We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely situation, shame about the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely situation, shame about the food.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for five nights and were very disappointed with the evening meals. We did not eat there the first night and then discovered that the next four nights we were charged £33 extra each on the Bed and Breakfast rate for half board!!! It is certainly not 4* food but 4* prices and the deserts were to be avoided, the ice cream was the better option. Having stayed in a 4* star Hotel in Cornwall the week before where the menu was less expensive for a four course dinner with an amuse bouche too, it made this evening meal far too expensive. The bedroom was very nice and clean and the staff friendly and the situation is lovely. There are some very nice walks from the doorstep too. The Pub next door does meals and has some good beers!!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room. Our suite was very quiet and had a corner sea view. The bathroom was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    269
    79
    20
    7
See reviews for
131
482
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Do not get Hunstanton mixed up with Old Hunstanton. The place is almost on the beach, beautiful sunsets, loads of room and huge parking area. The place is comfortable and not expensive. The décor is way old fashioned and the place is full of carpets not matching furnishings or walls but never mind all that, the beds are really comfortable and the staff are quite splendid, warm and friendly - maybe reception might improve their regimental approach. All in all it was a good location for exploring the north Norfolk coast with lots to do and see, as a consequence it is very busy and must book.

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor (it's got a lift) and ask for a sea view, avoid the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just got back from the Le strange Arms we had a very nice time here we stayed in room 106 and this was a very large room with great sea views.
The staff were very nice always smiling and the food was very good and at a good price,
We had breakfast sent to our room we ordered it for 8 oc and it was there at 8 and the breakfast was still hot and fresh very good service.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 106 great room queen size bed great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I booked a night here when up in Norfolk on business and it was a very pleasant experience.

I was given room 215 in the newer extension. The room was very well furnished and spacious. It had all been decorated in a sympathetic style with the older part of the building. It was very clean and there was a large on-suite with bath / shower and the double bed was enormous.

The staff were all very friendly and being on business, the free Wi-Fi was a benefit. There was also plenty of on-site parking spaces

Outside there is a very pleasant terrace with sea views. The hotel faces west so the sunset on the terrace was beautiful, a nice place for a drink, gazing out to sea while enjoying the last rays of sunshine to end the day before going in to dinner.

I ate in the Brasserie Restaurant and enjoyed a well cooked meal at a very reasonable price. A starter and main (Cromer crab) plus a glass of wine for £26. You could if you preferred eat in the pub next door

So, found during a business trip and being in a lovely part of the country, I think I'll be coming back with my wife for a social visit, and would be more than happy to stay here for quite a few days. And with the Hunstanton links golf course just up the road, I may well bring my clubs !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A group of 15 of us were here for a family birthday. We had the restaurant to ourselves for the main birthday meal (not planned it just happened that way) and a big table in the middle of the room. My phone call last week to plan it hadn't got through to the staff on the day but they were obliging and sorted it out once they knew. The environment was just right - smart and 'special' but without being stuffy. Plenty of sitting areas for us to meet up and have coffee and drinks at other times and things for us to do - walks on the beach, the craft centre across the road, visits to Hunstanton and the Lavender Centre. A word of warning - mobile phones and the internet hardly work at all. Rather than spend lots of time fiddling and trying to get it we all gave up and stopped trying to use all our devices, instead concentrating on talking to each other and looking at the sea view - just like the old days!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Another great experience at the Le Strange. Always a pleasure to visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much for them. The rooms are of excellent quality. The food is good and restaurant is very traditional. If you are looking for a relaxing time then look no further than the Le Strange. If you have the opportunity request for a sea view room. The pub next door serves good ale.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for a reunion. Had a very comfortable , well equipped room. The double bed was large with a perfect mattress, would have liked to have taken it home! All staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The Ancient Mariner pub which is part of the complex has a much better selecton of beers,the hotel bar had only one bitter on tap.
The meal taken in the pub was excellent. My steak came exactly has ordered and my wife's lamb chops were perfect both reasonably priced.
The hotel's site has good sea views being right on the dune's borders.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. Some rooms overlook a road,albeit a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Address: Golf Course Road, Hunstanton PE36 6JJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hunstanton
Hunstanton Best Western
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing