We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top personalised service”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We spent 2 wonderful nights at the Beechwood. From the moment we phoned up to ask for directions when we were late on Friday driving up from London to the moment we said goodbye on Sunday afternoon, we were greeted by enthusiastic, accomodating and very relaxed personal service from Lindsay, Don and their team.

Nothing is too much trouble for the Beechwood. Each member of staff was chatty and eager to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Beds were extremely comfortable and rooms traditional but stylish. The best part of our stay was definitely the food. The quality of ingredients and ingenuity of the menu is up there with many top London restaurants. Make sure you eat as early as you can to make room for the topnotch breakfast the next morning - can thoroughly recommend the smoked haddock! Little touches like amuses bouches, and a chat with the chef while retiring to the lounge for coffee set this place apart from the norm.

Lindsay and Don, these touches dont go unnoticed. We will be back very soon. All in all fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2008

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Beechwood Hotel and what a pleasure it was to stay there. We booked ourselves the four poster room which comprised of a seating area and large bathroom with free standing bath. The room as well as the whole hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. I would certainly recommend the hotel restaurant. We ate there both nights and the food was superb. They also change the menu each night. Can't wait to go back and would certainly recommend it to other Trip Advisor readers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shellandsteve71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Stayed at the Beechwood Hotel for the first time on 1st August, 08
a birthday treat. Can't wait to go back...even though we only live les than 50 miles away..The attention to detail, hospitality and friendliness second to none. We had home made scones and tea with all the trimmings in the garden on arrival, on the house. Most definately one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we have been in a few!
My husband is in a wheelchair and room 1, was superb, so much room in the bedroom and the bathroom. Great 'wet-room' shower and I had a bath! A free standing slipper bath and thats very unusual with wheelchair rooms. Beautiful furniture and surroundings, and Lindsey and Don gave all the guests and a few dogs, a genuine warm and personal welcome. We would so recommend this hotel, a great find for us to go back to, on special occasions of course.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

A weekend stay in this great hotel. Stayed in a 'Half Tester' room with fabulous bed and bathroom, immaculately clean and well equipped.

Good breakfasts, excellent evening meals. You need to be in the comfortable bar/lounge half hour before dining to order meals and are well looked after here with savoury snacks and hors-d'oeuvres.

Lovely patio area and large garden. Staff friendly and very professional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardinalpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Having just arrived back from the Beechwood Hotel, we cannot praise it too highly. Don, Lindsay and the staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent, three cheers for the chef and his staff. Loved every minute of our long weekend away and will definately be returning in the near future. Pauline and Geoff Palmer

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TortoiseshellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My wife and dog have just returned from an excellent stay at the Beechwood. The owners, Don and Lindsay made us feel totally at home from the minute we arrived.
The attention to detail is superb and the staff give a genuine welcome to all. We stayed in the 'Half-Tester' bedroom, which have a fantastic bathroom and very comfortable bed.
The set menu is to die for and my wife and I enjoyed our food on all 3 nights. The breakfast sets you up for the day and all the staff are extremely helpful if you have a query about places to visit.
All-in-all this is an ideal place to have peaceful, relaxing break at a very resonable price. This is the 5th time we have stayed here and everytime is as special as the first time.
This is our favourite hotel in the UK and we will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

This was our second short break to the Beechwood Hotel. The properietors' attention to detail and first class service on the first visit enticed us back and the second time the managment and staff lived up to our memories and expectations.

The hotel is ideally located for touring East Anglia and the staff at the Beechwood are happy to help with tips and advice on where to go and what to do, effectively tailoring their information to suite your needs.

The food at the restaurant is excellent both at night and at breakfast. Rarely do you see such quality on the breakfast buffet selection, including honeycomb and ripe fresh fruits, including passion fruit, mango, kiwi, strawberries and raspberries.

The rooms are well appointed - the large four poster and garden rooms are ultimate luxury but even the smaller rooms are good value, all elegantly furnished and finished with touches such as Molton Brown toiletries and complimentary mineral water.

These people are providing serious hospitality with serious style. If the price sounds a little high be assured that you will feel you got absolute value for money at the end of your stay.

Bravo for superb service!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Piccin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
964 reviews
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
673 reviews
13.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,229 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £47 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing