We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norfolk Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Farm Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Walsham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Farm Barn
Ranked #5 of 13 North Walsham B&B and Inns
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Norfolk Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

On arrival at this lovely barn conversion we were greeted by a smiling Val and Andy as we got out of our car, swiftly followed by tea and biscuits whilst relaxing on comfortable sofas in the stunning main hall. We had booked the Rose Room and were not disappointed when shown the very comfortable large bedroom - and especially the huge bathroom! Val and Andy 's attention to every detail for our comfort was much appreciated, as were the delicious breakfasts with many choices. The extra touches, such as the wine and the home-made cake deliciously awaiting us each day, as well as the chocolate , biscuits and fruit and the many teas and coffees, made it even more special. We also loved Norfolk - this was our first visit - and our hosts' local knowledge was very helpful in finding our way around. We would happily recommend this lovely place to everyone . I would particularly recommend a visit to the Old Vicarage gardens at East Ruston. They are absolutely spectacular.

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
136
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Totally lived up to expectations as a base for our first break in Norfolk nestled in the countryside on the site of an old farm and next to the ancient church betwixt North Walsham and the sea at Bacton.

The continuity of standards did not slip in any respect over the course of our four night stay with our hosts Andy and Val maintaining the comfort and cleanliness of our spacious well equipped and incredibly peaceful en-suite first floor rooms and the very tasty breakfast offering a variety of cooked or cold choices from local suppliers.

We could not resist the full English every morning but also incorporated fresh fruits, muesli, bread, jams and marmarlades in various combinations. The spiced marmalade made by one of their farming neighbours was awesome! They were also happy to help with one of our gluten free diets and kept the supply of complimentary cake, water and wine stocked up in the room.

From this happy base we really had the feeling that we were free to morph into the local countryside for absorbing walks or along the near by beaches at Walcott, Sea Palling, Waxham and funnily enough dear old Happisburgh without the need to use the car.

Fantastic!

Room Tip: All very Good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Church Farm Barn is situated down a quiet country lane about 4 miles from North Walsham and id ideally situated for touring the areas of Norwich and East & North East Norfolk.
After our original booking Val and Andy were very accommodating when we requested to change our initial reservation. When we arrived we received a warm welcome and Val kindly immediately removed a display of lilies on learning of my wife’s allergy to them. We stayed in the Gold room which is very spacious with French door opening on to a patio area. Everything was spotless, the bathroom towels were changed each day without request and the room was serviced daily to a very high standard. Provided in the room were fresh fruit, biscuits, tea & coffee and a bottle of red wine. There was also a silent mini fridge containing water, fresh milk, chocolate bars and a bottle of white wine and each day we returned after a day out we found two pieces of cake also in the fridge. We had a very pleasant stay with Val & Andy being very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.
My only very minor negative comment is that breakfast is ordered the previous evening as sometimes I decide not to take breakfast but this is very insignificant when considering the whole package.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Church Farm Barn was faultless & I am fussy! A very rural setting so extremely quiet but minutes away from the hub-bub. Absolutely nothing overlooked, our 'Gold' room was suite style so large, bathroom clinically clean yet very welcoming. Most importantly the bed was comfortable which I consider a priority when away. Breakfast was all local produce, eggs were laid hours earlier! Recommendations were in abundance for local pubs, eateries and walks. On return one evening we found a freshly baked treat in the mini fridge in our room for us. Val & Andy were the nicest people and we were lucky to meet 'Buddy'! I highly recommend this as a 5 star B & B and would return there immediately without looking further if I visit Norfolk again. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Jane & Gary x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Echoing all the other reviews, Church Farm Barn is a lovely place to stay. Every need was catered for and Val & Andy are great hosts. We thoroughly recharged our batteries, the area the barn is in is so quiet and peaceful, yet you are not far from the coast and various towns. All in all perfect and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the gold room on the ground floor - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maulden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

A truly first class B&B in a lovely quiet setting and a total credit to Andy and Val who were the perfect host and hostess. We booked with friends and both the Rose and Gold rooms were sumptuous and spotlessly clean and our every possible want and need was catered for within our rooms as part of the package and to an extremely high standard. There is a lovely bright beamed lounge area for relaxation with the breakfast room adjoining - with first class fruit, locally produced muesli, preserves and home made bread made by our hosts the previous night! There is also an excellent selection of very tasty cooked breakfasts all beautifully presented. Its a pity we had to go home after two nights and couldn't stay indefinitely! Thank you Andy and Val (and of course Buddy!).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose Room and our friends stayed in the Gold Room - both were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilliMaulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are looking for a stunning property and a really quiet retreat, look no further. Close enough to get to some great places, walks on the beach and lovely towns to visit. Our hosts (Andy and Val) couldn't do enough for us. Plenty of recommendations for activities and food. The little surprises were welcome - cake waiting for us, some wine each day. We both needed a rest and we couldn't have chosen a better location and property. Thank you both very much for a great stay. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
3.1 mi away
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
#2 of 2 in North Walsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
May Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Olde Hall Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Point House B&B
Point House B&B
#3 of 13 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Barn

Property: Church Farm Barn
Address: Church Farm Rectory Road | Edingthorpe, North Walsham NR28 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Church Farm Barn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing