We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for two nights for my husbands 60th Birthday. From the moment we arrived the attentive staff made us very welcome. The 4 poster room was beautiful with a huge bathroom.
The hotel is decorated to a very high standard and the food was amazing with all the extra touches of canapes etc that we had not expected based on the price we paid. We would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. The owner is a delight and takes the trouble to spend time with you chatting and making sure your stay is special.

Room Tip: We chose a 4 poster garden room, it was very spacious with a lovely victorian slipper bath and huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Had been recommended this place by my parents who have been twice before and loved it both times. We visited on a Saturday eve with another couple for a birthday/engagement celebration and also loved it. It's very much a country house hotel style with a lovely bar where you can enjoy a pre-dinner drink while you peruse the menu. Very relaxed atmosphere, nice menu, good choice with a separate menu for vegetarians which was nice. Service was a good combination of formal and informal and not too intrusive as some smarter places can be but very friendly. Food was lovely, portions a good size, nicely presented and above all tasty! Not cheap but priced well considering the quality of food and service. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Rutland Arms Hotel in Bakewell, in Derbyshire, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is a traditional delight, warm welcome with open fires ! The hotel has been tastefully updated but still retains it's traditional feel. The double room was delightful, king size very comfortable bed, Jane Austen stayed but probably not in our room! Lovely modern ensuite bathroom with good amenities.The restaurant has a very good menu at reasonable prices,evening meals are available in the bar area at very competitive prices. The breakfast was top drawer, surprisingly no porridge available ! Charming & helpful staff.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel, there are rooms in an annexe.Although town centre the traffic is minimal at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Great rooms, fabulous service and brilliant food at a good price - what more do you need to know? These guys really know how to look after people!

We went with friends for a long weekend. Whilst North Walsham is not exactly Vegas it is a great base to use to reach all of the cool little place in North Norflolk.

We took advantage of the evening meal offer. The food hear is of an extremely high standard and the restaurant is always busy - so make sure you book!

Room Tip: Go for the older part of the building as the newer rooms lack the character - in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have returned from a three night break at this wonderful hotel. The service, food and staff were second to none.the rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated, the attention to detail was lovely. An added touch was the turning down of the beds in the evening whilst we were at dinner congratulations to the the chef and kitchen staff, great choices on the menu for dinner and breakfast. The best scrambled eggs I have tasted in a long time.pleny of fish and meat on the dinner menu. I will certainly return as the owners could not do enough for us. Also superb value for money.

Room Tip: The small rooms are comfortable but on my return I will upgrade as the bathroom was a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Found this Hotel after reading the reviews on this site and must say all the good ones are correct.
Stayed for 3 nights and our room was cosy and comfortable.
The owners/ staff were excellent and the food was good second to none.
Really peaceful time spent there will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dannio92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent family meal - good wine, service and atmosphere. Friendly staff even though most of the diners for the evening arrived within 1/2 hour of each other the service stayed efficiently un-rushed but prompt. Good choice on the menu and full or part portions were offered if you did not want to much to eat. Special requests also catered for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roykivaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
960 reviews
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
669 reviews
13.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £47 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing