We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hoyel very quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“lovely hoyel very quaint”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

hi we have just spent a weekend at scarborough hill country inn was very nice small room but just nice for 2 very clean lovely staff nice surroundings outside would go again the only thing that i did not like is that the dining room which is a massive conservertory which is also very nice is set up for breakfast of an evening time which is fine but the butter for breakfast the next day is left out on the side uncovered so any flies that are trapped in can have a feast overnite so when we were asked did we want butter at breakfast the answer was definatley NO by the way breakfast was fab without the butter of course

Room Tip: we were in room 2 but i dont think you will go wrong anywhere in this hotel we were pretty much abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannybx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Jannybx,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Scarborough Hill. Regarding your comments on the butter, it is certainly not standard practice for butter to be left out overnight. We have spoken to all staff members and they were not aware of any instances where this has happened but please accept our apologies if there was an oversight when you stayed.

We hope you choose to stay at Scarborough Hill should you visit Norfolk again in the future. Please contact me directly if you are coming this way and I will be pleased to offer you a room upgrade if we have one available.

With best regards,
Ian Howlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    80
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
55
110
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for the Saturday night, as needed a base for a workshop being held in North Walsham. Beautiful setting as we came up the drive, and we were made very welcome on check in by the reception staff. Very helpful, in organising taxis for us to get us out and back again, and even text information to us during the evening.

Nothing was too much trouble, and all requests greeted with a smile. All the staff were extremely hard working, and turn their hands to everything.

The hotel was lovely and quiet. The twin room was perfectly adequate for our short stay, with tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Some of the rooms are going through refurbishment, but again, there was no impact on our stay from this. New owners, doing a good job on improving the facilities. Lovely comfortable bed. TV in room, which we did not use, but if that is your 'cup of tea' you are catered for!

We had the 'carvery' before going out, and again, nothing was too much trouble. Very good food, and lots of it, served out in the conservatory. Breakfast again was great. Self service coffee, and big selection of teas available. Buffet style cereals, jams and conserves. Toast to the table. Full english breakfast was lovely, with a choice on 'egg' selection. Other options for breakfast available too, so should suit everyone.

Cosy little bar area for a night cap, with a great range of drink available, so should be something for everyone's taste.

Grounds have adequate parking, and there is a marquee available for hire for weddings etc.

All in all the staff made our trip extremely pleasant, we will be back, and would recommend a stay here.

Thank you Ian and your staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herts1HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Herts1HappyTraveller,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. The primary aim of all of the staff at Scarborough Hill is for our guests to have a wonderful stay and we always try to do whatever we can to make this happen. I am pleased that in this instance we have succeeded and I hope that we will be able to welcome you to Scarborough Hill again in the future.

I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I am sure they will be delighted.

Best regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night, with a friend, while attending a day/evening event in North Walsham. From the minute we arrived we were greeted by extremely friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us and this was carried through until we checked out on Sunday morning. Our twin room was perfectly pleasant, overlooking the lovely wooded garden, and although the bathroom was a little tired we understand that this is due to be refurbished. (However, we actually loved the 'piggy' tiles). A substantial breakfast was taken in the lovely conservatory, with good quality ingredients and staff were eager to show flexibility in your choice.
Overall, we had a delightful stay and would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Joy W,

Thank you for your kind words about the staff and your stay at Scarborough Hill. Since taking over at the end of May we have worked hard to make improvements and refurbishment will be continuing in the rooms and the public areas.

The piggy tiles are certainly a bit different and as most people seem to like them perhaps they can stay for a while!

We look forward to welcoming you to Scarborough Hill in the future.

Best regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night having attended a concert nearby.
The hotel is a little dated but that added to its charm. I was a single occupant (travelling with a friend but both having our own rooms) and was given a lovely double room (unusual for a single traveller as usually we are stuck in a "cupboard" at the back of the hotel).
The beds were comfy and cozy. The room/bathroom spotless (room a little dusty, but not a problem and very up to date tv,), with lovely big white towels and the staff went out of their way to be accommodating, especially as my (our) arrival after the concert was late.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent with a wide choice and again with the staff going out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed.
So, would thoroughly recommend this hotel for an overnight or longer, and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Scarborough Hill. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We have sourced some excellent local produce including quality sausages and bacon from a local butcher and some delicious jams made at a farm nearby.

I hope that we can welcome you to Scarborough Hill again in the future.

Best regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaiza, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Visiting North Walsham to attend a family funeral, we had booked into the Scarborough Hill Hotel for one night. The approach to the hotel was idyllic - beautifully positioned in an elevated woodland setting with Spring flowers and sunshine showing the hotel to good advantage.

Our double bedroom was adequately sized, and although attractively decorated, the wallpaper was tired and peeling in places. As another reviewer has mentioned, the paint on the inside of the windows was grotty. The bed was very uncomfortable and we spent a very bad night there.

Having to go off to the funeral we didn't spend time looking at the bathroom, but wish we had. It was awful! Avocado toilet and bath, different basin, torn lino on floor, black mould on the pipework, walls and tiles .... really awful.

There were water stains everywhere - on the ceiling outside the bedroom, in the ladies' toilets, etc.

We had thought this was a 4* hotel, but when talking to the chap on the desk on checkout he said it was a "Country Inn" not a hotel, so different standards applied. He was a "one-man-band" - serving in the breakfast room, cooking the breakfast as the chef had rung in sick, and on the reception desk as well.

We complained about the state of the bathroom, and he said that they were due to be renovated very soon, and that we should have said before and they would have put us in a better room. We explained about having to leave without examining it first, and he did give a discount on the agreed price. However, they really shouldn't put anyone in this room until it has been totally renovated, and if they had had a better room, why didn't they put us in there in the first place?

The hotel has huge potential - it's very old, with creaky floorboards, full of character, reasonable bar, nice big conservatory for breakfast etc. in beautiful grounds, but does need some money spent on it to bring it up to standard.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't have a room with an old bathroom, decoration circa 1970s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Dena E,

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned Scarborough Hill is in a beautiful position and the driveway looks especially pretty in the spring when the daffodils are out.

We have taken over at Scarborough Hill this week and are so keen to build on the potential that you have recognised. We have already painted the toilets and refurbished one of the older bathrooms. Another one is being done as I write and two more (including the one you stayed in) are being completed at the beginning of June.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Scarborough Hill in the future.

Best regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a traditional country hotel in a quiet location and, like many converted old houses, this has plenty of character and charm.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the prices are very reasonable. Some of the decor is a bit "tired", but there appear to be refurbishments in progress and the rooms are clean.

The food is mostly traditional British: good, but nothing you couldn't have cooked at home yourself. There is selection of good local beers but the house wine is only average quality.

Overall a good place to stay if you're looking for a traditional country hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is currently being refurbished so should be nice when finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We loved staying at this hotel in the Lord Nelson Suite for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We found all of the staff to be very helpful especially as I was arranging the surprise for my husband. The rooms were very clean and well presented and the hotel is set in attractive grounds. We dined in the the conservatory restaurant and were very surprised at the quality considering there was only 2 other couples staying that night. We had a starter and the carvery and everything was very tasty, looked good and not over cooked. We will definitely be returning as the cooked breakfasts were excellent and tasted fantastic. The only minus is that the hotel is a bit out of the way so if you have a drink with dinner you will need a taxi as there is not much locally.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandLou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
851 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
490 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
196 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Property: Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing