We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

A very well placed hotel. Our room a junior suite (9B) was large, quiet and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The menu was extensive, the food was well presented and the sweets are to die for. Staff were pleasant. Would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you Helen P for a glowing review.

we are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    269
    83
    42
    8
See reviews for
190
438
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and went to Sandringham Game and Country Fair where we won a beautiful oil painting in a raffle. Had very enjoyable evening meal on our first night, delicious food, but thought £7 for a dessert, and £8 for cheeseboard consisting of 3 small very thin slices of different cheese - a bit steep!

Buffet style breakfast was brilliant, very thoughtful staff even put cushion on chair, as me being a bit small found the table a bit high !!

Room ok, apart from noisy fan in bathroom which came on when you switched light on - so led to us going to the loo
in the dark - a bit tricky ! Room very clean, bed very comfortable - both slept like logs ! and ample tea, coffee etc.

Only problem was a grumpy old woman in room next to us, but of course nothing Caley Hall could do about that !!

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade we just had a standard room, which was ok, but a bit more space would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review here on tripadvisor.

Unfortunately due to rules and regulations we are unable to lock away grumpy old woman in the back until they promise to cheer up however we hope this didn't impact too heavily on your stay.

many thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were very disappointed by the standard of the so called LUXURY Suite we booked for our 3 night break. You could not see out of the very dirty windows and the whole of the paintwork was in a very poor state. The corridor and stairs leading up to the room was a disgrace for a high class hotel and was filthy. The system in the bathroom was dated and made a loud grating noise. It was a very expensive 3 day break even though we had a £20 per day discount after we complained. We will NOT be recommending this hotel to anyone and will certainly not be staying there again. However we did enjoy our evening meals there and the area around Hunstanton so would return to stay at a different hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always deeply upsetting when we receive such negative feedback and we have to establish exactly why this has transpired.

I have taken some time to look at the issues that you have raised and taken the appropriate actions to remedy some of them.

I would point out that although this is not by any means ideal, the problems raised are mainly cosmetic and easily fixed which as previously mentioned is already being done.

It is disappointing that this experience has led to you deciding against using us in the future however we are sure that should we ever have the chance we would be able to right these wrongs a give you a completely different opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just got home after staying at Caley Hall Hotel. We enjoyed our stay. The cooked breakfast was delicious, but I didn't want it every day so another option would have been nice, eg. Smoked haddock. The room was very clean. The view was a bit disappointing. A dirt bank and a hedge. We had a problem with the shower, it was either too hot or too cold. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The meal in the restaurant was excellent apart from my husbands haddock and chips turning up without the chips... They arrived 5 minutes later. The hotel is well situated to explore the north norfolk coast, and the bus service is excellent along the coast. It is only an 8 minute walk from a wonderful stretch of coastline.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that overall your stay appears to have been an enjoyable one. There are a couple of incidents mentioned which are both disappointing and avoidable and I apologise for this.

We hope that we will be lucky enough to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is our third stay at the hotel in the last five years. We always have the same room which is in the annexe. The room itself is large,very clean and comfortable, with everything you would need. The hotel provides every room with a fridge which we find very useful. The food and presentation is superb, the service excellent. We shall definitely be going back for a fourth visit. There are quite a few room for anyone who uses a wheelchair.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you Hilary G for this review.

We look forward to your 4th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for two nights with our family at the Caley Hall Hotel, and were nine in all. The staff made us welcome and the food was wonderful. This was our second visit, and again the sun shone for us! We recommend the hotel and hope to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: We were located in a superior twin, the first room located at the entrance to the hotel, which, as m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziclem42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after your party and we can't wait to welcome you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

On arrival we were greeted well and shown to our room. The hallway and landing approach to the well appointed room needs completed redecoration. There seems to be some attempt to improve the facilities ( window repairs had been recently done for example as demonstrated by the fresh putty mark all over the windows).
The room was clean and the bed and bedding immaculate. The towels and bath robes too were super.
Our dining experience was not what we had hoped for. The salmon fish cakes were tasteless and the sauce had split and was not appealing or appetising to look at. The haddock portion was small and overall the food was over priced for what it was,(£7 for a small piece of fruit crumble for example). The restaurant looked somewhat tired and the most striking feature was the very low chairs which required cushions to bring you up to a comfortable dining height.
The restaurant staff were polite and service was quick.
Overall the experience we had was well below that which we have had in hotels in other places in North Norfolk for the same price and in some cases much less.
There is room for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

I believe that we have made contact with yourself directly about the comments made here and hopefully went some way to resolving these issues.

If I am incorrect please do feel free to email the hotel again directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Property: Caley Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hunstanton Road | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing