We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in North Walsham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked to stay at the Scarborough Hill Country Inn overnight as we were visiting family in the area, and enjoyed the Sunday carvery lunch with them in the large and comfortable conservatory. Ian the manager was very friendly and welcoming, as were all his young enthusiastic staff members. We were in room 1, which was clean and comfortable and well decorated. The lounge and bar area are cosy where we were served sandwiches in the evening, and enjoyed some drinks. The full English breakfast was good, well cooked and presented with local good quality ingredients. It is a lovely setting, the building is full of character and is being upgraded in some areas ready for the summer season, where it makes a lovely wedding venue within the grounds. Chickens were roaming around the gardens!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloemHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked a 4 day stay over the Christmas break to be near our family.
We really enjoyed our stay, the rooms were lovely and comfortable, and the Manager and his wife were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us, In fact i am a lover of Black pudding on my Breakfast,and they had run out on the third day, But the manager went out of his way to make sure i had some the next morning. Lovely Breakfast ( fresh Eggs from there own hens).we will be staying again .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It has been nearly four years since we got married at Scarborough Hill and we decided to return to the hotel to bring back the special memories we had. It certainly didn't disappoint. Ian was again simply fantastic, friendly and pleasure to spend time with.
The breakfast and dinner were exceptional and a game of scrabble whilst relaxing by the log fire with one of the many whiskies on offer was simply perfect.
We stayed in the Nelson suite which is the gorgeous honeymoon room complete with its own living room and boutique bathroom.

We cannot recommend it enough. Many, many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used to come a lot to this inn for garvary. It was very good offer few years back for 3.95£ Real bargain and good quality. I understand the prices gone up and we dont mind to pay 7.95£ now. Unfortunatly they dont do garvery on weekdays anymore. We came for garvery last sunday and were bit disappointed. The meat were good but the stuffing rock hard. We all (4people)found in our yorkshire puds small bits of silver foil?? I know we could complain but we are not really this kind of people and was first time we were not so satisfied here. The puddings were very nice. We hope next time sunday roast here will be better

Stayed: December 2013
Thank queeny1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Scarborough Hill last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had room 6 which was lovely and cosy, clean and well stocked with tea and biscuits! The bar area is really welcoming and comfortable and the bar staff were really lovely. We decided to take dinner in the restaurant and the food was very tasty and excellent value! After a very comfortable nights sleep we tucked into a yummy breakfast, full English of course! Cannot fault our stay at all, so nice to stay somewhere with excellent customer service, we will certainly be returning!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We often travel to England as our family lives there (my husband is originally from there). We did a weekend at the Scarborough Hill for a college reunion. It was the perfect venue. There were about 16 of us, all staying at the Inn and having dinner and breakfast there. Ian, the owner of the Inn, set up a special room for us and we were able to enjoy a private dinner as a group, but still ordering our dinners off the menu (which was excellent!!). Each time we were in the bar someone was there to offer good company and local information. We also thought the value was excellent for the quality. Everyone who worked there were gracious and welcoming. It was very clean (even mid-renovation!) and cozy. We had the Nelson Suite - which we highly recommend. It's all you want in an English country inn!! Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful looking hotel (Inn) in a lovely setting. We had booked 4 single rooms and the general opinion was we would definitely stay again. The welcome from Ian (owner) when we arrived was so warm and friendly it set the standard high for the rest of the staff, but we were never disappointed. Everyone could not have been more helpful and friendly. All our bedrooms were comfortable, warm and spacious. Everyone had 2 good nights sleep. For those who commented on having had had nights sleep because of the hard beds. Come on guys! Whether you prefer a soft bed or hard, it is a matter of personal choice and it is not really fair to put negative reviews based on very personal preferences.
We dined in the restaurant 2 nights, and while the menu is a little uninspiring, it was very well cooked and tasty. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and cooked breakfast arrived piping hot, which is not always the case in some establishments. I liked the endless cups of very hot coffee.
Ian has only had the hotel for a short time and I get the feeling the previous owner may have let things slip a bit. Rome wasn't built in a day and it takes time and money to do all the refurbishments one would like. There are still areas that need a little attention. Our bathrooms all had a small 'niggle' mainly the showers, which worked okay, but could do with being replaced at some stage in the future. One room my colleague had a problem with the mixer taps. Also window frames need a bit of TLC.
The hotel has a very comfortable lounge and bar with real log fire.
Scarborough Hill has 4 stars, but it is based on a Inn and not a hotel, so it is a little misleading and I imagine guests may expect more. I would say a good 3 star hotel.
Keep up the good work Ian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
972 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
812 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
222 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
309 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £69 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing