We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous Deli” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norfolk Deli

The Norfolk Deli
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Norfolk Deli is a traditional delicatessen which you’ll find just off the high street in Hunstanton. Multi award winning we’re used to being judged and reviewed by the industries experts which has resulted in our being the Norfolk Food & Drink Awards 'Best Independent Food & Drink Retailer' 2015, Finalist in The Deli of the Year Awards (2016) and runner up twice in the Observer Food Monthly awards (to name a few). We have also been awarded a certificate of excellence by TripAdvisor 2016. We are a family run establishment owned and run by a husband and wife team. You will find either one or both of us in the shop which is open 7 days a week throughout the year. Being a traditional deli means that you choose from a wonderful ranges of cheeses, charcuterie and classic deli (hard to find) products. We focus on offering our customers the highest quality local produce. We offer in excess of 100 sandwich combinations (all of which are made-to-order) for us it’s not about being the least expensive, it’s about offering the widest most imaginative tasty, range of sandwiches available. The vast majority of our customers agree! We support local producers wherever we can which includes locally blended/roasted tea and coffee made by artisan producers here in Norfolk. So if you want to try something different? This is the place to visit. Stuck for a present? We offer a wide range of Gift Hampers on our website or we’ll help create one exclusively for you. Spending a day on the beach doesn’t get better than when you order and pick up one of our luxury picnic hampers. We also bake cakes for all occasions cater for events, tea parties, business lunches and more. .
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tremendous Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We found the Norfolk Deli, whilst on a break on the Norfolk coast.

Lovely produce, lovely premises run by lovely couple.

We tried several sandwiches all made on request, you forget how awful the supermarket prepared 'cold' offerings are.

I now have a particular liking for the very local 'Norfolk Dabble' cheese.

Thank you for adding so much to our holiday, you deserve every success.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmMuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkacary, Owner at The Norfolk Deli, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many many thanks for your review. we are so pleased that you found us and trust that next time you are in the area you will come and find us again :) We are especially pleased that you like the sandwiches and that you managed to discover some local cheeses, we hope to see you again and help you discover a few more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely nibbles and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We discovered this little gem on Greevegate a month ago. We're often on the coast as we live quite close by. The food on offer is of the very best quality and where possible locally sourced. We find it's perfect for freshly sliced ham, wonderful (and unusual) cheeses and other tasty bits and pieces for picnics or al fresco lunches.
The owners are friendly and helpful and the prices are reasonable for an independent deli.
Would recommend it to anyone who is up at Hunny for the day (or a few days) and it's not that far from home (20 mins) so would consider popping there for something special for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkacary, Owner at The Norfolk Deli, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. It is always great to hear that we must be doing something right. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time and effort to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always something yummy to buy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We always visit the deli when we are in Hunny and on our last visit I decided to put a picnic lunch together for the family. I bought 4 of their filled rolls, and they were superb! Full of delicious filling, and such a difficult choice on what to have! The owners are very friendly, and have made some good changes to the place since taking it over :) I love this shop x

Helpful?
1 Thank Claracluzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkacary, Owner at The Norfolk Deli, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I believe I remember your visit and so glad you enjoyed the sandwiches, we look forward to catering for any further requirements you may have, many thanks for the review and the kind words you have regarding the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a coffee. Offered the facilities of Recipe Search Table in the
Atmospheric cellar to enjoy the brilliant coffee in comfort. The choices of cheeses and local produce are only surpassed by the caring enthusiasm of the proprietors. Good luck to them

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkacary, Owner at The Norfolk Deli, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to send in a review. It was great to meet you and so glad that you like our cellar and our recipe corner. We hope to meet you again next time you visit Hunstanton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Healthy and Hearty Sandwiches, an Excellent Find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were passing through Hunstanton today on our way back home having had a few days away in Norfolk! My partner had a taste for fish & chips however I wanted something more hearty and wholesome! I stumbled across The Norfolk Deli and was welcomed by a nice couple who I assume to be the owners. They were extremely friendly and talkative and explained a little about the concept and mindset behind the deli! You could tell these people are foodies by the passion they have for there products so I knew I was in good company!

So I had an apple, Brie and ham sandwich with a little chutney on granary bread and I have to say it was lovely! The ham was fresh and chunky, the bread tasty and nutty and the variety of apple worked really well in the sandwich! So if I'm being honest the sandwich wasn't cheap, but then you wouldn't go to the Norfolk Deli for a mass produced petrol station style sandwich! In conclusion you pay for what you get in this world and if you want something healthy and scrummy then you won't go far wrong!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-The-Screwmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkacary, Owner at The Norfolk Deli, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks for your very kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed the sandwich. We take great pride in ensuring that the contents of our sandwiches are of the highest quality so it is always gratifying to obtain such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are In Hunstanton to possibly try another sandwich and of course see the continuing transformation of the Deli. We always love finding the time to chat to people who appreciate good quality food as much as obviously you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Norfolk Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Norfolk Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing