We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Searles Leisure Resort
Reviewed 1 September 2014

we visited august 2014 bank holiday weekend staying in our tourer for the week, overall lovely stay, the staff generally were polite and friendly and it was a hassle free check in the site is lovely and flat ideal for kids with bikes,entertainment very good, pool area brilliant , i thought that the pitch we payed for was ok if a little expensive when you consider the cost of other parts of the holiday but i suppose thats school holidays for you , the site takeaways closed fustratingly early 9pm , i think the toilet block could do with some investment i have stayed at cheaper sites with far superior shower blocks and toilet facilities , would i stay again ? yes would i recomend the site? yes, but i would enjoy it so much more if they take on a few of my points, the surrounding area is great the fair along the promenade was great value, we had trips to cromer and sherringham as well as sandringham so is a great base to tour north norfolk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeetable21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do take all comments and feedback very seriously.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and had time to take in our local surroundings. We are very lucky to be located in such a pretty part of Norfolk. I have passed your comments regarding the shower and toilet blocks onto the directors as it is from such feedback that improvements are made.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles soon.

Kindest regards,

Searles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Searles Leisure Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for a week in a pet friendly villa. We chose this site as we expected more than a caravan park to be honest. We were located on the other side of a chicken coop where they started at 0530 every morning. Obviously expected a family and pets to be noisy so located us there. Definitely not worth the amount we paid. Site looked well kept though but need to sort the chicken coop out asap

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dolpin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Some of our pet friendly units do back onto a neighbouring property that do keep hens. Unfortunately this is something that we can't really control. We are looking at upgrading some of our units this year which may result in other units being located in different areas of the park. When next booking with us please ask the reservations team about the accommodation location before confirming your booking.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles soon.

Yours sincerely,

Searles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Searles in one of their cabins in the prestige area of the park. Superficially the accommodation was clean however on further inspection there were a number of dirty mugs and cooking utensils. However our biggest gripe we had was the dust around the skirting boards. Now we are not tidy freaks by any means, but our son has an allergy to dust (amongst other things) and was reacting and sneezing to something so we pulled the bed out and found thick dust on the floor and skirting. We cleaned up with some sanitising cloths which helped, however the entertainment areas seemed to set him off, that could have been the abundance of peanuts in the vicinity (another of his allergies).

The evening entertainment is OK and the kids really enjoyed it. The one time we watched the singer she seemed pretty good! There are a number of areas to sit in the evening and given it was peak time when we visited we generally found a table to accommodate 5 of us and a pram so that was impressive!

The food in Smoky Joe's is really good and we particularly enjoyed the carvery was very very good!! We were a little disappointed they the lunch time menu is pretty restricted and food is served in polystyrene boxes!

The beach is very close to the park and has wide sandy swathes of empty sand to play on!! We spent a lovely evening walking asking the beach and playing on the fun fair!

The children's play area on site is small but serviceable. The kids didn't play on it for long to be honest, beware though the same around it is builders sand which stains clothes!!

The pools are excellent and even the outdoor pool is warm!! Doesn't stop the wind being cold though! The indoor pool is small but the numbers are restricted so it never gets packed.....the water is cloudy though....not sure why!

Overall we had a nice time, but there are a few areas of the site which could do with some improvement and a lick of paint....put the R back on the Hai and Beauty Salon for a start!

I am surprised this is a 5 star resort, but on reflection we would be happy to return as the kids really enjoyed themselves!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank thebaron1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We must apologise if the accommodation was not found in a satisfactory condition. If your sons allergies had been brought to our attention we would have ensured the unit had a deep clean before your arrival. Our Housekeeping Department would have been more than happy to assist you.

We are pleased you enjoyed the entertainment, local beach and our Smokey Jo's Restaurant. I had forwarded your thoughts regarding the lunchtime menu to the manager and would like to thank you for your feedback on this.

We do very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles soon.

Kind regards,

Searles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this holiday camp the bank holiday week in August 2014 with my 8yr old son and his grandparents (my parents). We stayed in a Gold caravan (new to the site this year) and we were delighted.

The caravan was outstanding, central heated, hot shower, comfortable beds and lovely bedding, clean and very welcoming...much better than I had remembered as a child lol.

Lots of stuff for my 8yr old to do including swimming (indoor and outdoor), golf, pool, table tennis, tennis, football, outdoor play area, crazy golf, bike hire, indoor play centre and the beach and full amusements just a stones throw away.

My only one complaint I had was that the quality of hygiene in the indoor pool had a lot to be desired. Dirty floors, horrendous urine smell in the changing area, very murky pool water, grit in the whirlpool, hair in the main pool, and sadly my son wasn't well for the next 24hrs with a high temp and flu like symptoms, hence we never used the pool again :(

Staff are very welcoming, helpful and eager to please, we had a slight problem with the shower on our first night (it wouldn't get hot), we reported it Saturday morning and by lunch time the problem had been sorted.


The sight is spotlessly clean, not a bag flying around, not a chip wrapper flapping behind the caravans and dog owners are asked to walk their dogs in the dog zone only....a relief to me as dogs are not high on my priority.

The chip shop on sight is perfect after a beer at night and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from on sight at night. (If like us you don't want to cook)

Apart from the slight hiccup in the pool department I would not hesitate to recommend this holiday park....my son already wants to re book for next summer.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We rely on such feedback to enable us to improve guests holiday experiences here at Searles. We take all comments. good and bad very seriously. We have noted your comments regarding the indoor pool and have launched an investigation into your issues. Our pool water is tested every 2 hours to ensure that it meets regulations and if this was not the case the pool would have been temporarily closed until the water returned to clarity.

We are however pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles in the future.

Kindest regards,

Searles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday weekend.It was our fourth visit here and we stayed in a coastal cottage. These are very roomy and have two toilets. The two bedrooms are at either end of the caravan. It was spotlessly clean and my husband who has a bit of a thing about the cleanliness of caravans said it had to be the cleanest caravan we have ever stayed in. We asked to be near all the amenities and we were. The only downside is on the Saturday morning I was woken up at about 7.30ish by the bin men. I would have liked a bit of a lay in, but my husband and two sons managed to sleep through it all.
The food in Smoky Jo's was tasty, some of the prices do seem a bit dear but the lunchtime menu was very reasonable. The portions were a good size and the quality was better than some holiday parks.
The evening entertainment was great but you do need to get there by 6.30 if you want a table.
We thought the Queen/Michael Jackson inspired show was really good, especially the 'I want to break free' routine. That was really funny.
We saw a 50's/60's band on the Sunday night as my husband likes to see a proper band who actually play instruments and they were fairly good.
Hunstanton town centre is just a short walk or drive away. We got the Land Train one day and walked back.
We didn't do much in the way of sporting activities except table tennis and crazy golf, as we wanted a relaxing break and that was exactly what we got.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank LaurenGilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you got to experience some of our facilities on park.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Searles soon.

Kindest regards,

Searles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

The caravan was dirty and we had to buy some kitchen equipment as there weren't necessity items there.the fridge freezer was full of ice and needed a defrost and clean.the double bedroom wasnt big enough to it our small travel cot in so we had to move furniture about to try to sqeeuze it in!the toilets in the main area were dirty and some don't lock.this was brought to staffs attention by some guests and still nothing was done!some bar staff were rude!the park is week situated but the entertainment was unorganised and chaotic at times in the evening.there was a fab singer in la taverna on the Friday 22nd who should've been in the main entertainment area that night.we left a day early and when handing out key in the receptionist flippantly asked if there was a problem and walked off with the key before we could answer!clearly too busy to bother with customers!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

We take all guests comments and feedback very seriously and would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We must apologies if the accommodation was not up to our usual high standard. Our Reception is manned 24 hours a day and a 24 hour telephone number is in your Welcome Pack should you have any issues during your holiday with us. It does state in all our literature that the bedrooms are not big enough to erect travel cots and that these need to be put up in the living area of the accommodation. Our Reception Team would have been more than happy to assist you if the issues had been brought to their attention.

During our main season we have entertainment in all 3 areas catering for a variety of different audiences. We are pleased you enjoyed the cabaret act we supplied in La Piazza during your stay.

We do hope this elevates any concerns you have about booking with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Searles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We booked to camp and we had to pay for the full 4 nights up front first night we had gale force winds and downpours tents were blown away people sleeping in there cars was not good weather forecasted more wind and rain so we decided to leave we were refused refund most campsites we stay at you pay night by night what a rip off we had to leave £££££s out of pocket not happy we won't ever stay there again reading reviews it's a very windy campsite

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank JayJay13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searles_Leisure, Guest Relations Manager at Searles Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It is unfortunate that you came to stay with us whilst we were enduring bad weather. Reception is manned 24 hours a day if you should need any assistance. It does state in our Terms and Conditions that all holidays have to be paid 9 weeks prior to arrival and that we can not be held responsible if guests choose to leave the site due to the weather conditions as these are out of our control.

Kind regards,

Searles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
885 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
908 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
564 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Searles Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searles Leisure Resort

Address: South Beach Road, Hunstanton PE36 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Hunstanton
Price Range: £43 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Searles Leisure Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* holiday resort offering you the perfect seaside location for a memorable family holiday. We have accommodation ranging from touring and camping pitches to holiday homes and luxury lodges, 10 food and drink outlets, endless fun activities and top class entertainment, providing something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Searles Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Searles Leisure Hotel Hunstanton
Searles Leisure Resort Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing