We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a transformation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #13 of 39 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a transformation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This pub has the best view in Sheringham. Before it was dated and dirty. Now it is just stunning! It's refurb is classic and classy. The staff are friendly, the menu is good, the range of drinks is excellent. They have a large projector screen for sport ( they don't have sky but show sport on main channels). We watched the England vs Sweden match here and the atmosphere was relaxed and lovely. If there's one place in Sheringham you need to go to its her

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veggiefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    64
    31
    12
    18
See reviews for
46
84
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Having eaten here before we have always generally got what we expected, nice pub grub.
However, today was a different matter. Big signs stating under 'New Management' and I would strongly suggest they just stop serving food until they have the rest of the business in order.
The carvery struggled, and at best seemed to serve slop style food. The extended wait for roast potatoes resulted in pale, soggy and very sad excuses for roasties. Both my daughters (2 & 5) said they tasted horrible and wouldnt eat them (unheard of in our house!). A 'chef' (I use that term very broadly) left the kitchen in front of some of my party and complained how busy it was - and not in a positive way....
I am veggie, and no main meals exist anymore. The barmaid suggested the one starter, garlic mushrooms in a creamy sauce with bread-converted into a main with the addition of chips and salad. When ordering drinks some time later another server came past having just bought the mushrooms-suffice to say it was a long wait for my meal and boy I wish they hadnt bothered. The chips looked fried to death (at least cooked twice or even three times), the sauce on the 8 small mushrooms was thick, lumpy and curdled from the microwave cooking, no bread and a handful of 'salad'....shocking that I was charged £7.50.
So concerning that the 'new management' have allowed this....I would rather eat nothing than this awful excuse for food...I hope some decent, common sense is injected and fast; else this will be our last visit to this pub-I am very sad to say.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheringham hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The operators of the last 4 years left yesterday. The Hotel is now under temporary management. The Hotel will be re-furbished within the next 12 months so for the moment it should be regarded as a "contractor" hotel suitable mostly to people working in the area or students looking for good clean CHEAP accomodation. You get what you pay for and this accomodation will be good value.

Room Tip: Look at the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

my husband and I called in on the off chance that they had a room which they did for room only for £50. however on booking they failed to mention the karaoke in the evening, but this was the least of our worries. no towels, had to ask twice, no toilet roll holder and not even any toilet roll. everything very dusty and needed a good clean and hoover. In bathroom was left with second hand soap and hairs in the bath from the previous resident. No toiletries provided other than the used soap. only one milk sachet provided and open tea bags that anyone could have handled. Having said that sea view was good and bed was clean and comfortable and we slept well, probably the sea air!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank folbigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Pub review only: we have been to Sheringham for the past 4 years on holiday and every year we await to see if the pub has had a much needed make over, alas it has not!! Such a shame as it is in a wonderful seafront location. Food was ok but after noticing how dirty tables, carpets and decor was would not return again. Would make a fantastic pub just needs a bit of money investing on it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here with family and friends on the weekend of 16th-18th July. New decor and paintwork well overdue - total re-furbishment needed. Marks on the walls and paintwork. Our room overlooked the sea - and like previous reviewers there were dead flies and cobwebs in and around the window. The bathroom had a fusty odour and the seal around the outside of the shower was broken and had been filled yet there were still holes - it looked botched . I returned to the room on Saturday afternoon to find the white towel we had placed on the floor covered in dust and fluff so I turned it over - Saturday evening it was the same again - when I looked up the extractor fan in the ceiling was absolutely full of fluff and dirt which was now dropping out and onto our towel. There was no headboard on the bed just just a mattress on the base. The mattress was old, lumpy and needed throwing out. We had stayed here the previous year and although in need ot some love and attention then it appears to have detriorated drastically in the last year. I would not return and would not recommend either!!!

Room Tip: You will need earplus if you go to bed before midnight on Saturday evening as there was a disco kare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlee1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

My Husband and I stayed in a very clean and Beautifull Bed and Breakfast in walking distance of the Two Lifeboats Hotel.
Our accomadation was about the same price,we had seen the Two Lifeboats advertising their Carvery.
We went inside after finding the bar to order the food,people were eating and we went to fetch our Carvery,my Husband had the Large and I had the Normal size,and it was all barely warm and HORRIBLE AND DISGUSTING.Where we sat in by the street window looking out it was covered with cobwebs and dead flies on the furniture,window sills and on the carpet.The decor was awfull who ever runs this place has no idea at all.it could be such a great place with money and thought put into this establishment.
In the entrance area where all the tourist imformation is kept there was a leaflet I picked up and underneath it was a light switch that had come of the wall where the screws had pulled out of the plas
ter it was still live and conected to the wiring electrocution or fire waiting to happen???
In general dirty,unkept and unloved.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tractorgirl154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
1.6 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
1.8 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Property: The Two Lifeboats
Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing