We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chaotic dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chaotic dining”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The restaurant service was very poor, the kitchen could not cope with large groups. Meals took a very long time. The waiting staff were friendly and did what they could, but obviously they had a very poor standard of training. Waiting between courses was very long. The food generally was of a low standard,overcooked vegetables and unpleasant. A very tired and plain hotel, facilities in ensuite bathroom inadequate, no towel rail, shower needed repair for leaking hose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto the relevant department heads so that they can fully investigate your comments. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    130
    58
    44
    40
See reviews for
41
232
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We live locally and love the location of the hotel but having visited last evening and paid £4.05 for a pint of bitter - never again. Extortion!!

No wonder there were so few in the bar area or outside, on what was a lovely bank holiday evening!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rod c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. As a company we review our bars prices and take the national average for our tariff. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel central for town and Norfolk coast, overlooks the green and The Wash. Hotel comfortable and clean, Staff very helpful and friendly. Food good but portion control is resulting in portions being on the small side. Check out--Scrambled egg, bacon and sausage at breakfast.
Overall value for money. Would recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a nice break with us & would recommend the Hotel. I completely agree with you we are so very lucky to have such a great location. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked a 2 day break first problem parking make sure you book a space but why charge come on! Rroom nice clean but overall the hotel is tired needs decorating. Food was very average veg overcooked and unpalatable would have preferred b and b and gone out for dinner..High point great staff very attentive and fabulous sea views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrutiny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments. We have ongoing refurbishment programmed so I hope you visit us again to see the changes that are happening. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings lynn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée decided to go to the lion inn for a drink on Sunday night. It was pretty empty, and there were two male members off staff on. In the hour we were there, the table next to us was full of glasses until we left. The attitude of the bar staff was terrible. At one point they both stood at the bar rolling cigarettes. I heard the F word used many times. The bar was unattended for several times for a long period of time, I guess when the cigarettes were being smoked? And at one point, one of them broke wind very loudly!! With the other boy proceeding to say "that stinks"! Gross! Not something you want to have to experience when you're having a drink. We drank out one drink and left. We probably won't be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Bandr1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited the venue for a function and were frankly disappointed.Staff were marvellous but the food was poor.We had to wait for our main courses and some had finished before the others main courses arrived
Veg was cold and we had to have it re heated.salmon was in a sauce that was indexable.
We will not return

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs,very tired venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. I have passed on your compliments to the waiting staff & spoken with the Kitchen staff regarding the sauce the Salmon is served with. Once again I am sorry that we didn't meet or exceed your expectations on this visit. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here half board for 4 days on a special offer, It was great value for money. The food was adequate, nothing special, but a good variety. ALL the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
It is situated in the centre of Hunstanton, on the village green, which was spotlessly clean. We had a sea view from the top floor. But beware if you are elderly or infirmed, there was 5 flights of stairs to the top! We were offered assistance with the luggage though. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: first or second floor for the frail !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanNot2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you felt we offered value for money & that you would recommend the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#8 of 23 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing