We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Old Paul Pry Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Paul Pry
Former Alehouse in Centre of Holt
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Paul Pry
Former Alehouse in Centre of Holt
Dining Room Cosy Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
The Old Paul Pry
Former Alehouse in Centre of Holt
Dining Room
Cosy Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
En Suite Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rita903
Beccles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Old Paul Pry Perfect”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our second visit to the Old Paul Pry, and it won't be our last.
So very cosy and everything to hand( apart from dishcloth).
Perfect if you need to get away from everyday hustle and bustle.
We all wish we were going again this weekend.
Finally a big thanks has to go to the lovely community of Holt and Judith of course!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Many thanks, so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Welcome to return any time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location, nice house, unfortunate heating problem”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We booked to stay here for a 3 night weekend in January as that was the minimum amount of nights we could book but we actually only needed it for Friday night prior to a Saturday wedding and we were all staying at the wedding venue.

When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the owner and shown to the cottage. It was immediately apparent that the heating had not been in for some considerate time and the house was extremely cold. It was January after all!

Unfortunately it would appear that the boiler pressure had dropped and the heating was not working.

The owner worked hard to get it working and with the help of my husband and after some time, they managed to get it going.

We fired up the log burner which heated up the lounge nicely. As the rest of the house was so cold, we couldn't open the doors from the lounge to the other areas as it just let very cold air into the lounge and that was the only warm room in the house!

We had trouble with one of the bedroom radiators not heating up and had to contact the owner again for some tools to bleed the radiator. This was done but still did not heat up.

In the end my husband and my son had to increase the pressure on the boiler to get the system fully working.

What this meant for us was that the 7 of us really only had use in the evening of the lounge as the rest of the house was so cold so we didn't enjoy the house as much as we would have liked, we certainly weren't able to sit round the dining room and eat! This was disappointing as this was the only night we all stayed together in the house.

Overnight the heating was on and working and the house heated up well and got to a pleasant temperature, given that it's an old house.

I did contact Sykes Cottages and give my feedback on our stay and hoped that some consideration would be given to us from the owner of not having a comfortable first night stay and this is the response:

"We have spoken to the owner of the property about the issues raised and unfortunately they are not willing to provide the night refund that you have asked for as they feel the issues where rectified"

Whilst I agree the issues were finally rectified (with my husbands and sons help!) they were not rectified in time to stop us from being freezing cold on our first night! An old house takes a long time to heat up fully.

Sykes advised me that they ask all owners to ensure that houses are warm for guests arrival and ours was not. Not even any heating!

The house itself was nice. We found the beds comfortable and the house had everything we could have wanted had we stayed longer.

It's in a good location within easy walking distance to Holt Village. This was lucky as we had to eat out on the Friday night due to heating.

My husband and I stayed on the Sunday night and used Byfords within a minutes walk away which we thought was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you for your extensive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the house overall. You take great pains to explain your side of things regarding the heating, and I guess that having not got what you wanted from the agent Sykes in terms of any refund, you thought you would leave a review on here !
That's fine, but there are always 2 sides to every story, so we will now explain ours ! The heating had been left off by accident after a recent plumber visit. The problem was rectified immediately, and you were left with instructions ( which you were happy with) that you would need to put a little more pressure into the system once it had got going- an easy task of turning 2 small inlet taps. Unfortunately you did not do this, and hence later in the evening you were still calling the owner. When asked if you had done the pressure, you realised that you had not, but once done, the property heated up as normal. As it radiator heating there is instant heat.
You were offered the most profuse apologies, and you were given a free tea & cakes from the Folly tea room next door.
The next day you all went out for 24 hours, not returning until the next day, but sadly you were careless enough to leave many lights on - at least 6, which were then on all day and all night. This is extremely irritating to owners, and a complete waste of energy. I am sure you would not do it in your own house.
So on balance, we felt that your request of a refund for one nights stay (£128) was excessive. We did however say to Sykes that if you wished to return anytime for another visit, we would be happy to give you a discount. I hope that they mentioned this.
Do get in touch if you wish to return .
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Many thanks for your review. so glad you enjoyed your stay and please do visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WendyEliz...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful property, a joy to stay there!”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Had the pleasure of staying here for the weekend. The property and its location are amazing. Enjoyed every minute and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Dear Rachel, Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
We would like to look into the issue with the beds and would be grateful to know what the problem was with them. We are unaware that there is any issue, and this is the first time a guest has reported anything of this nature, and we have been fully booked all summer. Perhaps you could drop an email to us to outline the problem, and then we can investigate
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennine S
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paid in full, but didn't stay as not suitable, no refund given”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Reason for cancelling was stairs were too step for my partner who was due for a hip replacement, I live close enough to visit. Spoke to owners , who said they would be happy to give me a refund, but they said it was up to TripAdvisor to refund me, but I never received one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Dear Guest,
we are so sorry to hear that you did not stay at the property.
It does in fact say in the property details that the stairs are steep ( Norfolk winder staircase) and may not be suitable for either people with mobility issues or very young children.
In order to receive any refund, it would have been necessary to cancel via Trip Advisor or Holiday Lettings at least one month before your stay.
Later cancellations are possible but normal terms and conditions apply.
The property is beautifully situated in the heart of Holt, with easy access to all amenities. But we would advise that booking a 3 storey house is probably not a good idea for people with mobility issues, and that a single storey dwelling would be more appropriate for you.
Please do feel free to speak to Trip Advisor/ HL for further information on their cancellation policy.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela162...
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is very good in the centre of the town and once all the day visitors have gone in the evening it is lovely and quiet. Our favourite room was the dining room as we could all sit around and eat meals and play games in the evening. The kitchen however is another matter. It is small but has been restricted even further by a table and two chairs which we can't imagine anyone ever using. Please get rid of them and replace with cupboards where you can store food ...there was nowhere to store anything. Also a toaster that can take 4 slices of bread is needed! The cottage was very clean in general with one exception. We had to wash all the glasses, plates and cutlery before use as they were all sticky to the touch.

The main issue however was when we first arrived on entering one of the bedrooms on the second floor we were hit by a horrible smell. This is obviously caused by the fact that there is no window in the ensuite so the dampness was causing the smell. Whilst we appreciate you cannot do anything about the window other things can be done. We purchased some air fresheners and bleach, left the door to the ensuite open and opened the window in the main room and by the end of the day the smell had all but gone .....but not something you really want to be sorting out on the first day of your holiday. We had a similar problem with the bathroom on the third floor but by ensuring the door was propped open when not in use this was also solved.

Holt itself is a pretty town with loads of lovely boutique shops and some good cafes. Its location is close to the coast and lots of other nice towns and villages to visit. We stayed at the cottage for a week but think it is better suited for a short break as by the end of a week the lack of a garden was an issue for us and could be for others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your review. We do hope you enjoyed your stay despite a few issues.
We are sorry you did not like the kitchen, as in general most people say that it is well equipped and has everything you need.
However, we accept your suggestion of putting in a 4 slice toaster and we will attend to this. Having a small table and chairs does allow people to sit down in the kitchen, which is nice for congenial cooking. We believe there is storage space available, but we do understand the kitchen space may be a bit small if you had all 8 guests in there at any one time. Thank-you for alerting us to the sticky glassware, we will take this up with the cleaning company, and we will also seek to rectify the issue of odour from the ensuite bathrooms - probably due to constant use over summer and lack of ventilation. We will seek to rectify this.
Our details do mention that whilst there is not a garden as such, the guests are welcome to use the beautiful garden of the Folly Tea Room next door, where you can request use of a table during opening opening hours, and after hours you have full exclusive use of the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing