We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It has been nearly four years since we got married at Scarborough Hill and we decided to return to the hotel to bring back the special memories we had. It certainly didn't disappoint. Ian was again simply fantastic, friendly and pleasure to spend time with.
The breakfast and dinner were exceptional and a game of scrabble whilst relaxing by the log fire with one of the many whiskies on offer was simply perfect.
We stayed in the Nelson suite which is the gorgeous honeymoon room complete with its own living room and boutique bathroom.

We cannot recommend it enough. Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used to come a lot to this inn for garvary. It was very good offer few years back for 3.95£ Real bargain and good quality. I understand the prices gone up and we dont mind to pay 7.95£ now. Unfortunatly they dont do garvery on weekdays anymore. We came for garvery last sunday and were bit disappointed. The meat were good but the stuffing rock hard. We all (4people)found in our yorkshire puds small bits of silver foil?? I know we could complain but we are not really this kind of people and was first time we were not so satisfied here. The puddings were very nice. We hope next time sunday roast here will be better

Stayed: December 2013
Thank queeny1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Scarborough Hill last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had room 6 which was lovely and cosy, clean and well stocked with tea and biscuits! The bar area is really welcoming and comfortable and the bar staff were really lovely. We decided to take dinner in the restaurant and the food was very tasty and excellent value! After a very comfortable nights sleep we tucked into a yummy breakfast, full English of course! Cannot fault our stay at all, so nice to stay somewhere with excellent customer service, we will certainly be returning!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We often travel to England as our family lives there (my husband is originally from there). We did a weekend at the Scarborough Hill for a college reunion. It was the perfect venue. There were about 16 of us, all staying at the Inn and having dinner and breakfast there. Ian, the owner of the Inn, set up a special room for us and we were able to enjoy a private dinner as a group, but still ordering our dinners off the menu (which was excellent!!). Each time we were in the bar someone was there to offer good company and local information. We also thought the value was excellent for the quality. Everyone who worked there were gracious and welcoming. It was very clean (even mid-renovation!) and cozy. We had the Nelson Suite - which we highly recommend. It's all you want in an English country inn!! Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful looking hotel (Inn) in a lovely setting. We had booked 4 single rooms and the general opinion was we would definitely stay again. The welcome from Ian (owner) when we arrived was so warm and friendly it set the standard high for the rest of the staff, but we were never disappointed. Everyone could not have been more helpful and friendly. All our bedrooms were comfortable, warm and spacious. Everyone had 2 good nights sleep. For those who commented on having had had nights sleep because of the hard beds. Come on guys! Whether you prefer a soft bed or hard, it is a matter of personal choice and it is not really fair to put negative reviews based on very personal preferences.
We dined in the restaurant 2 nights, and while the menu is a little uninspiring, it was very well cooked and tasty. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and cooked breakfast arrived piping hot, which is not always the case in some establishments. I liked the endless cups of very hot coffee.
Ian has only had the hotel for a short time and I get the feeling the previous owner may have let things slip a bit. Rome wasn't built in a day and it takes time and money to do all the refurbishments one would like. There are still areas that need a little attention. Our bathrooms all had a small 'niggle' mainly the showers, which worked okay, but could do with being replaced at some stage in the future. One room my colleague had a problem with the mixer taps. Also window frames need a bit of TLC.
The hotel has a very comfortable lounge and bar with real log fire.
Scarborough Hill has 4 stars, but it is based on a Inn and not a hotel, so it is a little misleading and I imagine guests may expect more. I would say a good 3 star hotel.
Keep up the good work Ian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay on a short road trip to Norfolk, we came across this hotel on-line and were not disappointed when we arrived. Room 1 was large and comfortable at the front of the hotel; although my other half found the mattress firm she nevertheless slept soundly and did not awake with aches and pains in the morning. A good nights sleep was aided by very thick curtains rendering the room extremely dark and the fact that the hotel is some distance from the road. Whilst the decoration of the room appeared dated and certainly not to my own taste, it was by no means shabby and was entirely in keeping with the location. Neither was it corporate and impersonal as you so often find these days. The overall effect was like staying with a favourite relative in a comfortable, warm, homely, familiar and relaxing way. The en suite bathroom had no rails to hang towels on but the bath was the longest bath I have ever seen and a welcome change to the more usual shower cubicle. Coffee, tea, biscuits, even local fudge; a nice touch all most welcome, TV in room - usual facilities - overall clean and tidy. Beer - Once Bittern was kept well, local gin and tonic refreshing, evening meal I had crayfish / prawn salad nice but no bread offered, and burger in sour dough bun delicious - partner had soup, said was a little too salty and half chicken (huge portion) well cooked - requested veg instead of salad and gravy to accompany which was delicious and into which we both dunked our wonderful chips. Breakfast was a delight, everything available, croissants, jams, cereal, juices and a wonderful choice of cooked fare, We both chose the full english and were extremely pleased, a large chunk of black pudding, perfectly poached egg, locally sourced sausage and bacon which had a wonderful crisp rind. Our host was attentive to our needs at all times. Would happily revisit if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ic3h0t3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Manager at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Scarborough Hill and all of your positive comments. Since taking over earlier in the year we have started refurbishment but we still want Scarborough Hill to retain it's traditional individuality and charm. We are delighted that you found this to be the case.

A particular thank you for your detailed review of your dining experience. We have taken on your feedback regarding the prawn and crayfish cocktail and this is now served with bread and butter.

We do hope to welcome you back to Scarborough Hill in the future.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I would firstly like to say a big thank you to the young man who was on reception, behind the bar, and serving breakfast the next day.
A lovely looking hotel in a beautiful setting, the Scarborough Hill Hotel is off the beaten track , a lovely looking period house from the outside.
On entering the premises after check in we where shown to our room on the first floor up a winding staircase which in places had a threadbare carpet.
Once we entered the room it was very obvious that it was tired,and needed renovation.
We unpacked the bags and then retired to the bar after a long 6 hours drive, the stale smell of beer hit me, there was dirty glasses on the bar, empty bottles of beer in a crate and a definite musky smell of uncleanliness.
We returned to the hotel later that night from visiting family and the alleged double bed which we both thought was a 3/4 was the most uncomfortable, hard mattress we have ever NOT slept on. (pillows the same)
I could go on and on about this place but i must give them credit , the breakfast was very good , but for the rest ..... no thanks, never again.
This hotel is under new ownership, and they have some good ideas , however until the rooms and beds are sorted out return custom be somewhat rare.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on other rooms but room 3 is to be avoided at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ianscarborough, Manager at Scarborough Hill Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Jacky R,

Firstly may I thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, breakfast and our beautiful setting.

We were disappointed to read that overall you did not enjoy your stay at Scarborough Hill. If you had told us at any point during your stay that things were not to your satisfaction we would have done our best to remedy the situation.

In the past 6 months room 3, in which you stayed, has been painted, wallpapered and has a new bathroom suite. The week prior to your stay we received a surprise visit from the AA inspector. He visited all of our rooms and public areas and we were delighted to be awarded with 4*'s.

We have received a great deal of positive feedback recently but take all feedback on board which we consider in our plans for the future of Scarborough Hill.

Best regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
910 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
223 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
758 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
513 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £71 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing