We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Norfolk Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bays Guest House
Ranked #6 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

have recently returned from a four night Stay at the Bays.
There is very little I can write what hasn't been stated before.
Wonderful friendly hosts, Anna & Jane.
Great "King size" Bedroom with two arm chairs to relax after touring.
Fresh Milk to be kept in fridge. Nibbles (charged for) available.
Exceptional breakfast for a good start to the day - nothing too much trouble. If you want something extra just ask.
A few minutes stroll to bus "terminal" (Coasthopper great) and to the sea front
Would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorsethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a short break and found it to be outstanding. Beautifully clean and bright throughout, comfortable bed, view of the sea (from the attic room - beware low ceilings!), and the breakfast was excellent - sausages in particular! Jane and Anna were extremely friendly and helpful. The house was in easy walking distance of the beach and town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Anna and Jane had a plan when they converted The Bays and they really made good. They have formed lovely rooms which are light and airy and offer a range of exceptional breakfast choices...
If you couple your stay with some relaxation treatment and the sunset over the sea then the package is complete.
Delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for a few days and had a lovely time. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and very clean. We slept well. The breakfasts were brilliant. The full English was well cooked with tasty ingredients. The Bays was well situated, an easy walk into town and to the sea. I would agree with one of the previous reviewers that there is limited eating places in Hunstanton. The owners did recommend Goblins Pantry for good home cooked food. We did go and it was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahFGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable and quiet B & B then the Bays is highly recommended. I stayed in the attic room which has a lovely peaceful ambience, although it is definitely not for giants. The house is clean and bright and Anna and Jane do everything they can to make your stay perfect. Breakfasts are great - with a special mention going to the homemade bread - fruit and cinnamon in my case. You can book dinner in advance and this was also wonderful. There is also a therapy room with an outstanding therapist. All in all, an outstanding place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuchsia073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Bays is a simply outstanding bed and breakfast. I had the attic room, was travellling alone which was not a problem for this friendly establishment. The room itself was clean, beautifully furnished with a lovely bathroom. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room too. Bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was a joy, up to 10 home made breads, and home made or locally sourced jams. I didn't have a cooked breakfast but fellow guests were obviously enjoying theirs.

The only downside is the town itself. I was staying there to start the Norfolk Coastal Path, but there is NOWHERE TO EAT. I live in Cromer, a similar sized seaside town with many options in the evening. Hunstanton has none. Maybe someone can see this as an avenue to build on? If anyone stays here, you are guaranteed a welcome and a good nights' sleep and fabulous breakfast. Just be prepared to travel to eat in the evening, or use the Sainsburys up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorfolkGemCromer_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just returned from our second 2-night stay at the Bays and once again could not find one single thing to fault. This, in my opinion, is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. What makes it stand out from other good ones is their attention to detail everywhere. From the well maintained car park and seating area on decking, to the flower pots around the main door to the moment you enter with fine decor throughout. This time we stayed in room 6 (the attic) which in the past has received criticism. It is a beautiful room, quirky, very tastefully decorated with comfy bed and antique chairs and a lovely bath with full range of products to use. There are a full range of snacks and products you may purchase at very reasonable prices. You also get a view of the wash from the attic. The dining room like the rest of the house is tastefully furnished. As for the breakasts...........top marks!!...Anna and Jane make their own bread and jams, full range of fruit and cerials, and the full english is superb. Everything is cooked to perfection, not burnt or cooked then kept warm becoming dry and hard. Full english included sausage, bacon, eggs, tomato, fried bread, black pudding, mushrooms, baked beans as standard, in a lot of places you only get one or the other.......and if Jane has any left over.........you end up with a MONSTER breakfast!!...........in the end Anna and Jane deserve all the praise they get and we wouldn't stop anywhere else in Hunstanton now. looking forward to our next return!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are what they are - superior but I would not have any problem staying in any room. ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simonmerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hunstanton hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
0.4 mi away
Glenberis
Glenberis
#1 of 22 in Hunstanton
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No 33 Hunstanton
No 33 Hunstanton
#8 of 22 in Hunstanton
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 22 in Hunstanton
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shellbrooke Guest House
The Shellbrooke Guest House
#10 of 22 in Hunstanton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bays Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bays Guest House

Address: 31 Avenue Road, Hunstanton PE36 5BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range: £87 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bays Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bays Guest House Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing