We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shellbrooke Guest House
Ranked #10 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at the Shelbrooke on a mini tour of the coast and for the price was very happy, nice airy, clean room, decent shower. Bed was nice and comfy, breakfast was what you would expect, nice fresh coffee. Would definitely stay again and probably will due to my great childhood memories of Hunstanton.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

,lovely hotel superb breakfast,clean spacious rooms ,extremely helpful staff .partial sea view in sunrise suite ,would definitely recommend this hotel and a return visit is planned with more of our family

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here on News Years Eve to attend a party nearby. The outside of the building does not do it justice... we were expecting a 1970's Faulty Towers type guest house and what we got was so far removed from that.

Our attic room was HUGE. So big compared to others I have stayed in. The decor was beautiful and clean, and the owners are lucky we were on the top floor otherwise we might have stolen the lovely lovely bed.

The bathroom was clean and large - makes such a change for a guest house.

There's even a beautiful, clean and cosy lounge area which was great to sit in.

We didnt experience breakfast... New Years Day hangover... but the staff were so helpful and friendly.

Would certainly be using this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaS828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just arrived home, had a lovely time. Seaview room. Hotel is beautiful, clean and very friendly. The breakfast is gorgeous too . Ian & DIane are brilliant, friendly managers. Will definitely be back again soon. Marilyn & Steve x

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very quiet hotel in excellent location. Large, quality room - Sunrise Suite - on second floor with partial sea-view and immaculately clean. Large, modern bathroom. First-rate breakfast. Parking not a problem. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed at the Shellbrook for the third time over the weekend. We first booked the Shellbrook because many of the other hotels in Hunstanton won't let you book for one night and the price was very reasonable. The hotel is quite small, very clean, and well decorated.We have had the same room 3 years running. The room is spacious, with a double bed and a proper extra bed for a child. Also has a sea view, which is interspersed with buildings but you can't have everything! Nice television with lots of digital channels. We only sampled breakfast, but there was plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was well cooked and presented. The menu for evening dinner looked nice as well.

All in all this is a perfect small hotel for a weekend break, in a good location, with friendly staff, nice clean facilities and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyNursetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Enjoyed our stay, Seaview Room very nice, a ceiling fan would have been very welcome, it was boiling hot. Ian the manager was lovely, very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: The seaview room has a lovely sideways view of the sea, the hotel does not face the sea. It was stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.0 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
925 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
897 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wash & Tope Hotel
The Wash & Tope Hotel
#21 of 22 in Hunstanton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shellbrooke Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shellbrooke Guest House

Address: 9 Cliff Terrace, Hunstanton PE36 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range: £69 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shellbrooke Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Norfolk carrstone as a family home in the 1870's, we have 13 rooms available over three floors (no lift) for guests visiting for a family break, bird watching, walking, playing golf, cycling or more energetically, kite and windsurfing, or maybe just chilling out and romantic sunsets over the sea. We hope to provide you with clean, modern and comfortable accommodation, locally sourced food cooked allowing you to relax and unwind. Conveniently located just minutes from Hunstanton's sandy beaches and myriad seaside attractions , including recently refurbished SeaLife Centre and Sanctuary and a small selection of shops and cafes. We have a fully licensed restaurant ( booking needed) offering table d'hote. There is limited off road parking available on a first come first served basis. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shellbrooke Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shellbrooke Guest House Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing