We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel and service, you will not want to leave!”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“First class hotel and service, you will not want to leave!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

There is no finer place to stay than the Beechwood, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are in such welcoming and safe hands it is a real pleasure to stay there. I loved it so much I extended my stay by an extra night.

Complimentary tea and scones on arrival.

Initially I had a fabulous elegant room in the main building overlooking the gardens, with a four poster bed that is quite possibly one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in! Huge bathroom with slipper bath and large shower and complimentary toiletries. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room plus a complimentary bottle of water.

For the extra last night I was in the additional accommodation in the other building and in a smaller modern room which was very comfortable.

Amazing food, a large menu with daily specials and other options, preceded by appetisers and pre starters, petit fours and coffee all included in the dinner menu price. Excellent quality buffet and cooked breakfast. I have seen the comments made about the cost of drinks but think that the cost was reasonable for the variety and quality of wines and spirits.

The owners Don and Lindsay and all the team are extremely friendly and efficient and will happily recommend places to visit and things to do and help you with whatever you need.

I highly recommend, I would definitely like to return to Norfolk and would not choose anywhere else to stay other than the Beechwood.

Room Tip: Room 6 was a fantastic size room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    81
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
597
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I took my Mum to the Beechwood hotel last week and we had a lovely time. Everything was just great : food was wonderful; rooms beautiful; service was friendly and efficient; garden peaceful; other guests were also very friendly.

All in all we loved it and will be back soon

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SWestons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had stayed here in 2003 and always intended to return. So glad we did! It was even better than the last time. All staff were welcoming and helpful during the entire visit. The room was very comfortable and being able to step out into the beautiful garden was a treat. Dinner was a series of delights and the wine list was diverse, reasonably priced and a perfect match for the menu. After dinner we watched shooting stars at the back of the garden. There's plenty to do in the area - Happisburgh beach, the Old Vicarage gardens in East Ruston and the Cat Pottery to mention a few. Can't wait to go back - and this time it won't be an 11 year wait.

Room Tip: The generator in the garden does make some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller8828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex uk
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. The welcome was warm and we were showed to our room. Room was very clean and beds were comfortable. Tea and. Coffee making facilities in room, TV and free wifi. Staff were helpful and polite. The food was well presented and well cooked. Service in restaurant was pretty much perfect. Overall great hotel , a bit dated but didn't matter would definatley stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koala1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The welcome and high level of service here is excellent.The food is of a very high standard and the menu has so many lovely choices.It is excellent value for money given all the included extras.
My husband and mother both have restricted mobility restaurant is all on one level very suitable.Will be returning one of the best restaurants in Norfolk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank je4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife booked a stay at Beachwood for my 50th birthday and could not have picked a better place.
From the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant and could not have made us more welcome. The room was large and very comfortable and the four poster bed amazing!
We had diner in the hotel and the food and service were to the same standard as the rest of the hotel. My only small issue is what has been mentioned in other reviews, the price of the drink!
It should be very possible to have a very drinkable house wine for £10-12.
I will be going back and will recommend to friends

Room Tip: Room 5 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. The hosts were amazing and the food matched perfectly. Plate Presentation was perfect, a real feast for your eyes, as well as tummy!
Really good value for money, great atmosphere. Will be visiting again !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
489 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,114 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing