We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2011

With elderly parents travelling over a hundred miles to visit us, we decided to treat them to a meal out so booked a table. Arrived to find a blazing log fire in the foyer and thought we were in for a special treat. How wrong we were. Waited for ages standing around like lemons then decided to go and find a member of staff ourselves. Drinks were served in dirty glasses and after waiting more than 45 minutes, my elderly father was still waiting for the cup of tea he ordered. Got shown to our table which could have done with a wipe down and was surprised to find ants crawling around our table and seats especially as it was February. Alarm bells were ringing but we decided to check out the carvery. Considering there was eight in our party and the booking was made a day in advance, there wasn't enough food to feed three of us let alone eight and what food there was I wouldn't have fed to my dogs. The server was actually going to cut up the left over gristle from a beef joint and offer me it on a plate. When we pointed out there was not enough veg and what there was looked liked last weeks left over’s it was then he came back with a small bowl of runner beans and threw them on top of the sorry looking mushy leeks. The staff members attitude is something to be experienced and not in a good way, unhelpful, uncaring, and unprofessional. Needless to say, we didn't stay and after apologising to my parents for what should have been an enjoyable occasion and which was now ruined by a shambles of a hotel, we ended up getting pizza from a local supermarket and ate at home. Properly managed and with some money spent on cleaning and pest control, this could be a nice place but as for us, once bitten, twice shy. WE WON'T BE GOING BACK AND DEFINITELY WILL NOT BE RECOMMENDING IT TO OUR FRIENDS. (Or anyone else for that matter.) THANK YOU SCARBOROUGH HILL FOR SPOILING OUR DAY.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gastrokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Scarborough Hill Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed again, not changed in 2 years, staff stayed up to accept my late booking in, breakfast good, must have poached fish with egg. Value good but if rooms were better would pay more as the location is good. would recommend it but not everyone cup of tea,

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Needs a complete makeover. Bathroom door would not close, furniture and decor was very dated and dreary. Despite assurances that it was suitable for disabled, it most certainly wasn't. Stairs were steep and wide. My wife who is disabled couldn't use the shower during the 4 nights we were there, because there is no grab rail.
The only thing that I found reasonably good were, the staff were very polite.

The best thing about our stay was the great breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_newberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We visited the premises for a drink#meal and were kept waiting for an eternity to be served whilst the sole barman was engaged in taking orders for meals and also receiving payments of bills and then taking customers to the restaurant area to show them their table.Furnishings are in a terrible state of repair, scruffy and are akin to Steptoe and son. The floor carpet was threadbare and was in a dangerous state with strands or trip hazards at doorways. Carpets were filthy.Cig butts on the floor and small stones on the carpet! How do they get away with it?
Overall the property needs to be redecorated throughout.
We decided not to have a meal. The staff do not have any enthusiasm. This is a typical English 'take it or leave it' establishment and an embarrassment when compared with hotels abroad.[ The TV hotel inspector would have a field day]
Such a shame because the location and grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hankerchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I love this sort of hotel, low ceilings, log fire, good ale (Adnams).
Nothing really to fault except the rooms, which is a bit bad for a hotel really.
Rooms are very warm, both ordinary and suite (I've stayed several times). But carpets and soft furnishing have seen better days to be honest. Bathrooms look like they were installed in early 90's.
Rooms rates are reasonable and a one night stay is just about passable. If the rooms were upgraded I'd happily recommend it to anyone.
North Walsham is charming, Lord Nelson's birthplace, and nothing much has changed since then. I think a real hidden diamond for those who like to explore.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We travelled about 5 hours to an important business meeting, but the entire event turned in a fiasco. We had chosen the location carefully based on the website - what we found on arrival was something completely different.
Firstly the room was dirty - the bathroom had not been cleaned, not even the loo had been flushed. We were actually the only guests staying so they could not have been too busy - for a Friday night in June we should have realised that the writing was on the wall.
Dinner was a carvery - no choice at all, just a carvery like yoy would get in a 3rd rate pub, right down to soggy veg and frozen yorkshire puddings. It was a disgrace - book here at your peril.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Scarborough Hill Hotel was a welcoming stay and is a peaceful setting its great for all occasions i stayed with my dad and the rest of the family and i loved it !!

Good luck dad running the hotel i know you'll do a good job.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yazziiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
506 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
216 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: £74 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing