We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay and would highly recommend these...”
other travellers have booked this property
Barns Front Garden, south facing sheltered enclosed garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barns Front Garden, south facing sheltered enclosed garden.
Master Bedroom with King Size Four Poster bed - flat screen TV with free view. Private Garden with Hot Tub & Gas BBQ with seating for 8 overlooking open fields. Level decking.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Barns Front Garden, south facing sheltered enclosed garden.
Master Bedroom with King Size Four Poster bed - flat screen TV with free view.
Private Garden with Hot Tub & Gas BBQ with seating for 8 overlooking open fields. Level decking.
Lounge leather soffas & chair. Large flat screen TV with view, Ipod dock, DVD player, Music Ctr.
Fully equipped kitchen and dining area that seats 8 adults.
Main bathroom - Free standing boat bath and shower cubical - there is also an on suite in bedroom.
Guests sunbathing in snow late December then in to the Hot Tub - good for you?
Owl hunting in field taken from Kestrel Hot Tub.
Rookery Barn Bees - Our first summer extraction 2012 we sold out of honey by September..
Barns in the snow late December.
Cromer Pier - home of the famous Cromer crabs only a short drive,
Gunton Hall home of a large herd of deer a visit at any time especially exciting during the Rut.
Avocets at Salthouse - Marshes car parking all year round easy nature watching.
Dunlin at Salthouse a fairly common sight - bird watching at its best.
Red Arrows at Cromer Carnival.
Pinkfoot Geese arriving early Autumn on their migration to Norfolk. Flights over the Barns.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Walsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon M
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stay and would highly recommend these barns as a perfect get away.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Thank you Ken and Nicola for a wonderful second stay in your fantastic barns. The barns are decorated to a very high standard and very well equipped with everthing you could possibly need for a break away. Even though the weather was cold, wet and windy it did not stop us using the hot tubs which we all thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for the welcome pack which contained everything to get you started from the coffee down to the mince pie.
We will hopefully be coming to stay again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of barns.
Liked least: Found nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review - we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Lets hope the weather's better for you next time.

Kind regards Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya C
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely glorious!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and absolutely love it! It has everything you could possibly need and love the welcome basket which is a god send after a car journey. The HOT TUB was well and truly used, come rain or shine! The barns are set in gorgeous English countryside and only a short walk from a lovely sandy beach (and a pub!) For the photographer in you, Horsey beach is a short car journey away, where at this time of year you will find the seals and their pups...and yes we got some amazing photos and was an amazing experience for the kids. I would highly recommend Rookery Barns and would definitely holiday there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Many thanks for you great review - we are glad you all had a good time with us and look forward to seeing you all again soon. It would be nice if you were the first guest to post some of your pictures on our new Facebook Site or on our Flickr Site or both!! Links are on our web site.

Very kind regards
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay, would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd visit in 3 years and each time we love it just as much as the last. The barns are so well equipped, ranging from a huge selection of DVDs to kitchen utensils and of course the courtesy welcome hamper which comes very well stocked. The barns are tastefully decorated with roll top baths, a walk in shower, flat screen tv's...however the 2 hot tubs are the main attraction for us!
We were a party of 4 families who stayed in both barns and kept the interconnecting door open, making into one big barn - with 2 living and kitchen areas there is plenty of room for everybody.
Each time we have been the barns have been immaculate and the owners have always been very welcoming.
We didn't have great weather this time round but we still managed our annual walk to The Lighthouse Inn pub (approx 1mile away). I would recommend this pub to anybody looking for reasonably priced good pub food, again they are very welcoming and our large party never seems too much trouble for them.
Our group are already in discussions about booking our next stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments - its always nice to see returning guests, especially for the third time - shows we must be getting something right. Glad you again had a good New Year with us.

A Happy New Year to you all
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

My 2 dogs and partner stayed in the Peregrine over the xmas week. Beautiful accommodation, hot tub, right near the beach, so great location. Ken & Nicola gave us a xmas tree and a welcome goody bag, which included mince pies, we even got a xmas plant. We feel in love with the poachers arm pub, and my dogs love it as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thw whole package
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
Many thanks for this lovely review - we are pleased you all had a good Christmas with us. It was a pleasure to have you all stay - we were a little apprehensive when you mentioned 2 Rottweilers but they were brilliant, you have done a great job with their training - we look forward to welcoming you all again. We welcome all dogs with well trained owners!!

Happy New Year
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PippyKos
Bedfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great stay for humans and the dog!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have stayed at Kestrel Barn 4 times now, over the past 4 years! Each time we have never been dissapointed. I find the last review quite hard to believe if I am honest!! We have always bought our dog along and not once have there been any issues from the owners (Ken & Nicola) when we have checked out of the property, but then again we follow the booking agreement and never leave the dog alone in the barn, and exercise him away from the barn in the nearby Beach's and fields!

The Barn itself is a real comfort for us, and we always settle in straight away (as does the dog!) and enjoy a well earned break!

There is so much to do nearby, you will never get bored! And if you do fancy a quite day in lazing about, there is plenty of room in the Barn to do your own thing, or to be together as a family and interact together in the open plan sitting room and kitchen! This is great for entertaining some guests, which we had coem and join us for a few evenings for dinner (our family was staying nearby in their caravan). Ken was fine with them visiting us for dinner and drinks etc.

The barn is always very clean! It is by far the best self catering accomodation which we have stayed in which is why we have kept returning!

Please ignore the last review, it's a shame some people have little repsect for properties and give such fantasctic places like this one a bad review.

Thanks again Ken and Nicola!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, location, interior of barn, and the hot tub!
Liked least: Could have had fluffier towels ;0)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Hi to you all
Many thanks for your kind comments, it is a pleasure to welcome you all and really appreciate the way you look after our barn when you stay, it makes all the hard work worth while.

Have a good year and hopefully we will see you all again.

Kind regards
Ken & Nicola
RBHolidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica W
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accomodation, Management is appalling”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I would strongly advise guests stay very clear of this establishment. Whilst the property has been decorated to a high standard the management behind this is appalling. I have worked in the hospitality industry for a number of years in the UK’s biggest hotel chains and in all my time have never come across such disgusting behaviour! Before booking I emailed the owners as they advertise as a “dog friendly” establishment whether they would accept our party. They agreed on the condition the dogs do not jump on the furniture and are supervised at all times. We accepted these conditions and as an extra precaution even put our own blankets on all sofas just in case the dogs jumped up. On arrival management showed us around the property and gave us the list of rules and left. They were very abrupt and didn’t seem very welcoming. On arrival we noticed the toilet seat in the main bathroom was loose and there was a stain on one of the beds which was purposely hidden under the throw (picture attached). As we had such a long journey we accept that not all things are perfect and carried on as normal. After leaving the property after the 5 days I received the most disgraceful email from the owners. They had made false accusations of damage to the property which we all found extremely insulting as we tried our upmost to keep it in as good a condition as possible. They accused us of all kinds of misuse which has upset the whole group greatly. I believe they had no intention of giving back the security cheque and from looking at other reviews they seem to be cashing these cheques in an awful lot. Before leaving I checked every room to make sure everything was in order. We even took photos throughout the property so have photographic evidence that the standard they requested was upheld. Our group are more than happy to take these allegations further should legal action be required. I would suggest all visitors stay well away from this place and the crooks that manage it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
It is strange the review they left in the Barn Guest Book reads; “Great Cottage, everything was first rate. Will tell friends how good our stay has been. Owners very friendly and helpful. Many thanks”. This was dated 2/10/2013. On first enquiry she had requested to bring 2 small pugs with her, we sent her our dog terms. Please keep your dog off of the furniture and beds, exercise your dog off site, your dog cannot be left in the barns on its own and clean up after your dog. When Nicola and I entered Kestrel Barn after these guests had departed we could not believe what we saw. The Double Bedroom bed had small muddy footprints all over the quilt and the bottom sheet. Muddy marks were everywhere. The quilt also had a large muddy, greasy area where the 2 small pugs had slept and 3 large blood stains covering over 12”, you couldn’t miss them. We can only presume that the dog/dogs come into season. The bed and bedroom was full of dog hairs. The bath towels were filthy and again full of dog hairs. All the bed linen and towels were put in the skip. The bedroom was deep cleaned and disinfected throughout. Nicola washes and irons the entire Barn’s linen herself, Nicola and I then make up all the beds so we are positive the stain was not there when she arrived. If it was why would you take a picture of it, then sleep in the bed for 4 nights and not inform us, we saw them every day and live next door? Then write the above review before you left. In the Lounge area both of the leather sofos were covered in small muddy dog footprints and hairs. The cleaners found 2 small dog’s poos in the lounge area, they could not believe that anyone would not clean up their own dog mess. There were dog poos smeared into the outside decking and 3 piles of small dog mess that needed to be picked up. All the outside areas were scrubbed and pressure washed down and disinfected. The complete barn was deep cleaned and disinfected throughout. The sofas were stripped, shampooed and disinfected. The bathrooms were both bleached and finally disinfected.
We are a small family owned concern; we have owned this 4 Star Gold Award complex for many years. We have never seen accommodation left in this filthy state ever. Some dog owner give the rest of us dog owners a bad name. It took 3 of us 6 hours to clean and disinfect the barn. The complete double bed linen set had to be replaced. It was only when we advised her that we were keeping her Security Deposit as a contribution towards our costs, this dishonest, spiteful and vindictive review was posted. You only need to read our other Tripadvisor and the guest book reviews to see the sensible true reviews of our Barns and the owners.
Yours sincerely
Ken & Nicola Yerrill OWNERS ROOKERY BARN HOLIDAYS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suze888
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was so good we went back for more!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our first visit was sept 2012 and we had such a great time we returned this October! We were an adult group of 6. The standard of the accommodation is very high, lovely and clean with a great deal of thought into what you could need on holiday! Right down to plastic glasses for the wonderful hot-tub. The owners are very welcoming, extremely quick on confirming your booking and answering any questions. Worth buying the eggs. The owners put in a very nice welcome pack and flowers. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation and hot-tub
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments - it was nice to meet and great you all again - maybe see you next year,

Best wishes
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing