We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three nights”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had dinner on 2 evenings.Enjoyable stay.Restaurant staff were very good.The room was standard.We could not see the need for two large mirrors in the bathroom.A ledge over the wash basin would have been helpful to place toiletries etc instead of having to put them on the side of the bath.The water had to be run a long time before coming hot which meant a lot of water was wasted.

The wifi reception was weak.In the restaurant the chairs were not the right height for the tables,unless one got a cushion.

The above criticisms are minor and would not stop us staying at the hotel again.The food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review, the little are just as important as the little and we always appreciate feedback from a fresh pair of eyes.

We hope to see you again for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    269
    83
    42
    8
See reviews for
188
436
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed one night and received free upgrade to superior room. Very comfortable, great food, excellent service. Good location for hunstanton. Would recommend. We intend to return at a later date. Plenty of car parking space.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
What a fantastic review. Many thanks for making the effort to submit this,we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Caley Hall from 17th Aug to 20th Aug it was our first visit and we must say it was excellent.The staff were all very helpful and the room was spotless.We were very impressed with the food and the menu that was on offer in the evening.We look forward to staying again next year.

Room Tip: room B5 was very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnold c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks to you arnold c for a very pleasing review.

We can't wait to welcome you back again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way home from a week in Wells next the sea. Our choice was limited because of the dog. This hotel fitted the bill. It was clean and comfortable if a little soulless. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good but not outstanding. There was not much atmosphere but in this type of establishment you wouldn't really expect it.

Room Tip: They all seem to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critiquenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for submitting a review here.

I do feel the comments regarding us being "souless" and lacking atmosphere are a personal opinion and as such although disappointing we must respect completely and we are sorry the hotel appeared that way to you.

I feel there are hopefully enough reviews complimenting our atmosphere etc that prospective guests will not mark us down solely on this point.

We do pride ourselves on having a prime location to explore the North Norfolk and we understand the importance of having the option to bring dogs to enjoy it too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were taken to Caley Hall for Sunday lunch by some of our friends. To be honest, I wasn't expecting anything out of the ordinary for £20 ish for 3 courses. However, I have to say that it was excellent. The serving staff were all young, chatty, friendly and certainly knew their stuff. When I asked what the house Rose was I fully expected the young girl to say "I'll just check" - but no .............. she knew it was Piniot Grigio Blush (my favourite Rose wine!). The menu comprised 3/4 starters, 3/4 mains and 3/4 desserts - this was a good sign, we always find that somewhere with not too long a menu offers better quality food and we weren't disappointed. When ordering the server mentioned that they served their roast beef "pink" but we could have it well done if we wanted which was a nice touch. When it arrived the beef was so tender it just melted in your mouth, served with a lovely selection of beautifully cooked vegetables and a light/crispy yorkshire pud! The chocolate pot desserts were to die for - possibly literally, amazing artery cloggers! All in all this was a great lunch and we'd certainly go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candice-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
This review is extremely pleasing and are so grateful that you have opted to leave a comprehensive review of our Sunday lunch.

We changed our set-up from carvery to a served lunch earlier in the year and a couple of previous reviews did make for a disappointing read but were integral in helping us reach the standard the head chef was aiming for and he will be delighted with the lovely comments you have left here on tripadvisor.

It was a big transition for us as a restaurant and we are now confident in the product as well as the service and a review as kind as this certainly helps us to know we made the right decision.

Many thanks for taking the time to do this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just back from a great stay in Hunstanton. However, I am sad to say that we didn't feel happy about our stay at Caley Hall. We booked on short notice (8 days in advance in high season) so didn't have a great choice of accommodation. We booked Caley Hall as our first night stay paying more than the rest of our accommodation - £160. How disappointing. Having stayed at many hotels around the world, this is a very expensive hotel for what it is. The room was spacious but quite scruffy with marks on the walls and old furniture. There was a fridge next to the TV just sitting in the floor , not in a cabinet or anything. The most disappointing was the bathroom with an old fashioned mixer shower, run from the taps with no power and hardly got you wet.the bathroom had very basic, old, fittings and basic floor. No luxury at all which for £160 was expected. Lots of fluffy towels but no nice bathroom to go with! Sorry Caley Hall, I really feel that you need to do some major refurbishment to your accommodation. Your prices don't match your value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you RedT99 for taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

I cannot be 100% but it looks as though you stayed over the bank holiday weekend which would explain why our prices were at their highest rate and as always highly competitive with all the hotels along the coastline. However this not detract from the point that you did not enjoy your stay which is always disappointing as we like to try and please all of our guests beyond their expectations.

I will respond to some of the points made in an attempt to explain certain issues.

1) Our fridges aren't kept in a cabinet as you mentioned and do stand free in the room, this is mainly due to a) they require a certain amount of ventilation around them in order to maintain them properly and b) we did actually trial some cabinets a few years back and found people either struggled to open them or didn't realise they were there at all. We will however reassess this and think about a more long term solution.
2) The shower is not actually powered by the taps but solely from the mixer dial in the centre of the shower, this would explain the lack of power and i imagine temperature too, we would have happily resolved this at the time for you had you mentioned it then and if you did indeed raise this issue then we absolutely apologise for this.
We are not in denial and understand that some of our rooms will need some redecorating once the summer season is passed, we already have plans in motion to renovate particular bathrooms very soon but unfortunately it can only be done when time allows until then our housekeeping team work tirelessly to keep everything fresh and clean everyday and judging by other reviews they are doing a grand job.

We genuinely do invite and appreciate all feedback and take all comments very seriously in an attempt to constantly improve. We thank you for raising these issues and will look into each one to make sure we continue to provide quality accommodation and most importantly service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is very pleasantly set on the North Norfolk Coast. It has a lovely courtyard and general ambience. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The food, both breakfast and dinner were very good, but the packed lunch was a bit pricey for the amount provided. Our room was spotlessly clean, well decorated, peacefully quiet ,of a decent size and the bed was really comfortable. We will almost certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarleneCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
It is a great pleasure to see that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one.

We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here and hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
745 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,246 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Property: Caley Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hunstanton Road | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing