We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We often travel to England as our family lives there (my husband is originally from there). We did a weekend at the Scarborough Hill for a college reunion. It was the perfect venue. There were about 16 of us, all staying at the Inn and having dinner and breakfast there. Ian, the owner of the Inn, set up a special room for us and we were able to enjoy a private dinner as a group, but still ordering our dinners off the menu (which was excellent!!). Each time we were in the bar someone was there to offer good company and local information. We also thought the value was excellent for the quality. Everyone who worked there were gracious and welcoming. It was very clean (even mid-renovation!) and cozy. We had the Nelson Suite - which we highly recommend. It's all you want in an English country inn!! Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful looking hotel (Inn) in a lovely setting. We had booked 4 single rooms and the general opinion was we would definitely stay again. The welcome from Ian (owner) when we arrived was so warm and friendly it set the standard high for the rest of the staff, but we were never disappointed. Everyone could not have been more helpful and friendly. All our bedrooms were comfortable, warm and spacious. Everyone had 2 good nights sleep. For those who commented on having had had nights sleep because of the hard beds. Come on guys! Whether you prefer a soft bed or hard, it is a matter of personal choice and it is not really fair to put negative reviews based on very personal preferences.
We dined in the restaurant 2 nights, and while the menu is a little uninspiring, it was very well cooked and tasty. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and cooked breakfast arrived piping hot, which is not always the case in some establishments. I liked the endless cups of very hot coffee.
Ian has only had the hotel for a short time and I get the feeling the previous owner may have let things slip a bit. Rome wasn't built in a day and it takes time and money to do all the refurbishments one would like. There are still areas that need a little attention. Our bathrooms all had a small 'niggle' mainly the showers, which worked okay, but could do with being replaced at some stage in the future. One room my colleague had a problem with the mixer taps. Also window frames need a bit of TLC.
The hotel has a very comfortable lounge and bar with real log fire.
Scarborough Hill has 4 stars, but it is based on a Inn and not a hotel, so it is a little misleading and I imagine guests may expect more. I would say a good 3 star hotel.
Keep up the good work Ian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay on a short road trip to Norfolk, we came across this hotel on-line and were not disappointed when we arrived. Room 1 was large and comfortable at the front of the hotel; although my other half found the mattress firm she nevertheless slept soundly and did not awake with aches and pains in the morning. A good nights sleep was aided by very thick curtains rendering the room extremely dark and the fact that the hotel is some distance from the road. Whilst the decoration of the room appeared dated and certainly not to my own taste, it was by no means shabby and was entirely in keeping with the location. Neither was it corporate and impersonal as you so often find these days. The overall effect was like staying with a favourite relative in a comfortable, warm, homely, familiar and relaxing way. The en suite bathroom had no rails to hang towels on but the bath was the longest bath I have ever seen and a welcome change to the more usual shower cubicle. Coffee, tea, biscuits, even local fudge; a nice touch all most welcome, TV in room - usual facilities - overall clean and tidy. Beer - Once Bittern was kept well, local gin and tonic refreshing, evening meal I had crayfish / prawn salad nice but no bread offered, and burger in sour dough bun delicious - partner had soup, said was a little too salty and half chicken (huge portion) well cooked - requested veg instead of salad and gravy to accompany which was delicious and into which we both dunked our wonderful chips. Breakfast was a delight, everything available, croissants, jams, cereal, juices and a wonderful choice of cooked fare, We both chose the full english and were extremely pleased, a large chunk of black pudding, perfectly poached egg, locally sourced sausage and bacon which had a wonderful crisp rind. Our host was attentive to our needs at all times. Would happily revisit if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ic3h0t3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Manager at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Scarborough Hill and all of your positive comments. Since taking over earlier in the year we have started refurbishment but we still want Scarborough Hill to retain it's traditional individuality and charm. We are delighted that you found this to be the case.

A particular thank you for your detailed review of your dining experience. We have taken on your feedback regarding the prawn and crayfish cocktail and this is now served with bread and butter.

We do hope to welcome you back to Scarborough Hill in the future.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I would firstly like to say a big thank you to the young man who was on reception, behind the bar, and serving breakfast the next day.
A lovely looking hotel in a beautiful setting, the Scarborough Hill Hotel is off the beaten track , a lovely looking period house from the outside.
On entering the premises after check in we where shown to our room on the first floor up a winding staircase which in places had a threadbare carpet.
Once we entered the room it was very obvious that it was tired,and needed renovation.
We unpacked the bags and then retired to the bar after a long 6 hours drive, the stale smell of beer hit me, there was dirty glasses on the bar, empty bottles of beer in a crate and a definite musky smell of uncleanliness.
We returned to the hotel later that night from visiting family and the alleged double bed which we both thought was a 3/4 was the most uncomfortable, hard mattress we have ever NOT slept on. (pillows the same)
I could go on and on about this place but i must give them credit , the breakfast was very good , but for the rest ..... no thanks, never again.
This hotel is under new ownership, and they have some good ideas , however until the rooms and beds are sorted out return custom be somewhat rare.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on other rooms but room 3 is to be avoided at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Manager at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Jacky R,

Firstly may I thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, breakfast and our beautiful setting.

We were disappointed to read that overall you did not enjoy your stay at Scarborough Hill. If you had told us at any point during your stay that things were not to your satisfaction we would have done our best to remedy the situation.

In the past 6 months room 3, in which you stayed, has been painted, wallpapered and has a new bathroom suite. The week prior to your stay we received a surprise visit from the AA inspector. He visited all of our rooms and public areas and we were delighted to be awarded with 4*'s.

We have received a great deal of positive feedback recently but take all feedback on board which we consider in our plans for the future of Scarborough Hill.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Called in here for our tea one night whilst on holiday in the area.

Wonderful customer service from the girl behind the bar - a big plus point. The setting for the inn is also gorgeous.

However meals served on cold plates is not good as the food is cold before you even start. Also, I had the roast dinner and the roast potatoes were rock hard. I can appreciate that they may have been reheated from the carvery at lunch time but they were almost inedible.

With a few tweaks on the food this place could be marvellous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Manager at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear anne0105,

Thank you for taking the time to review Scarborough Hill following your meal. We are pleased you enjoyed the service you received during your visit and our lovely setting.

I was disappointed to read that the plates your dinner was served on were cold. This is not standard practice and I apologise this was overlooked on this occasion. We have also taken on board your feedback regarding the roast potatoes and have recently made amendments to our evening menu.

We hope that you will come back to Scarborough Hill to sample it should you be in the area again in the future.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just to reiterate my mums comments, I was so impressed with everything right from the year before our wedding when we booked your venue. Ian you were very attentive to what we wanted and were always at the end of the email if I had any questions or needed. The day itself couldn’t have been more perfect from the start, the venue was set up amazingly and the food was beyond lovely. Everybody’s needs were catered for right until the end of the night and the staff were fantastic. All the guests absolutely loved the location, setting and venue. Rooms were lovely. Thanks for making my wedding day the day I wanted. Amy and Liam McHale.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy200713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Manager at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Amy and Liam,

Thank you so much for your very kind words. Your wedding day was really lovely and it was such a pleasure to be a part of it.

We hope you are both well and should you be passing this way it would be lovely to see you.

Best wishes,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Would like to say a massive thank to Ian and all the staff who made it such a beautiful day on saturday 20th july for our daughter amys and liams wedding day nothing was too much trouble for anyone lovely overnight stay we took over the hotel rooms lovely and lovely breakfast all of our guests said what a lovely setting the hotel was and so safe for the children cant thank u all enough

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Owner at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you all on Amy and Liam's special day and we're so pleased with all the positive feedback we received.

We look forward to seeing you at Scarborough Hill again soon.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
908 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
222 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
755 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
513 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £72 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing