We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and beautiful”
other traveller has booked this property
Church Cottage - the perfect retreat with open fire, woodburner & garden secure for children & dogs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Church Cottage - the perfect retreat with open fire, woodburner & garden secure for children & dogs.
Games & TV Room  - HDTV with Sky Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Church Cottage - the perfect retreat with open fire, woodburner & garden secure for children & dogs.
Games & TV Room  - HDTV with Sky
Kitchen
Kitchen with electric hob, fan oven, microwave, large Dualit toaster, fridge, DAB radio etc...
Kitchen cupboard - well stocked with all accessories.
Dining Room Cupboard - brimful with crockery + glassware - enough for a large party !
Bath + Shower Room - drench shower; double ended bath, loo, pedestal washbasin
Morston Quay at Summer high tide - the bluest of skies ....
Holkham Beach - miles of sand and space for everyone!
Dining room seats up to 10 + high chair
November sunshine on Salthouse beach - the perfect walk + there is always a coffee van too ...
Church Cottage in winter snowcoat ...
Seal trips to Blakeney Point from Morston Quay - 5 mins walk from Church Cottage
Wells beach - 5 minutes drive - where you can rent a beach hut by the day ... fun fun fun ...
Terrace with BBQ - perfect + private for breakfast, lunch + dinner ...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Morston, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tjatkins0...
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquil and beautiful”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

A beautifully presented cottage in tranquil surroundings close to Morston Quay; wonderful wilderness walks on the doorstep; dog friendly places of interest close by; the Anchor Inn just round the corner for an evening meal - a perfect holiday retreat which the whole family and Bertie Pickles the Schnauzer would love to revisit - thanks to Louise for all her help and consideration - everything was just perfect!!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2017
I am delighted you had such a great stay at Church Cottage and look forward to welcoming you all back again very soon - Louise, Lara & Twiglet !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitonCari...
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and location”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed for Christmas and we just couldn't have been more delighted with our choice of place to stay.
So pretty, cosy, smart and clean, with a gorgeous decorated Christmas tree all set up for us!
Ideal for us with our three small children too, had all the facilities we needed for them.
Would absolutely recommend Church Cottage to anyone, can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
I am so glad Church Cottage fulfilled all expectations for your Christmas away - it was lovely to work with you and to be able to help prepare the cottage for your children and family. I look forward to welcoming you all back to North Norfolk :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vryfussyb...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for the discerning guest with or without their hounds😊”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned from a delightful stay at Church Cottage. V well appointed house stylishly and thoughtfully furnished. Super comfy beds with quality bed linen and although only the one bathroom the shower was excellent. Our dogs accompanied us and settled in with no problems. The layout of the downstairs allows them to be contained and with easy access to rear garden which is larger than it appeared on the web site photos. The nearby sandy beaches at Wells were fabulous for us and the dogs and the pebble beach at Salthouse where the sea is closer and deeper just fantastic for them to swim. All in all our extended family much enjoyed our first visit to Norfolk. Beautifully unspoilt and uncrowded this part of the world and with many country houses and estates also dog friendly open to the public in the close proximity. The seal trip just across the way from the cottage was well worth doing and a highlight for our 2yr old granddaughter. Many places to eat out locally. We tried several and found The Moorings in Blakeny the friendliest and where we had our best meal

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
I am delighted that you had such a good holiday in North Norfolk and were able to enjoy so much that is just on the doorstep to Church Cottage & Morston. Thank you too for highlighting about the garden photos on the website - I will revise these to better reflect the space. I hope to welcome you, your family & dogs back to North Norfolk very soon. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullers20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional home from home.”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have to hand it to the owner, this property is an absolute gem! From the very first sweep into the driveway I was captivated by its tranquility, pretty facade and downright chocolate box kerb appeal. It's just what I needed after a few busy months in the City (London). The two log burners were on all the time and the secure garden meant that my dog could roam freely without concern. Backing onto the church was also a great part of the magic this place binds you with. It's not at all creepy. The quality shines throughout. The bed (I only used one of the five) was dressed in the finest of linen and the complimentary toiletries were a lovely touch too. The beautiful white towels were fresh and the rain shower woke me up after a deep long slumber. Location-wise, it is superb. Don't bother driving your car to the Quayside. It costs £3 to park and is literally a stones through away - maps make it look farther. A great place to unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
So glad you enjoyed the haven of Church Cottage - looking forward to welcoming you back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephm M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful house - didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Church Cottage is just as beautiful as it looks in the pictures and very well appointed, clean and comfortable. We stayed at the house for a long weekend to attend a wedding locally, as seven adults we had plenty of sociable space and really couldn't fault the house at all. It is one of the most stunning houses I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We loved the luxury bed linens, fluffy bath towels and miniature 'The White Company' amenities placed in each bedroom. It was also lovely to arrive after a long drive from London to find fresh milk in the fridge and all sorts of teas and coffees to choose from. Booking through Louise was a really pleasant, hassle free, helpful and friendly experience. We had one small problem while we were there figuring out how to work the hot water and after a late night email to Louise, I woke to a text, email and a plumber on the way. After the flick of a switch all was sorted and the plumber was cancelled. We felt very well taken care of.
The pub opposite is lovely with fantastic seafood dishes, be sure to make a reservation and don't expect to eat after 9pm as the kitchen closes.
All in all Church Cottage is thoroughly recommended - Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how pretty and peaceful the house was
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed staying at the cottage and that you had a lovely weekend - really hope that you will venture to North Norfolk again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

When my daughter announced she was getting married at Morston Church I began looking for somewhere for the bridal party to stay and couldn't believe my look when I came across Church Cottage. From the start Louise the friendly owner went out of her way to accommodate us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Church Cottage more than met our needs. It is tastefully decorated with lots of homely touches that make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The cottage is well proportioned with two sitting rooms and the bedrooms have extremely comfortable beds with quality bedlinen. It is also very well equipped - there really wasn't anything we couldn't find. On this occasion we couldn't take advantage of all Church Cottage has to offer but we did make use of the lovely garden that overlooks the church and was perfect for entertaining.
I have spent many holidays in North Norfolk but think Morston and the surrounding area in particular has much to offer with endless walking opportunities, good and varied places to eat and numerous visitor attractions. Our time at Church Cottage was over all too quickly- we wanted somewhere special to stay and it turned out to be perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Our stay was too short.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thank you for such a glowing review - I hope I can entice you back to Church Cottage and the wonder North Norfolk coastline ... :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very comfortable home from home for a family Christmas”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We are currently staying in Church Cottage, and it has been lovely. The cottage is equipped to an exceptionally high standard, and it is a cosy place in the depth of winter. We have enjoyed using the fireplace and the wood burner, and had our son-in-law's family over for lunch etc. on Christmas Day. They live nearby, which was partly why we chose Church Cottage.
Louise, the owner was very helpful at all times, and we feel it really matters to her that people enjoy her home.
It is positioned next door to The Anchor, a very nice pub to have a meal out in. The house overlooks the church and churchyard, and it is a delight to wake up and see the birds in the garden and look at the rising sun or the frost on the garden and fields in the distance.
The beds are very comfortable, and have high quality bedlinen, the kitchen is very well equipped and there is ample crockery and cutlery to entertain friends and family.
We love our time here and are thrilled to have come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being allowed to decorate the house with a Christmas tree etc. and finding ample logs and tea lights.
Liked least: The fact that parking is ample but it can be difficult to get out because of the way the patrons of The Anchor park their cars.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind review. Your are quite right - I would like to feel that every visitor is well catered for and am happy to help with information and in whatever way possible to make guests feel welcome and look after. I hope you will be able to return later in 2015. With very best wishes. Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing