We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and snack”
Review of Byfords

Byfords
Reserve with OpenTable
Byfords is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 59 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all this establishment does nor have a toasted tea cake so I went for earl grey tea and a fruit scone, My husband asked for English tea plus a prawn sandwich without chips. When my scone arrived it was dense and not very nice - you needed to clean your teeth afterwards. With regard to the prawn sandwich the bread and prawns were dry and not enjoyable. When I went to pay I was informed that the sandwich was £9,75 (which included chips) when I queried this and explained that my husband did not have chips I was informed that the chips were complementary so I would advise everyone that visits this place to order a basic meal and ask for complementary chips I would be interested to hear what was said. Bywords is overpriced and I will not be visiting again
S

1  Thank pandlwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, Manager at Byfords, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear pandlwarner,
Thank you for taking your time to leave your review in writing. We are very disappointed to hear about your visit to Byfords. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your scone or the prawn sandwich. We want all our customers to leave happy, and would have been very happy to replace the dishes if you had brought the issue to our attention. All our sandwiches are made fresh to order, using the best quality ingredients, which is reflected in the price and are served as a meal and include either a small bowl of fries or salad to make the meal more substantial- the comment from our staff member regarding them being complimentary was a mistake.
We are sorry to hear about the scone and our Head chef is investigating why this was the case as our scones are not normally like this.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Him this the team train line and was unsure what we wanted for lunch so followed the fantastic smells and people and so glad we did. Ended up having a beautiful bottle of cold Chilean Savi, cooked lunch and ice cream desserts. The ambience service and choice are wonderful and my sweet and sticky bbq chicken was divine. Even took pasties made on the premise to cook in the motor home later.

Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, Manager at Byfords, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Linda P,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It has really made our day to hear what a wonderful lunch you had. We hope you enjoyed your pasties when you got back. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It used to be that any visit to North Norfolk had to include a coffee and scone in Byfords, Holt. Oh dear, what a major disappointment we had today. Firstly they seem to have changed the recipe for their fruit scones. They now have a distinct cinnamon flavour. They were served hot which I really do not like. Worse of all they were ridiculously expensive. Two cups of coffee and one fruit scone - a few pence change from a tenner!

Sorry Byfords, there are lots of good coffee shops in Holt and you have now lost our custom.

The only reason for two stars are the toilets which are worthy of the Savoy!

Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, Manager at Byfords, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Derek P,
Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit. We changed our scone recipe a few years ago and our current one was the favourite with our local customers when we did a blind taste test. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy them. They do not normally taste of cinnamon so our Head Chef is checking the recipe to make sure this was a one off. If requested we will happily serve our scones cold. I hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Holt.
Kind Regards,
Jessica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We missed lunch so decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea. The thing with afternoon tea is that often you could do with a little more savoury and a little less sweet, so when we saw the option to have high tea we thought we'd go for it. There was the usual afternoon tea fare, but additionally there was a lovely warm sausage roll with gorgeous flaky pastry, a homemade scotch egg - with amazing sausage meat and an asparagus quiche finger. The scones were delightful, particularly the cheese scones but I'm afraid I couldn't manage the cakes, which looked delicious. A very leisurely pace, we were offered refills of anything we wanted and it was just a lovely place to sit and relax and enjoy our tea. Lovely staff, sufficient attentive but not intrusive and excellent food. We will definitely plan another visit next time we're in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, Manager at Byfords, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Colette B,
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your high tea with us. We feel afternoon tea is a real treat and try to make the experience as special as we can for all our customers. We are delighted to hear that our effort is appreciated. We understand that high tea is a large dish and are always happy to box up any cakes for you to enjoy later. We hope we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Jessica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Holt is very much an upmarket town and Byfords fits the town very well,lovely ambiance in the place and food is great especially the pastries,one of the staff when asked, you cant sit here its the takeaway section you should go in the seating area,i asked why cant we use the stools at the window,oh yes you can sit there she replied,bit strange i thought,no you can't,yes you can but the person was not nasty about it. Coffee seemed rather weak to me,would i return yes but i am a frequent visitor to Holt and there are some lovely coffee and tea stops that i need to try.

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica K, Manager at Byfords, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Steve H,
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your pastries. We apologise about the miscommunication in regards to our seating in the takeaway. We are currently in the process of changing our coffee bean which should be in place early September. We hope you will return to try it when it is in place.
Kind Regards,
Jessica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byfords also viewed

 

Been to Byfords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing