owning guests are very clean, tidy and respectful of the cottage. There is no way that the kitchen floor was filthy (as you suggest).

As a rental cottage, we do get stains on the carpets. Unfortunately we cannot change these every time this happens. However, we do ensure that the things we can replace - towels, throws and 100% Egyptian cotton sheets are done so regularly to ensure that our guest find the cottage fresh and welcoming.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy the area. As incomers to Holt ourselves, we have always found Holt to be a very welcoming town. We would certainly disagree with your characterisation of Sheringham Park. We go there regularly with our dogs and baby son and it is a peaceful and beautiful location. There are jets that fly occasionally. This is a feature of the area and something that some people come here to see. However, they are not regular enough to cause a nuisance.

While we understand that some things about your stay may not have been to your taste, many of your comments, particularly in regard to the cleanliness of the cottage are completely unfounded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisalilyj...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in wonderful location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Dragonfly Cottage is truly beautiful, a real find. Tastefully decorated, fully equipped, very clean and only a minutes stroll to wonderful Holt town. Full of amazing cafes, restaurants and shops! The homemade scones, local baked bread and other welcome goodies were a lovely touch too. We had a really relaxing holiday and hope to come back soon. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Hi Lisa,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Dragonfly Cottage so much! Glad to hear that you enjoyed Holt as well. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralparkn
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Dragonfly cottage is perfectly situated within walking distance of all the shops and eating places in Holt. Spotless and comfortable we really felt as though it was home from home.
We were four adults and had plenty of space for all our "tackle".
Holt is ideally situated for visiting all the north Norfolk coastal towns as well as Sandringham and has the added attraction of the North Norfolk Steam Railway for a trip to Sheringham.
The cottage has all the facilities you could wish for and we highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much! Sounds like you made the most of everything North Norfolk has to offer. We can't take credit for the weather but we're very glad it was on your side.

Thanks for taking such good care of the Cottage, and for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpley20...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just like previous reviewers, we enjoyed our time immensely at Dragonfly Cottage. Holt is a lovely market town and the cottage is very conveniently located within easy walking distance of shops, pubs and restaurants. The allocated parking space is very nearby too.
The welcome pack of homemade cake, bread and milk was delicious and very much appreciated on a cold winter's day. The cottage is very well equipped and the central heating system proved to be very effective- with the gas fire making the cottage even cosier. The beds and bed linen are first rate too.
I will definitely return if I am in the area again. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, and apologies for our delayed response over the festive period. We're delighted you all had such an enjoyable stay, and we're very pleased to hear you were all nice and cosy! We can't always guarantee the weather but cake and a warm fire we can do! We very much hope to welcome you again in the future. Thanks for choosing Dragonfly Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary K
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Idyllic and perfectly located Norfolk cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Perfectly located close to the centre of Holt, which is small but with a good choice of places to eat and drink as well as shops. The beautiful beaches of the North Norfolk coast are less than 20 minutes away as well lots of attractions and historic villages.
Dragonfly cottage itself is spotlessly clean and surprisingly spacious. We had a wonderful welcome with fresh bread as well as a cake, which we thought was a lovely touch.
Very comfortable and cosy and definitely recommendable. Great communications from the owner with all the info needed upfront as well as being genuinely dog-friendly.
Thanks so much, we will definitely visit again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Idyllic cottage, spotlessly clean and perfectly located
Liked least: A corner sofa or a second larger/longer settee would have been wonderful however still ideal for relaxing as is
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Hi Gary,

Thanks for your very kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in some of what North Norfolk has to offer. We were very happy to welcome your four-legged family members! Hope they had a lovely time too. Thanks for taking the time to write a review - your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Best wishes,
Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A beautifully positioned and decorated cottage to relax in.”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family of two adults, a teenager and a labradoodle and there was plenty of room for us in this lovely cottage. It is immaculately decorated and clean and very well equipped. The are some quirky things to the cottage which add to its character. It is very well situated for the town which has lovely restaurants, a pub and cafes, all within walking distance. It is well stocked with local maps and walks which we made use of. We can also recommend the local GP's surgery which we unfortunately had to make use of but the information on where it was was included within the cottage information. All correspondence with the owner worked very well. And finally, a thank you for the tea, coffee, milk and homemade bread and cake on arrival - a lovely touch. If you are considering this cottage we would definitely recommend booking it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon at the Dragonfly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing