We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly professional”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
herts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly professional”
Reviewed 10 August 2008

A weekend stay in this great hotel. Stayed in a 'Half Tester' room with fabulous bed and bathroom, immaculately clean and well equipped.

Good breakfasts, excellent evening meals. You need to be in the comfortable bar/lounge half hour before dining to order meals and are well looked after here with savoury snacks and hors-d'oeuvres.

Lovely patio area and large garden. Staff friendly and very professional. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Pricey Bar & Wine list
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinalpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    81
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
595
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Having just arrived back from the Beechwood Hotel, we cannot praise it too highly. Don, Lindsay and the staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, three cheers for the chef and his staff. Loved every minute of our long weekend away and will definately be returning in the near future. Pauline and Geoff Palmer

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortoiseshellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My wife and dog have just returned from an excellent stay at the Beechwood. The owners, Don and Lindsay made us feel totally at home from the minute we arrived.
The attention to detail is superb and the staff give a genuine welcome to all. We stayed in the 'Half-Tester' bedroom, which have a fantastic bathroom and very comfortable bed.
The set menu is to die for and my wife and I enjoyed our food on all 3 nights. The breakfast sets you up for the day and all the staff are extremely helpful if you have a query about places to visit.
All-in-all this is an ideal place to have peaceful, relaxing break at a very resonable price. This is the 5th time we have stayed here and everytime is as special as the first time.
This is our favourite hotel in the UK and we will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

This was our second short break to the Beechwood Hotel. The properietors' attention to detail and first class service on the first visit enticed us back and the second time the managment and staff lived up to our memories and expectations.

The hotel is ideally located for touring East Anglia and the staff at the Beechwood are happy to help with tips and advice on where to go and what to do, effectively tailoring their information to suite your needs.

The food at the restaurant is excellent both at night and at breakfast. Rarely do you see such quality on the breakfast buffet selection, including honeycomb and ripe fresh fruits, including passion fruit, mango, kiwi, strawberries and raspberries.

The rooms are well appointed - the large four poster and garden rooms are ultimate luxury but even the smaller rooms are good value, all elegantly furnished and finished with touches such as Molton Brown toiletries and complimentary mineral water.

These people are providing serious hospitality with serious style. If the price sounds a little high be assured that you will feel you got absolute value for money at the end of your stay.

Bravo for superb service!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Piccin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Echo the previous enthusiastic reviews, based on a three night stay in a private group for an architectural tour. In a spacious four poster room with a comfortable sofa, large bathroom provided with Molton Brown toiletries; only niggle would be that it's not so easy to read in bed when the bedsight lights compete with the bed hangings. Also - and only I suspect a problem with a 15 strong party - that the service at dinner was a bit stretched.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Spent Easter at the Beechwood Hotel. Fantastic Property.

Location: Convenient for North Norfolk, The Broads, Great Yarmouth and Norwich.

Room: We had a 4 Poster Bed Room, great size, really comfortable bed and opulently large bathroom with a fantastic victoria tub and separate large cubicle shower. Character furntiture and fresh quality furnishings. Room was well soundproofed, no disturbance from other rooms or from outside.

Hotel itself: Has character, well maintained throughout.

Dining: Beautifully laid out dining room with fantastic food. Good choice and high quality both at breakfast and dinner.

Wine List: Well laid out, good descriptions and good choice. We had 3 fantastic bottles of wine for between £25-£32.

Service: Natural service to ensure that your stay was special, I was only asked for my room number once - all the staff make a point of remembering you so that this is un-necessary. Fantastic little touches from whisking the bags up to the room before you've even noticed to the great chocolate Lindt bunny on the bed after turn-down service on Easter Sunday and the hot cross buns on arrival on Good Friday. Lots of advice on what to do during the day - quite simply the best I've experienced.

  • Liked — Quality of the room, food and the service
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We stayed here for a long weekend with a third night free - as long as we ate at the hotel - since we had eaten so well for the previous two nights this was a pleasure!
Truly delightful staff - the owners, front desk, bar and waiters/waitresses - friendly, helpful, committed and great advice on where and what to do.
The rooms are comfortable and warm with stunning pillows and shower, great bath, quiet and pleasant. The food was great, imaginative and uses local produce, the menu changes every evening and the wine list is most impressive. The location for the coast and Broads is spot on and al in all, we had an outstanding time.

  • Liked — Everything was always a pleasure, never a chore!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
488 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing