We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

For food lovers 'a must', wonderful local fresh produce cooked to an excellent standard with a varied wine list to accompany food, budget and palate.
A relaxing peaceful environment and comfortable accommodation, our room was in the boutique house next door so.can't comment on the main house. Small room in size, however a beautifully appointed lounge was available for sitting to read or relax..
The room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and top class bathroom. The staff whilst young were professional, friendly, helpful and polite a great asset to this hotel.
Would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TRACY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    74
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
549
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent a lovely time at this hotel for my husband’s birthday at the end of April 2014. From the moment we arrived and a young man came out and collected our suitcases, booking in with the helpful receptionist everything went well. Our room was in the annexe, a good size which was beautifully and tastefully decorated. Loved the claw foot bath. Food was excellent. Lindsay, one of the owners, was helpful when I was trying to decide what to choose off the locally sourced menu. Food was delicious and served by the young man who took our cases and the receptionist – both smiling all the time and very attentive. After a restful night’s sleep in the comfy bed we had breakfast. I had a kipper for breakfast which was the best I’ve ever had anywhere. My husband had the ‘full English’ which he said was great. Had a walk round the garden at the hotel and it was so peaceful and well maintained. Don, one of the owners, gave advice on local areas of interest whilst checking out. Everyone working at the hotel was courteous, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely return. There are no bad points. Other hotels should aspire to the service provided at The Beechwood Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hickling room in the annexe and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A brilliant hotel excellent rooms food and really nice helpful staff. We were a group of five couples very old friends and we meet up in various parts of the UK every couple of years- this hotel was the best yet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powellnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for a night as a birthday treat from my great wife. Hotel has a lovely warm feel and you are made to feel very welcome. On arrival our bags were taken and we were shown to our room, the room not big but was very well decorated and the finishings were of a high quality, the bathroom had a bath and a shower which you don't get to often and again high quality finishings.
We went back to the bar area and were served afternoon cream tea, with home made scones which were very nice.
We had our table booked for 7:45 on the evening and went for pre-dinner drinks and were offered a glass of champagne as part of the package, which we hadn't realised so that was a really nice touch. The owners are very friendly and try to talk to everyone which is a very nice touch, on check out we talked again with the owner for about 20 minutes!
We had a set 3 course meal as well as canapés while in the bar area and a pre starter soup which was really good. For started I had the prawn, fish cake with egg and it tasted great. Main course was beef fillet which was cooked perfect and the jus was so tasty. Dessert was a chocolate cake with ice cream all home made.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

First stay at the Beechwood for us and it did not disappoint.
The room was not in the hotel itself but next door annexe.....but ...bed was king-size and the bathroom superb.
The service excellent and the food marvellous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night with our young dog recently. From the outset, we were made to feel welcome. There was a genuinely dog friendly atmosphere, which helped us relax and enjoy our stay.

We had booked a small room, but the room we were actually put in was a great size, with beautiful furnishings and good quality (Molton Brown) toiletries.

In the evenings, we ate in the restaurant as our room was booked with a reasonable dinner package. I noted I was pregnant and a vegetarian and every effort was made to accommodate me, there was a vegetarian menu and they also served 'pregnancy friendly' canapés and reassured me about the courses I'd picked. Fantastic. The food was excellent, imaginative and the service faultless. My partner had meat dishes and thoroughly enjoyed everything too. Breakfast was delicious, good quality ingredients cooked to order and the decaf coffee...wow.

We certainly hope to come back. This sets an authentic best practice standard and I fear we will compare all other hotels now to the high bar set by The Beechwood. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoners1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

When asked to review an hotel in my home town the only choice was the Beechwood, a lovely country hotel in well kept gardens, the food is always excellent with a varied menu usually using locally sourced food, we have eaten at the Beechwood as a couple, with family and friends and also for small private gatherings, it doesn't seem to matter what your requirements are nothing is too much trouble for the owners Don Birch and Lindsay Spalding.

Room Tip: The rooms with French windows onto the garden are a touch of luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sysolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
17.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing