We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average is average is average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“average is average is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's very average... we asked for flowers and they got it wrong - really poor (yes ordering flowers in the room is unusual but it was a special occasion and they offered it as a service - don't bother!). The layout of the hotel is unusual - the restaurant is positioned in the most boring and uninteresting location. No personality at all. A simple request to eat Sunday lunch in the bar (which has slightly more ambiance), was refused . The whole place is... well very average... 5/10. There is a place up the road / 200 yards called 'The Lodge'... go there instead. We just spent 550 for 3 nights... yep FIVE HUNDRED AND FIFTY POUNDS. Yep we are idiots!! It was Easter, and we did have a Junior Suite (please do not choose H6 as it is extremely noisy and has sky lights , yes that means light arrives early and also there is a room above and every step is heard. ... so no sleeping in). Also on a personal comment we were not not well /vomitted soon after breakfast yesterday we could not put it down to the 'scrambled eggs' but try them at your peril, If you do stay here perhaps do not eat there... there is a pub about a 5 minute walk called the Ancient Mariner - also the Lodge's food was excellent. So be careful as it is 'average' and your money may be best kept in your pocket or spent elsewhere. We understand why there were rooms available but everywhere else was full. 5/10 Average, average, average...

Room Tip: do not select H6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you NikkiEssexEngland for you review, I will break down the review and reply in turn.

Firstly the issue with the flowers, I can only apologise for this, we normally receive exceptional service from our florist however we did agree that the flowers you received were not up to the standard expected, we did acknowledge this and removed the charge from your bill as way of an apology, I reiterate however this is the first complaint we have ever received about such an instance and have been assured that it will not occur again.

"The restaurant is positioned in the most boring and uninteresting location" - We are open to ideas where we should move it to but find that in a central position of the hotel is fairly convenient for most guests.

H6 does indeed have 2 skylights situated in the ceiling, on the table directly below there is a remote control for the blinds which cover them to stop the early morning sun coming through, it is a shame this wasn't mentioned during the 3 night stay as someone would have happily come over and shown you how to operate the 2 buttons. (Open & Close).

Our restaurant food receives a lot of praise both for the breakfasts and dinners, we did have over 80 guests per night who all had breakfast and no one else has reported any illness so I think we can rule out the scrambled eggs or any other food served.

We genuinely are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time here with us at Caley Hall, we strive to make every single guests visit special, obviously we have failed you on this occasion and apologise profusely for this.

For other Tripadvisor members reading through our reviews I feel i should point out our 3 previous reviews which had us at Excellent, Excellent & Very good which would all imply we are indeed better than "Average".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    263
    82
    41
    8
See reviews for
180
425
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at Caley Hall for one night and it was just great. Room was spacious and enough room for two people and a dog. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff, and the food was fantastic. Ten out of ten. Should be a four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawilliams001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you sawilliams001 - we really appreciate your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have to confess, I booked a table in the restaurant at the Caley Hall after trying to book several other places in the area, but I'm so glad the other places were full! I had a family lunch here on Mother's Day (family of 5 - 2 grandmas, husband, my 10 year old daughter and myself) and it was just so lovely. Whilst the menu wasn't that extensive (3 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts), it in no way indicates any areas of lacking. The food was superb and there was ample amounts, and the the children's menu catered for all tastes as well. Even the coffee was accompanied by small sweet treats which were a lovely surprise. The bar area has lots of comfy chairs and is a lovely place to sit and relax after a meal. We didn't stay in the accommodation but if the food and atmosphere is anything to go by, then an overnight stay is guaranteed to give complete satisfaction. Lovely place and really attentive staff - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are extremely grateful for such a lovely review.

When we originally changed our Sunday lunch service from a carvery to plated it was a big decision and as a couple of reviews from early last year stated not entirely smooth transition.

However we feel that we are now offering a fantastic Sunday lunch experience and that appears to be echoed here.

We hope that next time we will of course be first choice.

Many thanks

Caley Hall hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have stayed here many times and previously always enjoyed the experience. The rooms remain comfortable and the food is excellent, but the service in the restaurant was poor. Despite a reasonable number of staff, there was a long delay in clearing plates and taking orders. The staff seemed more interested in preparing for breakfast than serving their dinner customers, even though we were not eating particularly late. Some management attention would quickly return them to their best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you GeofC for your review.

I apologise for what appears to be a lack of attention during your dining experience here at Caley Hall.

I have sat down with the team and emphasised the importance of customer service at all times, we are extremely proud of our staff and bring all comments made to their attention, positive & negative, I have been assured that this will be an one-off occurrence and I'm convinced that next time you return things will be back to exactly how they have been for your previous visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We are disabled and were extremely pleased with the very comfortable ground floor accommodation at Caley Hall Hotel. We had a large room with comfortable beds, tv and armchairs. Had it been warm enough, we had a little courtyard with table and chairs - all easily accessible on our mobility scooter. The staff were extremely helpful, and the food, served in a very pleasant dining room, most enjoyable. We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed it Marion and we will work even harder - to try to ensure we get a five start report from you next time.

With kind regards

Caley Hall Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for a weekend with a group on a D,B & B basis and overall thought it was excellent value for money. The staff and the ambience they created were excellent.
On arrival there was ample car parking, a cordial and helful reception and we were shown to an attractive room.
For the inclusive price there was no disappointment. Whilst the meals were not cordon blue they were nicely presented by courteous and attentive staff.
The Caley Hall Hotel made for an excellent location on the north Norfolk coast.
We would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you David A.

We are very pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and hope that the rest of the group were as satisfied and return to us in the new season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We thought we would try a long weekend break taking our dog with us for the first time in a hotel, couldnt have chosen a better hotel, we had standard room which was lovely and clean and I think had just been redecorated separate area in the bar for eating with a dog if you didnt wish to leave him in the room, meals were excellent and staff very friendly, looking forward to going again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words Sandra B.

We are extremely fortunate to be in such a lovely part of the country which is perfect for dog walking as well as other activities such as bird-watching, rambling as well as family days out.

We hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Property: Caley Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hunstanton Road | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing