We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night having attended a concert nearby.
The hotel is a little dated but that added to its charm. I was a single occupant (travelling with a friend but both having our own rooms) and was given a lovely double room (unusual for a single traveller as usually we are stuck in a "cupboard" at the back of the hotel).
The beds were comfy and cozy. The room/bathroom spotless (room a little dusty, but not a problem and very up to date tv,), with lovely big white towels and the staff went out of their way to be accommodating, especially as my (our) arrival after the concert was late.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent with a wide choice and again with the staff going out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed.
So, would thoroughly recommend this hotel for an overnight or longer, and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Scarborough Hill. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We have sourced some excellent local produce including quality sausages and bacon from a local butcher and some delicious jams made at a farm nearby.

I hope that we can welcome you to Scarborough Hill again in the future.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Visiting North Walsham to attend a family funeral, we had booked into the Scarborough Hill Hotel for one night. The approach to the hotel was idyllic - beautifully positioned in an elevated woodland setting with Spring flowers and sunshine showing the hotel to good advantage.

Our double bedroom was adequately sized, and although attractively decorated, the wallpaper was tired and peeling in places. As another reviewer has mentioned, the paint on the inside of the windows was grotty. The bed was very uncomfortable and we spent a very bad night there.

Having to go off to the funeral we didn't spend time looking at the bathroom, but wish we had. It was awful! Avocado toilet and bath, different basin, torn lino on floor, black mould on the pipework, walls and tiles .... really awful.

There were water stains everywhere - on the ceiling outside the bedroom, in the ladies' toilets, etc.

We had thought this was a 4* hotel, but when talking to the chap on the desk on checkout he said it was a "Country Inn" not a hotel, so different standards applied. He was a "one-man-band" - serving in the breakfast room, cooking the breakfast as the chef had rung in sick, and on the reception desk as well.

We complained about the state of the bathroom, and he said that they were due to be renovated very soon, and that we should have said before and they would have put us in a better room. We explained about having to leave without examining it first, and he did give a discount on the agreed price. However, they really shouldn't put anyone in this room until it has been totally renovated, and if they had had a better room, why didn't they put us in there in the first place?

The hotel has huge potential - it's very old, with creaky floorboards, full of character, reasonable bar, nice big conservatory for breakfast etc. in beautiful grounds, but does need some money spent on it to bring it up to standard.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't have a room with an old bathroom, decoration circa 1970s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear Dena E,

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned Scarborough Hill is in a beautiful position and the driveway looks especially pretty in the spring when the daffodils are out.

We have taken over at Scarborough Hill this week and are so keen to build on the potential that you have recognised. We have already painted the toilets and refurbished one of the older bathrooms. Another one is being done as I write and two more (including the one you stayed in) are being completed at the beginning of June.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Scarborough Hill in the future.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a traditional country hotel in a quiet location and, like many converted old houses, this has plenty of character and charm.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the prices are very reasonable. Some of the decor is a bit "tired", but there appear to be refurbishments in progress and the rooms are clean.

The food is mostly traditional British: good, but nothing you couldn't have cooked at home yourself. There is selection of good local beers but the house wine is only average quality.

Overall a good place to stay if you're looking for a traditional country hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is currently being refurbished so should be nice when finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We loved staying at this hotel in the Lord Nelson Suite for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We found all of the staff to be very helpful especially as I was arranging the surprise for my husband. The rooms were very clean and well presented and the hotel is set in attractive grounds. We dined in the the conservatory restaurant and were very surprised at the quality considering there was only 2 other couples staying that night. We had a starter and the carvery and everything was very tasty, looked good and not over cooked. We will definitely be returning as the cooked breakfasts were excellent and tasted fantastic. The only minus is that the hotel is a bit out of the way so if you have a drink with dinner you will need a taxi as there is not much locally.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandLou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have never stayed at the Hotel but often go for lunch as they offer a good Carvery at a very reasonable price. Nice Conservatory dining room in very nice grounds. Also good venue for a wedding. On the minus side there always seems to be a change of staff so no continuity

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgeman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

If you like the sanitised, homogenised, boring same old, same old national chain of hotels ( the ones that Lennie Henry likes) then don't bother coming to Scarborough Hill Hotel.

On the other hand if you like quirky, individual with a certain charm and individuality then this is the place for you. It's in a wonderful location where you can wake up to bird song and have n early morning stroll around the grounds. The atmosphere in the bars is great with sofas, real fires and real ales. The food was good and offered excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating for the needs of my dad who has Parkinson's.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsie-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after previously visiting for the superb Sunday carvery and found the location very convenient for visiting family.
We came up with very little notice for a family funeral and we were put up with no fuss no bother, which was very much appreciated at a very stressful time.
The hotel is a very attractive building with plenty of parking and in a lovely setting.
The staff we had dealings with were very professional.
When in Norfolk we had stayed previously at the Sea Marge ( see my review) and we were not especially happy with it, if and when we come up again we will definitely stay here.
Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
910 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
223 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
513 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £71 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing