We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality for a Coast & Country Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor Quality for a Coast & Country Hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is the first experience of a Coast & Country Hotel and it will be the last. We booked this 4 night DBB online thinking it was a good buy, however after paying extra for a sea view room and private Resident parking our total came to £527. The meals were fair and the menu changed daily but the main course was a very minimal portion, we had various problems with dirty glasses, but crockery e.g. teapots were covered in old stains cutlery was also dirty on quite a few occasions. I did speak to the General Manager who was shown the teapot and apologised and said that she would speak to the restaurant supervisor and acknowledged there was a problem with glasses but that was it. I think we will give Coast & Country hotel group a miss in future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I would like to thank you for speaking with me whilst at the Hotel as I was able to look into the problems that you encountered straight away & rectify them. This is certainly not our normal standard of cleanliness & once again I apologize for the standards during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    138
    72
    51
    53
See reviews for
53
260
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fulwood, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It was the coldest March in memory and we left Sheffield in the snow. No snow in Hunstanton, but was it cold or what? However, there was a warm welcome from the hotel staff, who did their level best in the this rather faded old hotel, with all its quirks. Some serious refurbishment is needed. Pretty basic menu but that was part of the 'all-inclusive price', not the a-la- carte', so can't really comment on the cuisine. However, it was terrific value and the surrounding area is great for coastal walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I would completely agree that March was very cold! I am pleased to read that you received such a warm welcome. With regards to your comments about refurbishment, I am pleased to tell you that the bar was refurbished earlier this year & Reception is planned for the end of the year. I hope that you return to see the changes. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Unfortunately not impressed by this Hotel.
Evening meal, on both of our nights, when giving our preferred choice, my wife and I were told that choice was now unavailable.
Showering, when taking a shower, if someone flushed a toilet or turned on a tap, water flow would stop, you then have to wait a good few seconds before water started to flow once more.
Being on the second floor is the most probable cause for loss of water pressure, even when using hot water straight from the tap gave only moderate to low flow.
The bed was hard, it was two cheap single beds pushed together.
The Hotel is well situated, and has a pleasant green in front of the Hotel.
At around 4-30pm, the smell of fish and chips is evident, from people who have had a takeaway from the nearby chippy.
Unfortunately I cannot see us returning to this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJS192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am sorry that you were not impressed with the Hotel. I have passed your comments onto all the relevant departments. We are always looking to improve the service & accommodation that we offer & value all comments made. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had an evening meal which was mediocre. Order was not right (daughter's meal incorrect) then ice cream forgotten. When ordering nearly overcharged (the bar man was unable to work the menu deals on the till). Also the lasagne was too salty and overall appearance of a dishes quite poor.

Lovely spot overlooking the sea but very let down by food and service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poppet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us. I am so sorry that your experience with us was let down by the food & service. I have passed your comments onto the Kitchen. I can only apologise for the problem with the tills that you encountered. These tills are brand new & we had a couple of teething problems that are all resolved now. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Expected this to be quiet, overlooking sea. Yes It does overlook sea, our room also overlooked green, car park, pub, and amusement arcade. Nice room, good price, good breakfast, good reasonably priced bar food, comfy beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty11133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear that you felt that we offer value for money which is very important to us. Also it’s nice to see that you enjoyed our bar food & found it reasonably priced. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

the hotel location is great rooms are clean staff are amiable restraunt service was poor and uderstaffed, food at breakfast was passable but the evening meals we found to be very poor especially the so called english sunday roast it was the worst we have ever encountered spoilt the wwekend for us did not want to make a fuss but will not book with coastal hotels again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hello Rob & June. Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience in the Restaurant. I was however pleased to hear that you felt the rooms were clean & that we have a great location. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed a week in an upgraded room No. 111 that contained a rather high and drab 'four poster bed' - anyone with disabilities or short legs would struggle to get in and out over the framework. We struggled with the shower door that had been previously repaired with tape.
The food was very mediocre - we chose to dine at 7.45 frequently had to wait for a table to be cleaned and relaid and on several occasions our first choice was not available and on one occasion the dessert of choice was finished and we had a warmed up slice of the pie served two evenings previous!
There appears to be a long walk to the kitchen for the staff carrying a couple of plates for glasses, have they not heard of trays! The whole place needs a shake up and staff need to be more efficient.
As for a quiet hotel - Saturday evenings are not so - our room was over the bar with tables outside we could hear all conversations plus the disco over the road that did not finish until 1am.

Room Tip: Think twice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wash & Tope Hotel
The Wash & Tope Hotel
#21 of 22 in Hunstanton
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#18 of 22 in Hunstanton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing