We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Autumn Break at Peregrine Barn”
Front of Barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Barns
Living Area 4 Poster Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Front of Barns
Living Area
4 Poster Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Wet Room
Front Gardens
Winter Sunbathers
Rookery Barn Holidays Wild Flower Meadow where we keep the bees.
Barns in the Winter
Owl from the Hot tub
Taking photos in the winter at Salthouse.
Seal Watchers at Horsey see details in book.
Early Autumn the return of the Pinkfoot Geece - their flightpath goes right over the barns.
Children playing in the mud at low tide in Blackeney
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Walsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
trindy
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Autumn Break at Peregrine Barn”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

First impressions are of a clean, well equipped holiday home, with ample room for 4 adults and a dog. If we had been a bigger party we would have preferred to stay in Kestrel Barn.
Good location for exploring both the coast and the broads with the help of all the useful information in Peregrine.
It is within walking distance of the beach either by lane or footpath across the fields, it seemed a bit more than 600 metres either way.
Surprised that there were no shaver sockets in the bathrooms, and at the wobbly toilet seat in the wet room (mentioned to Ken), our only real negative comments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: nothing in particular
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your comments - glad you had a good break with us maybe we will see you all again in the future.

Kind regards
Ken & Nicola
RBHolidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carole036
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Relaxed and happy”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Just returned from a four day break at The Rookery Barns, the barn was spotlessly clean,warm and comfortable, the hot tub was an added bonus. The barn is well equipped with dvds, books and board games should you need them.
Ken and Nicola were close by if they were needed,
Kens information on where to see the seals was fantastic, well worth a visit, we found parking in the pub car park the best option,on return the cool drink was lovely, the lunch we had there was good too.
The beach,local pub and shops are within walking distance of the barn.
Having stayed in the Walcott area, for a few holidays recently, we found Rookery Barns to be one of the best accomadations we have stayed in, and look forward to returning next year.
Thank you Ken and Nicola for your hospitality (and the apples).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location,accomadation
Liked least: nothing we didnt like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments - we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Regards Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discernin...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good location, clean & well cared for accommodation”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We chose this property for several reasons including proximity to the beach, the number of rooms available to an extended family group and the fact that it was all on one level taking into account we were travelling with an infant and a senior citizen.Also there was the novelty appeal of the hot tub which was enjoyed by our group on several evenings after a busy day at the beach or out and about touring.The holiday was generally a positive experience for us all but with one or two minor shortcomings.The property is clean and well managed with good quality fixtures and fittings and the location was also just right for our needs.There were a couple of issues of which the owners are aware. One of these does appear difficult to overcome as the advertised wi-fi does not accommodate Apple products at all and other devices struggle to maintain connectivity despite the best efforts of the owners to rectify.Also if you plan to do a lot of self catering you will need to shop daily as the fridge provided is not large enough to store a weeks food shopping. The owners have advised us that this will be rectified during their next refurbishment. All in all a pleasant stay...and we were blessed with a week of sunshine too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Poor/limited wi-fi & small fridge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments.
The Broadband speeds are not good in Norfolk, especially in the country side. The situation is worse this year with a record number of visitors staying in our lovely county. It would appear that every family member has their own device from 4 year olds with their phones to the retired with their pads. The WiFi is only as good as the BT Line coming in. However we do mange to run our own business over the broadband service provided. Norfolk has received a government grant to improve our Broadband Service over the next 3 years.
The fridge is an integrated 117ltr with a 19ltr freezer box total 136ltrs – a standard size. However we do appreciate that it would not have the capacity for a Super Market delivery of a 7 day shop for 6 fully self-catering guests. A previous guest reviewed they only needed to ask us and we made available space in our freezer for the 7 loaves of bread they had delivered and could not get in the freezer compartment? There is a convenience store a short walk away that is open all hours, fresh local vegetables on sale 50 yds away.There are 4 supermarkets within 4 miles.

Thank you for the feedback - Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation - Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great place to stay if you don't want to be in the centre of things. Just a short walk to the peaceful (dog friendly) beach of Walcott. The accommodation is in a very quiet and tranquil setting but within easy access of more lively resorts if that's what you want.

We loved the beach at Walcott, Happisburg and Horsey and the woods at Bacton and Sheringam Park. Mundesley in nice for the kids, crazy golf, skate park and playground plus the lifeguard on the beach and surf lessons.

Our dog had a lovely time too although to be honest we didn't realise we were not allowed to leave her in the accommodation on her own until the day we arrived (I didn't read the small print before booking). Having said that it didn't stop us doing the things we wanted to - she just tagged along. If we came again it might be helpful to know about local dog sitters or kennels where we could leave her for the day if needed.

The accommodation was very clean and well equipped. The four poster was a bit wasted on us - I would have preferred a kingsize bed instead as we are both quite tall. The beds were also a bit creaky when you turn over at night but in fairness I never sleep well when I'm not at home! Loved the big bath and the water pressure in the shower was great. Mind the metal strip in the wet room though - stubbed my toe a couple of times on that.

The kitchen was really well equipped - I only have one real negative comment and that was the size of the fridge and freezer box. There were really only 2 useable shelves in the fridge. There were some salad boxes at the bottom but you couldn't get those open without taking everything out on the shelf above. Also the freezer was just a freezer box in the top of the fridge. I'm sure people who eat out every day on holiday would have no problem with the lack of space in the fridge but for us we have a son with special dietary requirements so tend to cook our own food on holiday and therefore really need a family sized fridge and freezer. Having said that Nicola was very accommodating and let us use a drawer in her own personal freezer.

The only other disappointment for the kids and my husband was the poor internet connection - the fact that there was free wifi advertised at the property was one of the reasons my husband chose this accommodation, however, we really only got it to work on one day. I did not have a problem with this but just be warned - it is very rural and therefore not a high speed connection by any means.

Overall though a great time and Ken and Nicola were very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hot Tub
Liked least: Size of the Fridge and length of the bed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you all had an enjoyable holiday with us.

Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul-pw
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A real escape to the country but also by the beach...”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a wonderful week on holiday here in lovely weather. It was spotlessly clean on arrival; this is a high quality barn conversion in a light modern open plan living style.
The patio doors open onto a good sized decked area that leads to a hot tub and then a stone patio with gas BBQ and dining table.
This was well used due to us having fantastic weather, after a hot day out an hour in the hot tub followed by a lazy BBQ was just perfect for our needs.
The outdoor space was well positioned to get the sun just about all day and into early evening.
Inside there was also a good selection of recent DVDs to watch and some books and games.
There is ample space for two or more cars.

The owners were friendly, lived nearby and met us on arrival so it was easy to ask any questions. I would definitely recommend this property, the location is ideal, it is close to the Broads and quiet beaches of Norfolk yet the traditional seaside bustle of Cromer and Great Yarmouth are within half hours drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Many thanks for this review was pleased you all had a good holiday with us. Its always nice to receive such positive comments makes all the hard work worthwhile - we hope to see you all again in the future.
Kind regards Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S
Basingstoke
1 review
“Excellently equipped”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Ken and Nicola's attention to detail is very good. The welcome pack and flowers together with the personal welcome gave us a very good start to our holiday. This well equipped barn is situated in an ideal position to explore Norfolk. Ken was very accommodating about checking the hot tub to suit our timings. We had a very relaxing time, the items in the cottage were of high quality. We would like to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
Hi to to all

Many thanks for you very kind comments its great to hear that our guests have had a great holiday at Rookery Barns. We appreciate all comments and feed back and look forward to welcoming you all again in the near future.

Regards Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Holiday & Great accommodation”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first time we have visited Norfolk & this accommodation. We had a lovely time, the location, the barn and the places we visited were all brilliant.

Plenty to do & the barn is ideally located near the beach and local amenities & is of a very high std.

Ken & Nicola were very welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay. The hot tub was an added bonus and the welcoming basket with tea/coffee/bread/butter etc was a lovely welcoming touch.

We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub & Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
Hi - Many thanks for your kind comments we are very please that you had a good holiday with us and look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$131
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing