We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Wheelchair friendly”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lovely hotel with views overlooking the centre of Hunstanton. Booked with a group of 30 people and had a lovely time. Food and service excellent. Good rate for the weekend too.
Although my partner and I are not disabled, we had what was obviously a room for disabled, and I can only say how lucky you would be. One bed was like a hospital adjustable bed, the bathroom was huge and well capable of housing a wheelchair. It was more of a wet room. Even the restaurant had tables which were obviously larger to accommodate wheelchair users.

Room Tip: If you are disabled they have special rooms to accommodate you. Not all rooms have a seaview, so ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am glad to hear that your group had a lovely time. We do indeed have two rooms on the ground floor with wet rooms that have been recently refurbished. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    134
    64
    49
    45
See reviews for
46
245
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

In Hunstantonfor the day decided to eat at The Golden Lion. Female member of staff very helpful on reception. The dining room is lovely, we ordered our food and it was brought to us hot as it should be (thank you) enjoyed our meal. All staff are dressed smartly. There is a main lunchtime menu plus lighter meals and a specials board. As it was sunny we took a drink outside to sit in the lovely garden.,Did not stay at hotel so cannot comment further.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight but would think sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank VickytheViking187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your meal with us. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Recently took my husband away as a birthday treat. Booked this at a special discount rate. Pretty hotel centrally located in a quaint north Norfolk seaside location. Was fortunate to have a 2nd floor room with great views of The Green and the sea. The downside was no lift. Also the hotel do charge £5 per night if you use their small car park but there is plenty of nearby free parking elsewhere. Paid fair price for room but would never pay their full price advertised rate. Food was fine and staff very helpful. Would stay there again at a discount.

Room Tip: Don't get a second floor room unless you are fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice break with us. I completely agree with you we are so lucky to have such a fantastic location & great views. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTERSHIRE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked a 9 night break here with friends as it was close to a holiday dialysis unit. Excellent location and friendly staff (special thanks to Barbra for arranging taxis to hospital and early breakfasts). Restaurant staff Joe, Hannah and Kyle also merit a mention for their never failing cheerfulness and friendliness. After a good breakfast, the evening meals were rather disappointing, especially the choice of vegetables. Our sea view rooms were very clean as was the rest of the hotel. Stairs could be a problem for older guests though and be warned - drinks are expensive.

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs, get a top floor room with great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TIRLEBROOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us & Barbara was more than happy to arrange your requests for you. Joe, Hannah & Kyle were very pleased to hear that you mentioned them by name on your review, it made their day. I have passed your comments onto the Kitchen regarding the choice of vegetables. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is nicely positioned overlooking The Green and has wonderful views of the sea.My wife and I stayed here from 5th - 9th August, 2013, and we had a sea view room which was excellent. The room (110) was immaculate and very large with new bedroom furniture, and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is generally well decorated throughout including the lovely dining room (with sea views). The lounges and bar area were also nicely furnished and easily meets modern day needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could not have done any more. We parked our car at the front of the hotel without charge and very convenient instead of having to walk some distance to a 'pay and display' car park. The meals were the only negative point. Firstly, the breakfast was good with reasonable choice, even croissants which were delicious. Evening meals: the starters and desserts were also very good and totally acceptable. However it is the main course that needs some urgent attention. One night the menu listed "Chicken stuffed with Haggis", a very strange and unappetising sounding meal.On another occasion the carrots were very hard and obviously not cooked sufficiently. Other nights the meals were reasonable. It's a pity because this hotel has great potential with it's great location and a good base for touring, nice accommodation and friendly staff. The answer surely is to copy the evening meals of other Coast & Country/Bay Hotels. We've stayed at many of theses hotels and never had a problem with meals. Attention is needed and hopefully the situation can be resolved. I hope so, because we loved this hotel (we were also lucky with good weather) and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: A sea view room at the front is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so lucky to have the location & views that we have. I have passed your comments onto all of the staff. Housekeeping staff were very pleased to hear that you felt your room was immaculate. I was disappointed to read your comments about our menu as we use the current Coast & Country menus already. However these menus change regularly so I’m sure you will enjoy the next menu we put out as much as the previous ones you have tried. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is the first experience of a Coast & Country Hotel and it will be the last. We booked this 4 night DBB online thinking it was a good buy, however after paying extra for a sea view room and private Resident parking our total came to £527. The meals were fair and the menu changed daily but the main course was a very minimal portion, we had various problems with dirty glasses, but crockery e.g. teapots were covered in old stains cutlery was also dirty on quite a few occasions. I did speak to the General Manager who was shown the teapot and apologised and said that she would speak to the restaurant supervisor and acknowledged there was a problem with glasses but that was it. I think we will give Coast & Country hotel group a miss in future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I would like to thank you for speaking with me whilst at the Hotel as I was able to look into the problems that you encountered straight away & rectify them. This is certainly not our normal standard of cleanliness & once again I apologize for the standards during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fulwood, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

It was the coldest March in memory and we left Sheffield in the snow. No snow in Hunstanton, but was it cold or what? However, there was a warm welcome from the hotel staff, who did their level best in the this rather faded old hotel, with all its quirks. Some serious refurbishment is needed. Pretty basic menu but that was part of the 'all-inclusive price', not the a-la- carte', so can't really comment on the cuisine. However, it was terrific value and the surrounding area is great for coastal walks.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I would completely agree that March was very cold! I am pleased to read that you received such a warm welcome. With regards to your comments about refurbishment, I am pleased to tell you that the bar was refurbished earlier this year & Reception is planned for the end of the year. I hope that you return to see the changes. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
858 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#8 of 22 in Hunstanton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing