We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, peaceful break at Acorn Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Acorn Cottage

Main entrance and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance and patio
Acorn Cottage Patio under cover section
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Main entrance and patio
Acorn Cottage
Patio under cover section
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bedroom
Kitchen
North Walsham market day
Cart Gap Beach in Aug 2014
Springtime in Bacton Woods
Footpath alongside Dilham Canal
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Walsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
792Peter
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely, peaceful break at Acorn Cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Acorn Cottage over half-term. It was a lovely, peaceful location. The cottage is warm and cosy, with everything you needed for a few days away. The shops are local and within walking distance. The walk through woods to the beach is well recommended - was breathtaking and beautiful. The air defence museum, although it did not look much on arrival was amazing! Three very knowledgeable ex-servicemen took us through air defence from World War 2 to the present day - at £6 per adult, a bargain! It was a shame that some shops seem to be closing down locally. We live in a village and value our local shops very much. A sign of the times I suppose. What wonderful bargains in Lidl! Many thanks for the tea/coffee and cake waiting for us on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: restaurants
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matildasa...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ideal for short break”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for the last weekend of August in this clean, comfortable and well-equipped cottage. Very nice to have tea, coffee and home-made buns on arrival! Ideally situated for the coast and visiting Norwich as described in other reviews. I have somewhat limited mobility, but I'm walking and the cottage was definitely suitable for me. There is a step into the cottage but once inside all is completely flat and easily navigated on foot. The wet room has no steps or uneven surfaces inside. We couldn't tell that dogs had stayed there so it's obviously very well cleaned. We'd stay here again if we were in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, very thoughtful self-catering provisions everywhere and tea etc on arrival
Liked least: elderly kitchen utensils but we had enough for our limited cooking at the weekend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage, good for pets, good location for exploring the broads”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Acorn cottage in North Walsham. It's a lovely well equiped annex, with ample room for us and our two dogs, we were very comfortable. The garden is a good size and very secure. There is a nice park 5 minutes walk from the cottage for the dogs and Bacton Wood is a 10 minute drive and well worth going to. We were made very welcome by our hosts Janet and Roger and there was tea, cofffee and milk left for us on our arrival. The cottage is a 5 to 10 minute walk to the town centre, which has all the shops you need. Acorn cottage is a good base for exploring the Broads and surrounding area. We visited many places including Sheringham and took a ride on the Poppy line to Holt (dogs allowed). At Wroxham there is the Broads, Roys and the Bure Valley Railway. Lots of pubs are dog friendly so it was never a problem finding somwhere to eat. We had a good week and would certainly book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - close to shops and facilities
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing