We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Great weekend - luxurious rooms, friendly service and great food. The weather was a bit grey but can't blame the hotel for that!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcspeirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    74
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
529
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration and it was a very nice experience. The staff are very friendly, professional, knowledgeable and helpful. We only had a small room as that was the only one left (which must say something these days) but it was very comfortable and quiet. The whole dining experience was very good too, with friendly attentive (but not too in your face) waiters, good food and wine, and comfortable bar. The only possible downside is nothing to do with the hotel but some customers don't appear to have a personal volume control so we now know more about somebody elses horses than we would really want to!
Apart from that we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Book early for a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princewobblebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Fenland Redkite agrees that in the case of the Beechwood Hotel Perfection is not only possible but has been acheived.This was our return 4 night stay and a all too short brief sojourn earlier in the year.The staff were as ever brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.We were so relaxed and pampered and treated in well pre jubilee fashion!
An earlier guest has ciommented on whgat a great centre the Beechwood is for visting the Broads,Norwich & Sheringham.Hoveton Gardens were magnificent!
Can I commend the brilliant rail service from North Walsham to Norwich & Sheringham(runs hourly each way...(station just walkable from the hotel)but parking is usually OK at the station but be aware if you have been to Norwich or are going to Sheringham you need go access the steps from under the rail bridge to get to /from the platform.This serrvices is quick and if you have a railcard excedllent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FenlandRedkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
392 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Although I'd booked and received written confirmation for a garden room, 4 poster. we were put in room 7, a 4 poster room but over looking the car park and front entrance. Annoyed, I queried this but could sense insisting on changing would not be popular, so we stayed in room 7. I was later told to ask 'not to be moved' if we booked to stay again! Luckily the rest of the stay totally eclipsed this 'not so great' start.

The room was light and bright and had character. The bed was large, very comfortable and we both slept very well. The road along the front of the hotel was totally quiet - it was a Sunday night - and I only heard very light traffic from 6.30am onwards but then I am always up way before that, so it wasn't a problem.

The beverage tray had fresh and instant coffee, tea, hot chocolate and nice biscuits! The tv was a good size, and a hairdryer was in the walk in wardrobe.

The bathroom was very large with a huge free standing bath with seperate shower. The water was always piping hot and the shower lovely and powerful. Moulton Brown toiletries were provided and very good quality towelling bathrobes.

'Complimentary' scones with jam and cream were a nice touch. Scones were large, the locally homemade jam delicious and it was a lovely way to start our stay. If being 'picky' the scones would have been even better warmed, as they were straight from the freezer/fridge so very cold.

Dinner was first class, definitely 5* plus. Excellent presentation, wide choice, top quality produce, cooked to perfection. We both enjoyed every mouthful.

Breakfast was very good as well. Piping hot, cooked to order and again, a good choice of both hot and cold items.

All the staff we met were so friendly, helpful and cheerful.

It's the 'little extras' that make this hotel stand out. As soon as we drew up in the car park, a friendly greeting followed by 'would you like help with your bags' came from the member of staff who had shot out to greet us. The scones to make you settle in and feel at home. The delicious hors d'oeuvres, as you decide what you want from the menu, quality nibbles with your pre dinner drinks. Home made petit fours with coffee after dinner. The effortless and sincere friendliness of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel got in skimmed milk for me, and it appeared with the scones without anything being said by me! The super little birthday cake that appeared wtih no prompting from me for my husband's birthday, complete with candle. He was lost for words and that rarely happens! An excellent gesture and greatly appreciated.

The Beechwood certainly deserves all the plaudits it receives.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a truly amazing hotel
Don and Lindsay are the most attentive and friendly owners who will do anything to help you feel like this is home from home - even when you are on business , they could for certain teach a few hotels a thing or to two (hunderd!!!!)
Their passion for perfection rubs of on all of the staff , who are also great - it does make you feel really good when they rememeber your name when its been a while since your last visit , just these little touches
The food is simply delicious
The area is so interesting
Despite the location being difficult to get to, my husband and I have visited too - this is very unusual for hotels where I stay on business - this place is a total gem - try it and I am sure you will agree

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are amazing - huge bathrooms, roll top baths and the most amazing power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orgeval
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The maxim of one of the world's most successful bankers is applied with diligence and success by the team of young staff and the owners of the Beechwood hotel.
We spent four nights here in April with our golden retriever, Kelso. From the moment we stepped out of the car, the receptionist was waiting to help us with our luggage, show us our well-appointed room on the first floor (very quiet, spotlessly clean, comfortable and with plenty of space for our four-legged companion) and explain the organisation of the hotel. Throughout our stay, staff and owners were highly attentive to our comfort (including dog biscuits for Kelso!) and helpfully informative on the Norfolk countryside and coast with details and itineraries of places to visit. The food and service in the restaurant and bar is as outstanding as other reviewers have noted and the famous fillet of beef is justifiably highly praised.
The layout of the hotel encourages contact with the other guests whom we found charming.
Whether you are staying in the hotel or living locally I recommend the restaurant and the excellent quality of the food and service. Norfolk is full of jewels waiting to be discovered (do ask the staff and owners) and the Beechwood hotel is well located to reach them by a short drive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Spent my 50th Birthday here, its out of this world. Clean, lovely rooms, food to die for and the staff were excellant, a credit to the Hotel. I just loved this hotel and will definately return to that beautiful 4 poster bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing