We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i will definately be returning”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #15 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
milton keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“i will definately be returning”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

we stayed in the garage room which was ideal for my 80 year old mother. the room was very clean and comfortable the bath was nice and deep and the shower was a double one everything you needed was thought of .the breakfast was one of the best ive had .the owners were very pleasant . the walk to the town was flat and near and it was easy to get to the sea,also the bus service was exellent.

Room Tip: the garage room has no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for leaving a review for our ground floor garage conversion room, it is great to have positive feed back for this room which we introduced recently especially for the elderly and partially disabled who do not want stairs to climb. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back whenever you visit Hunstanton again.
Regards, Linda and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    30
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a well run hotel near the centre of Hunstanton with some rooms having sea views. The owners are friendly and are keen to ensure that guests are comfortable and well looked after. Breakfast was excellent though ordering the day before was quirky! We stayed three nights and felt relaxed when we left - if we go back to Hunstanton we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Do aske for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tozilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and how lovely to hear that all our efforts are appreciated. We would certainly welcome you again if you visit Hunstanton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Room five was excellent with king size bed and television which you could view from any part of the room.The views from the room were stunning.The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Bathroom was clean.The food was also excellent and plentiful.

We would recommend to anyone and would use the b&b again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_vrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in our king size sea view room, it was lovely meeting you both and we would welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

After struggling to find a reasonably priced place to stay after a charity cycle from Leicester to Hunstanton, I was fortunate enough to stumble across The Gables bed n breakfast.
Linda the hostess was a delight, warm inviting and very helpful both before and throughout my stay. The room I stayed in was perfect, clean and spacious with a TV and hair dryer. There were fresh towels, a large clean comfy bed and free tea/coffee. Shower and bath were both very clean also.
Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 9:30 and was well cooked.
All round a great place to stay, not far from the sea front but out of the main areas where it is busier.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review Beth, it was a pleasure having you. Hope to see you again if you are in the area, good luck with the cycling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Made to feel very welcome on our two night stay at the Gables. The room was fantastic with a balcony where we sat in the warm sun in the morning reading the paper and drinking filter coffee, and sat drinking a glass of wine watching the sun set over the sea in the evening. Comfortable bed, nice en-suite. Good TV, fast free WIFI and tea/coffee/hot-chocolate making facilities.

Regarding breakfast - before arriving I had let Richard know that I am a coeliac. He and his wife went to the trouble of buying gluten free sausages and gluten free bread so that I could have a delicious cooked breakfast. The filter coffee was also excellent.

Happy to recommend to others.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_in_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sui2838, Joint owner at The Gables, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was very nice getting to you know you both! Linda doe's try to accommodate all dietary requirements as no one should have to miss out on one of her excellent full montys, it's nice to know that all our efforts are appreciated. If you are ever in the area again please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Well where do I begin... Im still in SHOCK from our experience of this supposed Excellent 2012 Tripadvisor BnB... When we arrived we were met by a man with shoulder length hair, who did not even introduce himself so i do not know his name, he approached us in such a rude manner.

We were travelling with our 2 year old toddler (they knew this before we arrived) he made a statment that we were not to let him " Biro over the duvets or Colour of any kind in the room"

He then asked her what time we wld like breakfast, he stated it was between 8.30-9.30am, i replied 9am to which he made a disagreable face and said make it 9.30 in case your Kid is noisy for the other customers! (are we not important cutomers? what was thepoint in asking us what time we wanted breakfast then!?)

Unfortunetly on arrival our son was having a tatrum and he did a fake laugh and rudely told our son to "Shut it you " i did not think that was done as a joke.

After going upstairs to our room we were again disapointed, the tv is so small and is hung on the wall opposite the beautiful seaview so that u couldnt even watch it in bed or on the sofa...

The bed stated as a King Size is not, its a Double. There was placed some lovely gift of chocolates and a nice bedspread, the rooms itself needs updating, the house is beautiful its a shame about the person who we met who i do not know is the owner.

We left after 5mins, upon leaving the guy had the CHEEK to say we still had to pay £160 for the room, i was stunned and lets just say we left in an unpleasent manner, there was no apology even when we saifd he was rude and he called Us Rude! Great manager skills! Advice to everyone - If you have children DO NOT stay here!!

However Hunstanton itself is a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Id choose to stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
I must say that we find this review an amazing reversal of a situation that actually occurred! We have a large number of families stay at The Gables who are always very complementary in the fact that their children are warmly welcomed, and the children always appreciate Richard (The Owners) sense of humour, so much so that we have a growing 'picture gallery' from all children who have enjoyed their stay with us.
Now as for the room comments, The Bed is indeed a king size, the TV is a 22" Flat screen that is mounted on a swivel bracket so that you are able to watch it sat on the Kind size bed or on the Sofa that is opposite the bed, as the couple where in the room are mere couple of minutes they were obviously not able to assess this properly.
On arrival at our quiet, peaceful guest house the guests in question brought with them a child of about 3/4 years old who was laid on the floor kicking and screaming, the couple seemed quite happy with his behaviour, we do not see how it is an unreasonable request to ask them to control the child. Before the couple went to their large sea view room they were asked politely to please not allow colouring in the room as we do have a problem with pen stains on our bedding, the children are very welcome to draw in the guest lounge.
On leaving the husband decided he did not want to stay and walked out abruptly saying that Richard had been rude, his wife however apologised for her husbands behaviour and stated that Richard (who has indeed shoulder length hair!) had not been rude and that the requests made regarding the child's behaviour were very acceptable.
The situation we encountered above is one of the reason's why many guest houses in Hunstanton do not take children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I was working at a nearby event and required accommodation quickly. The Gables was a really nice stay. Richard and Linda are very accommodating and welcoming. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The B&B is in a great location and there were no problems with parking. Free Wifi was a bonus, very homely place to stay and don't miss out on one of Richard's fabulous fry-ups!
Defintely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsofholsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#1 of 22 in Hunstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#8 of 22 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cori House B&B
Cori House B&B
#12 of 22 in Hunstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: 28 Austin Street, Hunstanton PE36 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is a Family run guest house and we welcome children over the age of 7. We are not able to accommodate pets, however we have our owns pets and also have a guest house cat called Oliver Boots who will welcome you on your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing