We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly place.”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Inn
Ranked #3 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very friendly place.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Lovely and clean, good food, great sea views. We would go again! good size rooms and very comfy beds. they couldnt do enough for you! The windows rattled a little in the wind but it was December! and I believe they are having them replaced soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1crocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
209
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leiston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable long weekend at the Sunset inn, the room was spacious and clean, all colour co-ordinated with sea views. We were celebrating my brother & sister in laws Ruby wedding anniversary and was very surprised to find a tray with pink sparkly wine and a box of chocolates in the room, the staff were all very friendly and keen to make our stay enjoyable, the breakfast was second to none and very nicely presented. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are sea view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the Pine Room which we were informed was the best room in the house, mainly because of the balcony offering a view of the beautiful sunset (a rarity for the East coast, think about it!). The room and its en suite were spotlessly clean, the bedding and towels smelt nice and the fresh flowers were a nice touch. The rooms were tastefully decorated. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day.

The staff were helpful and we didn't find them to be "in your face" as somebody else's review suggested (if you read his other reviews he looks extremely hard to please anyway..). The fact no children were allowed was a good thing in my opinion because it meant it was quieter, which makes for a better nights sleep, as does the fact no alcohol is allowed to be consumed in the rooms. I wasn't bothered that you're not allowed to bring back take-aways to the rooms, they were so immaculately clean I don't blame the staff for wanting to keep them that way. There's plenty of places in Hunstanton to eat out in anyway.

One of the advantages of this guest house for me was the fact that parking was available. This was a big selling point for me, because it seems parking in Hunstanton can be an issue. The location of the guest house is ideal because it's a short walk to the beach and the amusements etc, but the road it's on is fairly quiet.

The only constructive criticism I could give would be to improve the TV signal reception, which was temperamental at best. I'm told this is a problem for the whole of the area, not just this guest house. This could possibly be overcome with the aid of satellite/cable TV. However I wouldn't let this deter anyone from staying here because there is free wifi available and DVD players are supplied, as is a range of dvds. Also, there was no need for the hot water to get quite so hot, seemed rather wasteful apart from being a touch dangerous (although there were warning signs).

Nevertheless, If I return to Hunstanton any time soon I would probably stay here again without looking anywhere else, it's that good. The staff work very hard to keep the place clean and are pleasant and helpful, they should be very proud of their guest house.

Room Tip: The Pine Room is, I'm told, the best room in the house - the only one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby in Ashfield Notts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed overnight at this lovely Inn , a friendly greeting from the host set the trend of our stay.
The room we were allocated was up in the attic which was pleasant but a bit of a climb when the Inn was not full and other rooms available ? Cooked Breakfast was superb served on hotplates and trays to your table with plenty of toast and tea to wash it down with !.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widgeon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger L, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
We appreciate ALL reviews as they provide us with great feedback from which we learn of our guests likes and suggestions which helps us to continuously try to improve our offering
.
In case of any confusion we would like to point out that we do not have any rooms in our attic (in fact it has not been developed as yet) and the room was not allocated by us but by the booking system on Booking.com which allocates rooms chosen by the 'booker' and their choice of location, price and size.

There is also a very clear photo(s) against the description of the room class and it also states that the booked room in this instance is located on the 2nd floor (where we have other rooms) and that we have no lift so therefore their are stairs involved. We only have guest rooms on the ground, 1st and 2nd floors and a lift is not viable nor do we have room. Apologies for this.

We also email all guests ourselves, at the time of booking, and inform them of the class of room they have booked and the location etc to again clarify what has been booked to add to the information that is clearly stated on our Booking.com site.

We hope this clarifies the situation in our guests comments and we are very pleased they choose our guest house B&B for their short stay and enjoyed the friendly greeting and superb breakfast.

Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

just had 3 night break in Hunstanton at the sunset inn very nice b@b room spotless breakfast very good owner and wife very helpful will go back next year when we might get better weather yours mick@carol derbys

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick1942606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I were made very welcome,the room was spotless with a wonderful sea view.
Communication from the owner was very good.
The owner was friendly and attentive.
The breakfast was fantastic,attention to detail was second to none.
A very good nights sleep despite the weather,the hotel is quiet and the room large and comfortable,we will certainly book again at the Sunset Inn,highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timby1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely clean room *******
Sea view was a real treat ********
Very friendly owner,good communication*********
Top class breakfast ***********
Highly recommended*********
Would stay again**********
Good quiet nights sleep
****************************

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#1 of 22 in Hunstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenberis
Glenberis
#2 of 22 in Hunstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Guest House
Claremont Guest House
#7 of 22 in Hunstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 24 Northgate, Hunstanton PE36 6AP, England (Formerly Sutton House Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn has 5 newly upgraded sea facing en-suite double rooms of 3 categories.....1 X Standard Double - 2nd floor(Lilac room-15sq mtrs) plus 3 x Superior Double - Ground floor, 1st floor and 2nd floor (French Green and Red - all approx. 23Sg mtrs) and 1 x Superior with Balcony (Pine room on 1st floor - approx. 38 Sq mtrs). Each room is beautifully furnished and decorated all with new en suite shower rooms, TV/Dvds, hair dryers, tea/coffee trays, handmade crafted upholstered (or leather) arm chairs from Wales, new King size beds in most rooms, free WiFi and much more. Our rooms are located on the ground,1st and 2nd floors and as we have no lift please make sure you are choosing the right room on the right floor! All our prices always include a superbly cooked and presented English breakfast or cereals. Served in the newly refurbished breakfast room which has now been extended on to our terrace to provide better views and more comfort. There is some on site parking and is on a 'first come first served' basis and cannot be booked in advance but there is ample free 24 hour parking nearby. Please note: Sunset Inn has at present no facilities for pets, children or 3rd adults and we have no wheelchair access. We also do not allow alcohol or take away food in our rooms but we are happy to provide room in our breakfast room between 7-9pm most days for eating (NO alcohol sori!) And we can provide plates etc as well as great cappuccinos and teas at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing