We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gloomy bedrooms”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gloomy bedrooms”
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I have just returned from a three night stay at Beechwood. The food was excellent - imaginative and well prepared. The wine list whilst short, was sufficient and reasonably priced.
The staff were all very good.
But, and it is a big BUT, I was not prepared for the rather dim bedrooms, with their dark brown furniture and heavy and somber curtains, counterpanes and bed head hangings - they were rather gloomy. In fact they whole hotel, including the bar and public rooms were on the dark side with lots of dark brown leather and wood - all lit by 15 watt bulbs! The bar was empty by 10 p.m.
The dining room was a little better, once you got used to the many large photos of Agatha Christie peering down at you from the walls.
Whilst the hotel obviously appeals to older clientele - 60/70/80, even a 90 year old - the bathrooms do not reflect this, Very Victorian, with nice showers and free standing bathes, but not a hand hold in sight - all style, no practicality.
The location is regrettable. Walk a couple of hundred yards one way along an uninspiring local road, to the town centre. North Walsham was looking rather tired and neglected before the credit crunch. There was some activity round the fish and chip shop. From the litter round the town Cross - a sort of bandstand - the chippie obviously does good business. It is not a tourist centre.
Walk half a mile along the same road in the opposite direction and you come to a sort of by-pass - and that's it! You do need a car to escape North Walsham.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarrieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    76
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
559
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We have stayed here on several occasions over the past 5 years, choosing it entirely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We have had a wonderful experience, everything living up to expectation, so it was about time we wrote a review. Don and Lindsay, the owners, couldn't do more to make you feel at home, they are charming hosts and if you return. The hotel and rooms are immaculate, decorated tastefully to fit in with the period of the building. We have stayed in both the half-tester and garden / four-poster rooms and they have all been excellent: large, extremely comfortable with gorgeous little extras. The Garden Rooms are wonderful, huge rooms more akin to a suite, very comfortable large four-poster beds, massive bathrooms with a gorgeous free-standing "slipper" baths and separate showers, Molton Brown toiletries naturally too! (For balance the half-tester was a lovely room too, huge roll top bath and separate shower.) Nothing is too much trouble for the staff: tea and cakes in the afternoon when you arrive in the cosy bar, and evening meals are wonderful, high quality ingredients, perfectly cooked and presented, definitely fine dining, many courses culminating in coffee and freshly prepared chocolates (the St. Valentine's Day dinners are historic). Breakfast is the icing on the cake, masses of fresh fruit and locally sourced produce, superb continental and cooked options. This hotel truly gives 5 star service for a truly relaxing break and we will definitely return again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The Beechwood has to be one of my favourite small hotels ever!

The staff are wonderful, friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are tasteful, comfortable, clean and a lot of thought has gone into the detail - something that the big chains very often overlook. The beds are superbly huge and have the most amazing pillows. The bathrooms are spacious with roll top baths, great showers and supplied with a full range of Molton Brown products.

Rooms on the ground floor have access to a private patio leading onto the gardens.

Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Norfolk.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We have just got back from a family trip to the Beechwood and as ever it was perfect. Don and Lindsay run a wonderful hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We had read the reviews on here from other guests and had high expectations which were met on our stay. A very friendly welcome is sustained throughout your visit. Beautiful, comfortable rooms (we had the 4 poster) and excellent food and wine at dinner. This wonderful small hotel has a real personal touch that sets it apart. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SXK526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I've stayed here twice on overnighters for business purposes and always think it's just the kind of place I should come back to for a leisure break. The welcome is warm, polite, friendly and just what one could wish for. Service is pleasant, helpful and efficient - you get the impression that nothing is too much trouble and the staff would do anything to make sure your stay is perfect. The room I've stayed in (roomw 11) is spacious, full of character and has all the facilities needed. The mattresses are divine - so comfortable! Breakfast is yummy and impressive in its local sourcing of ingredients. I've yet to have dinner - but the cheese and pickle sandwich is a treat. I really rate this place - it's one of those hidden little gems and a real credit to everyone who works there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Just spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in the Garden Room. Four poster bed and slipper bath. Staff, Don and Lindsay were so hospitable. The place was spotless. Food was lovely. We have stayed in many hotels in this country (4 and 5 star) and this is the best treatment we have ever had. They think of so many nice little touches. We had canapes before dinner each evening. Beds pulled down of an evening when you get back from dinner. Every member of staff was very friendly and pleasant. We were celebrating our 24th Wedding anniversary and they surprised us with a small anniversary cake and candle. You can rest assured that you would feel so comfortable here. Nobody is too intrusive. The bar is pleasant, although my husband would have liked the bar to be open more often during the day. (But hey, he is a boozer!). The breakfast and dinners were delicious. We even got to talk to the chef on Saturday evening. THIS IS A FIVE STAR SERVICE HOTEL. We shall definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
17.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing