We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have returned from a three night break at this wonderful hotel. The service, food and staff were second to none.the rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated, the attention to detail was lovely. An added touch was the turning down of the beds in the evening whilst we were at dinner congratulations to the the chef and kitchen staff, great choices on the menu for dinner and breakfast. The best scrambled eggs I have tasted in a long time.pleny of fish and meat on the dinner menu. I will certainly return as the owners could not do enough for us. Also superb value for money.

Room Tip: The small rooms are comfortable but on my return I will upgrade as the bathroom was a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    74
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
547
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dannio92
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Found this Hotel after reading the reviews on this site and must say all the good ones are correct.
Stayed for 3 nights and our room was cosy and comfortable.
The owners/ staff were excellent and the food was good second to none.
Really peaceful time spent there will definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dannio92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent family meal - good wine, service and atmosphere. Friendly staff even though most of the diners for the evening arrived within 1/2 hour of each other the service stayed efficiently un-rushed but prompt. Good choice on the menu and full or part portions were offered if you did not want to much to eat. Special requests also catered for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roykivaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband booked this as a surprise for my birthday and our wedding anniversary. We love this part of Norfolk but had never been to North Walsham itself or heard about anyone staying at this hotel. What a lovely surprise. Superb service and food. Very relaxing and fantastic value for money. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We would probably choose a garden room next time so we had ground floor access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt we were part of the family, just like house guests. Before I opened my car door somebody was there to take our cases to our room. Complimentary cream tea was most welcome after our drive from London.
The staff were efficient and friendly and evidently very happy as the owners Lindsay and Don had high standards but clearly looked after their people, as well as their guests.
Everything was tastefully decorated and in perfect working order. All meals were most enjoyable and the Chef, Steven, made time to chat with the guests in the bar after dinner.

As Arnie would say - we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffElaine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Most 'dog-friendly' hotels just allow dogs - but this hotel actually welcomes them - with a fuss and treats, and no great long list of 'do nots'. The staff and owners actually like dogs, so there's no tension,(although, of course, it goes without saying that we dog-owners must be considerate and responsible towards others guests).
But I am also a coeliac, and was treated to the most delicious meals ever! Usually, I'm not offered little tidbits or starters, and rarely have nice Gluten free bread for breakfast - but this hotel was absolutely fantastic - I could eat almost everything - and did! - so don't go here if you're dieting!
We were taken to this beautiful old hotel by two kind and generous friends, were given a super weekend by the two owners and their staff, and hope one day to visit them again - if you want a very special treat - look at this hotel !

Room Tip: All the room we saw were beautiful, but some face the road (not a problem) and others the rear garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked this hotel some months ago, full of expectation having read the reviews, and the Beechwood did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, when a member of staff came hurrying out to take our bags, to our departure four days later, there really was no more that could have been done to make our break perfect. The service is completely unstintlng; pre-dinner canapés are served in the bar, while your dinner is cooked to order. There was always a surprise 'velouté' before the first course, with ingeniously varied ingredients. Don or Lindsay, or more often both, were constantly on hand, checking their guests' welfare and requirements - but all done unobtrusively. The furniture and fittings are absolutely top quality. The mattress gave me the three best nights I've ever had in a hotel. Book one of the three Garden Suites if you can - spacious, temperature controlled, spotless and quiet. Wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waytogo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
17.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing