We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return visit”
Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A return visit”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just had a return one night stay here and was dissapointed compared to our previous visits. See my February review. Our room was 'tired' and required upgrading. The bathroom, as is the case throughout this hotel I think, somewhat old fashioned but never the less clean, apart from that is, mold on the ceiling and a rather disgustingly dirty bottom half of the bathroom door - presumeably from splashing water from the wash bowl and from cleaning the floor! Mould had also taken a grip on one of the lamp shades in the bedroom. I guess worst of all though was the state of the curtains. Very faded, or dirty, not sure which - didn't like to get too close! They were also gripped by mould to the point of being rotten around the edges. I guess this is one of those rooms that makes one wary about touching anything. Having said this all the other important things were clean.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was fine, both dinner and breakfast. However, some staff training is required. Staff seem uncommitted to the task and although not unfriendly they do not convey a welcoming approach. Its just a job! This was reinforced by tea bag labels and string being left tied up and all to brew in the pot.

Just by chance, someone had left a door open which led into the passage adjacent to the restaurant where there was a bank of freezers (and presumably an entrance to the kitchen); it was pretty dirty in there with the back of the open door covered with a rotting curtain. I guess that which we do not normally see we do not worry about!

Would I still recommend this place - yes with reservations and cautions. The next room may be ok like our previous ones!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unclemort54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    274
    85
    42
    8
See reviews for
198
443
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

stopped off to see if a room was available for the night having previously stayed with a group of friends. we knew the hotel was dog friendly and had our dog with us on this occasion. we had an evening meal in the bar as dogs are not allowed in the restaurant with a good selection to choose from and food was very nice. We also had breakfast in the bar area, the table having been set up for us so that we could take the dog with us which again was very nice. The beach is a bit of a walk but great for us to walk off the food we had consumed and also great exercise for our dog. We had a great stay and it's so nice to be able to take the dog with us and all have an enjoyable stay. It is also really nice to see lots of others with their own dogs. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and this hotel is within walking distance from the beach, a few miles from the main town and a comfortable lounge/bar. The restaurant is a good size and the service was efficient - the food was excellent. Really well presented and reasonably priced.

We stayed in a furst floor room in Block B - not the best place. Quiet and spacious but the bathroom needs a makeover and the general decor of the room and corridor was not so inviting.

Very comfy beds!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but not all have been renovated - worth checking before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopards_cheetahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FARNHAM, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here with a small group of friends. Our room was comfortable in all respects - everything worked and was spotlessly clean. We had a bath with a shower over - the bathroom was a little bijou but more than adequate (although I really do not like shower curtains I've decided!) The highlights were meeting up with our friends on the terrace area just as you go in to the hotel (we were lucky with the weather), and eating at the hotel on both nights we stayed - we were not disappointed with the standard of the meals which were tasty and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and efficient. Not a bargain basement type of holiday but this would definitely be high on my list if I stayed in the area again - especially if they could squeeze an indoor pool in somewhere!

Room Tip: We were in B6 which was on the second floor and to the rear of the premises - away from the dining a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidFARNHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed overnight mid week in a family room. It was very clean and well presented with nice linen and bathrobes etc. staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable weekend stay at Caley Hall Hotel and the staff were incredibly friendly and super efficient. We had a very large room and the hotel provided two travel cots for our twins with bedding too. Our evening meal was excellent - whole grilled plaice and haddock and chips - and the staff were happy to heat up some food we brought for the kids. The hotel also has a gated outdoor play area complete with shed, ride-on cars and a trike which our children loved. Breakfast was fantastic - hot and cold buffet and plenty of it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and I'd certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Friendly staff keep every square inch of the place spotless and apply the same attention to detail to all facets. Outstanding crab sandwiches in the bar for lunch.
Rooms are small but perfectly equipped.
We would not hesitate to stay hehe again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iombish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Property: Caley Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hunstanton Road | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing