We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food .....!”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in delightful North Norfolk countryside, our stylish award winning restaurant features a fashionable modern interior complete with a sumptuous lounge and spectacular bar. A fantastic choice for any occasion whether it's a breakfast to kick start the day or a quick coffee, a light lunch or an a la carte lunch or dinner, through to a birthday celebration or wedding celebration. Good food has always been a vital ingredient of The Olive Tree's delivery and an important connection with its rural location. The restaurant offers a Modern British food style using only the best local, fresh ingredients - organic wherever possible, including vegetables, salad leaves, and herbs from our own garden. Everything is prepared on-site on a daily basis enabling us to cater for all dietary requirements including coeliac, vegetarians, diabetics, vegans and allergies. Our guiding principle is quite simply to source and prepare the fabulous seasonal produce on our doorstep, providing real food with true flavours. There is also a lovely Mediterranean-style outside terrace with a central picturesque water feature with Koi Carp, box hedges, olive trees and fronds of papyrus grass, which is ideal for al fresco dining and drinks on warm summer evenings. From April to October guests are also welcome to use the outdoor heated swimming pool which lies adjacent to the terrace where they can relax on the comfy sun loungers and chairs.
Norfolk, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food .....!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Consistantly good food and friendly and professional staff. Aiden is a great chef and Mark has uplifted and elevated the profile of this 'find', greatly!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    73
    30
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the afternoon tea !”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We 1st went to the Olive Tree with a local voucher , offering afternoon tea at a reduced rate. After the 1st afternoon tea we had tried we were disappointed by this and not really looking forward to another disappointment .
However, The Olive Tree more than made up for the other tea room! Yes, it is in the middle of a caravan park, but you have views of the terrace and swimming pool, it is not a very large park and very quiet
When the tea arrived we could not believe it! It came on very large black slates, in fact we could not eat it all ! Smoked salmon sandwiches, delicious scones and a victoria sandwich!
All beautifully served.
The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this to anyone. In fact we went back this w/e to sample Sunday lunch. We weren't disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 533michelle533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service I have ever experienced!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I never write reviews or really pay much attention to them as each visit can be totally different. I was surprised to find this resturaunt in the middle of a holiday camp site. But after looking on the website it states this on the location page. However this is not in the countryside as you would expect! We had a great welcome from a waitress and told they get too busy where they are on this camp site and wouldnt cope with being in town or even norwich city centre, then the service stops there!! We had our first drinks on arrival, and our 2nd glass of wine an hour later after I had gone to the bar to order. The starters were over rated and the mains average. All the waitresses seemed nice but unfortunately more interested in talking to each other at the bar. We waited 40 minutes to be asked for a desert or coffee and nobody bothered. Although the tables that arrived 45 mins later who knew the staff where looked after. We had to go back to the bar to ask if I can pay!! 2 hours 30 minutes with 2 drinks and 2 meals is very poor! And was not worth the wait. The manageress just before we left was very apologetic, shame she wasn't about earlier. I was struggling to spend money!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A fabulous fresh and contemporary restaurant serving exquisite food”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We went to The Olive Tree for afternoon tea. Now this is something I do regularly across the region. Having booked this via a local voucher I was yet to be convinced. However, from the moment we walked in we knew we had found a regular venue for our eatery list. A fresh and contemporary restaurant with a fabulous terrace for sunset evenings and a glass of wine. The afternoon tea itself was beautifully presented in a traditional style, yet with a modern twist. The food was of a very high standard and certainly comparable to the high end of this market.

The service too, was friendly and efficient. Another tell tale for me as to whether a restaurant is as good as it claims is the powder room. Well, another gold star there!

All in all a great experience, we will certainly be returning to sample the very tempting lunch and dinner menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmahannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Having looked around we decided to give The Olive Tree a try, we were not disappointed!! Very concerned when we first arrived as you have to drive into a caravan park to find the restaurant but don't let this put you off.
Once inside, the restaurant is clean and looks great, the staff were very chatty and helpful when asked about the menu and the service was impressive.
Now to the food, what can I say but compliments to the chef, starters through to main looked amazing and tasted as great. my wife and I both had steak but cooked to different specifications and both were perfect and arrived in very good time.
If we are ever on holiday in the area again we will definitely return and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a16ebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing