We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb value for money for the WHOLE family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Searles Leisure Resort
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb value for money for the WHOLE family”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back from a long weekend our first but not last visit. Took the tent and wow 4 adults and 2 kid for well under £100! The Grandchildren loved it, Everything clean and tidy. Food and drink not expensive. Entertainment also very good. Had kind of expected it to be a bit rough, but no it was not!!!! We will be going again for sure. Well done Searles

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles in the future.

Kind regards,

Searles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    237
    91
    56
    44
See reviews for
472
90
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just been to Searles for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. The site was immaculate, clean and tidy. I've been to Haven sites in the past so can only compare with those, so that is how I have done my review. The accommodation was of a good standard - at Haven you can only usually go in a very basic type of accommodation with dogs, which usually means no central heating and no double glazing and trust me, if it's cold, without these 2 things you freeze in a caravan!! They do the usual entertainment for kids, but I especially liked the fact that come 9pm I didn't have to listen to anymore kids stuff and it was then time for the adults to be entertained (unlike Haven where I could still be listening to kids songs/dances at 10pm). I think this is very fair, the kids have been entertained all day, had their early evening entertainment and now its time for us grown ups to have some fun!! The shows put on were first class, very professional, couldn't fault them. All in all, we had a really lovely time and will certainly be returning. I was a bit concerned at going to Hunstanton at first because I'd heard it was 'stuck in the past' but to be fair it fine, if you're looking for trendy wine bars and nightclub then yes, stay away, but if you're looking for a traditional seaside resort then give it a go. Go to Snettisham Farm & Park, only about 15 mins away and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles in the future.

Kind regards,

Searles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

4 generations, 11 people in total hired 2 elite country cabins for a 5 day break. The accommodation was pretty basic but clean and appeared to be reasonably new. Downside was that the beds were too firm and no mattress covers were provided. Also kitchen utensils a little sparse. Upside was the excellent heating system, en suite , American fridge- freezer and two TVs.
Very good leisure facilities, great outdoor well heated pool, tennis, bowls and golf etc. The part of the site where the golf and bowls were situated seemed much more up market than the leisure complex.
If you are looking for a mid market few days away in a large caravan with things to do and holiday camp entertainment then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles in the future.

Kind regards,

Searles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We camped at Searles last weekend.
Having never stayed at a site with facilities such as this (more rural generally) we were keen to see what was on offer.
The pools were great...even when the weather turned chilly. The option of buying breakfast helpful (we travelled light) and was OK.... lacked fruit (one bowl of what looked like tinned grapefruit) and please offer the nice coffee machine (rather than a bowl of coffee granules and another with tea bags with a hot water urn).
The amenities (small arcade, Entertainment, showing the World cup etc) went down a storm with both my husband and 4, 7yr old girls.
We pitched in a pleasant spot next to a pond area....the ducks are loud (its the mating season) so we had early wake up calls. Would recommend the fence be looked at (it was loose)-if a child leant on it it would collapse into the pond.
Well hedged off and quite private.
Huge amount of showers and toilets...the most Ive ever seen and I struggle to see they could ever get really busy even in the High season. Always spotless.
The most noticeable thing about the site is the staff. They varied from good to very good and all were friendly without exception. A credit to the company.
Final bonus late check out on the Sunday...5.30pm so time for a Father days Carvery (no hiked prices) which was very good indeed!
Our daughters cried when we left...suffice to say we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable holiday with us.

I would like to thank you for your comments. We rely on such feedback to continuously improve our service to the families that holiday with us. I will pass them onto our Department Managers.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all back to Searles in the future.

Kindest regards,

Searles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILTON KEYNES
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My hubby and I have just returned from a two day stay with friends at this lovely resort. It is the first time we have ever stayed at a Leisure resort and we were both very impressed with everything. We stayed in a Platinum Lodge and loved the quality of the interiors. Hot tub was also an added bonus.

We ate at Smokey Joes on the Saturday evening and food was good and there was a lot of variety.

The main thing I wanted to comment about was the fact that the evening entertainment was absolutely top notch. Mark and his team were so good especially with the Saturday night Magic of the Musicals. The team are pure professionals and they are a credit to the company. We usually holiday in the Caribbean as our family is all grown up now, but we have never seen any entertainments team come even close to Marks team. I also loved the way everyone interacted with the children who all seemed to have a wonderful time.

The family atmosphere seems to be the mainstay of this resort and I can understand why families return year after year. Of course we did not use a lot of the facilities due to the length of our stay but I can say that we would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely place to everyone and hope to return in the future.

Well done Searles

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLBUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review,

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searle's in the future.

Kindest regards,

Searles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here in our motorhome. Great facilities, including swimming pools, entertainment, takeaways, restaurants, close to beach, within walking distance of town, little train will take the strain. Coast hopper bus stops by site. Will come again. Close to attractions like Sandringham, Holkham Hall, Kings Lynn. Nice relaxing weekend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoverMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review,

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you also enjoyed the local area.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searle's in the future.

Kindest regards,

Searles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have had two further visit to Searles this year, 4 days at Easter and a week at Whitsun. Both times stayed in an Elite Country Cabin 6. Despite a few minor issues we enjoyed both visits very much. Searles suits my children’s ages and wants very well.

Accommodation (different units) both times was OK. I would say though that they are not immaculately clean but not bad enough to get the cleaning gear out. They are starting to get a little shabby, little things like the white plastic screw covers missing. They must only cost a penny and take 5 seconds to fit but would just make the accommodation look more cared for.

We ate in Smokey Joes most nights and whilst it is not exactly a gastronomic delight it is convenient and the food is edible. Service is very friendly but very variable. Lots of activity and running around but all seems a bit disorganised. Sometimes a drink order arrives in a couple of minutes, sometimes ten minutes. Similar story with the food and it did not appear to be significantly busier when service was slow. It’s not really a complaint as all the staff are lovely but there doesn’t really seem to be a system in place. Another slight moan is that the difference between a Children’s Fish Finger meal and a Junior one seems to be one fish finger and £2. Still our plates were always empty.

We actually thought the entertainment was very good despite the fact that only Mark, Rachel and Barry are still there from the last couple of years. Yes there is the odd bum note in some of the singing shows but for a seaside holiday camp I think they do better than most. Once Hartbeeps starts, and I’ll say again how good I think this is for the under 5s, it doesn’t really stop and there is almost no “empty” time other than waiting for the kids to have their character photos done. During the Whitsun week they had three external acts. Foxxuk were the best band I have ever seen on a holiday anywhere in the world, great range of songs from different eras and styles, the showroom did not seem to empty one bit during their two sets. The magician was a proper magician and very entertaining, would like to have seen a bit more than forty five minutes to be honest. There was another male singer who whilst not as good as foxxuk was quite acceptable. Bar staff as always pretty efficient, never had to wait for more than a couple of minutes. They once again did the “no unaccompanied children on the dance floor after 9:30”. This is after having kids charging around, racing back to tables etc during an earlier game. Maybe they think kids turn deadly after dark. Still no one seemed to take much notice and it never seemed to be enforced.

Indoor swimming pool still needs a bit of a refurb and why oh why is the capacity limited to 40. Several times they announced they were at capacity but the pool was not exactly crowded. If it’s to do with number of people per lifeguard then get some more lifeguards! 40 people is probably less than 10 family groups which in a park of this size is crazy. Main outdoor pool has been refurbed and is now a consistent depth and relined. The slide has been changed so it doesn’t end in the pool. This means they only need one lifeguard and can open it more often.

Biggest moan for me is that they really need to maintain the machines in the arcade to a decent standard. Many were blocked and seemed to be so for the whole week. Others were not giving coins and or “tat” prizes out when falling off. Staff seem to have no access to the machines. Searles, sort it out.

Finally and not really connected with Searles, one day we did a treasure hunt in New Hunstanton. Downloaded a “virtual” Treasure Trail from an internet site and spent a lovely couple of hours walking round, finding clues on plaques, notice boards, monuments etc. Finally we eliminated all bar one of the possible locations of the “treasure”. We got to see parts of Hunny we have never ventured to, in particular a lovely little sensory park just set back from the sea front road. The company have hundreds of trails all across the country. Won’t give any links in case it is against T&Cs but a well known search engine would find it I’m sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMAEEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review,

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you also enjoyed the local area. I will pass your comments onto each department manager as we are always working hard to ensure guests have a fantastic holiday.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searle's in the future.

Kindest regards,

Searles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.6 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
5.9 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#8 of 22 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searles Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searles Leisure Resort

Property: Searles Leisure Resort
Address: South Beach Road, Hunstanton PE36 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Searles Leisure Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* holiday resort offering you the perfect seaside location for a memorable family holiday. We have accommodation ranging from touring and camping pitches to holiday homes and luxury lodges, 10 food and drink outlets, endless fun activities and top class entertainment, providing something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Searles Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Searles Leisure Hotel Hunstanton
Searles Leisure Resort Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing