We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After all the recommendations, I expected better.”

The Smokey Grill House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: New
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After all the recommendations, I expected better.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The restaurant was quite quiet when I visited. The food was ok, I do think there could be more of a variety for children. The service was good although as it was quiet I felt like I was being watched continuously.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great night”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

thoroughly nice well cooked meal, steaks cooked exactly to order, friendly staff and sizzling pud is very much recommend. A better wine list would be appreciated

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneMP2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

what a fabulous meal we had at the smokey grill house,which led us to return again and again,we are now on our 5th visit,run by a lovely family fantastic atmosphere,fantastic food and really good prices,very highly recommended especially as when we go we have with us one of the fussiest people I know to feed,but he loves going there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit of a Micky Mouse operation.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Went in for a birthday meal about 20 of us, a lot to cater for and food did come out reasonably together. I had mixed grill which were very nice. Anyone who had burgers complained they were like eating Frozen ones from Iceland, I tried a bit, horrible. Value for money is there but attitude of staff and the atmosphere needs to change. It literally feels like a daytime cafe. Had to order drinks at a 'bar'. Barman told one girl 'next time try paying with something smaller as I don't have change' the other telling my wife to bring the tray back when she's finished. No smiles, not very good service, food average for most people. I wouldn't recommend or in recommend. If you want simple cheap food it's ok. Possibly not somewhere you'd go on a date. Needs better organisation, staff looked confused most of the time. Cheer up!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blagaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really impressed! Didnt go expecting much but was amazing!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Went to this restaurant Saturday night and honestly couldn't believe how good it is!!! Didn't go expecting to much as I very rarely eat out in North Walsham but the meal was amazing! myself and my partner both had the 8oz steak and it was huge for the money, come with chips, salad, mushrooms, sauce and tomatoes and the steak wasn't fatty and was cooked brilliantly! Highly recommend and would defo go again!!!! GREAT value for money, all the food was great including starter and dessert!! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smokey Grill House also viewed

 
North Walsham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Smokey Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing