We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but excellent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #12 of 38 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quirky but excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in room 2, Duncan, a twin room with a sea view. Excellent central location. Car parking is nearby, you pay £5 per 24 hours and the hotel reimburses you. Comfy, low set beds, wall mounted TV and en suite, all recently refurbed to a fair standard. Electric shower was a little quirky.

From the moment we walked through the pub door to check-in until we left, we were made really welcome. The staff are so friendly and helpful, it really was a pleasure being there.

The standard pub fare was not our kind of food although it looked well cooked and presented. Lots of families dining there. Fish & mushy peas were spot on. We cannot recommend the breakfast enough. The well coooked, full English sets you up nicely for a days coastal walking, quality local sausages and plenty of other local ingredients, all cooked to order and served by the charming Matthew.

The real ales were all on tap and Daniel the barman knew his stuff. Nectar!

Loved the place and we will return.

Room Tip: The stairs might be tricky for the less mobile as it is a lovely old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieblunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    66
    32
    13
    20
See reviews for
47
88
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Located on the sea front, therefore gulls and litter collectors might wake you up earlier than you would like, but as the weather was good and it was already light this was okay for us. Room quite comfortable, we had superior king so plenty of space but shower not very effective and not easy to control the temperature. Room only serviced if you put the notice on the door when you went out. The ales in bar very good, pub kept very clean thanks to the hard work of cleaning lady and bar staff on early shift, food very much 'pub grub'. Breakfast satisfying but service was chaotic, chef never seemed to know how many guests to expect so waited sometime for breakfast both days we were there. When food did arrive it was plentiful and enjoyable.The rooms have been refurbished in the last year or so but if new windows had been put in the installer should be called back as they had a lot of condensation between the panes and one of the windows in our room didn't shut properly, not a problem for us as the weather so good but wouldn't like it if had turned cold. Staff all very friendly and helpful, especially cleaning lady regarding attention at breakfast and landlady regarding access to internet. Would stay there again as long as price is right, we paid £80 per night for king size room and two full breakfasts. Parking in public car park a short walk from the pub, car parking charges reimbursed by landlady.

Room Tip: Augusta room not easily accessible if you have trouble with stairs as staircase from bar is very ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving in the practically empty pub, we had two of the bar staff and a cook run around trying to determine if they could move a table to accommodate a disabled member of our group, as "the boss didn't want the tables moved". It wasn't therefore very welcoming.

It's a lovely, cosy building, but it fails to deliver when food was concerned. The (very typical) pub food served lacked a bit of flair and could have been so much more considering that it looks recently refurbished to a delightfully high standard and feels almost like a proper restaurant.

Maybe some home made crab cakes since we're in Crab Country?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec_Waldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

On first impressions the pub looked really good. Warm, comfortable, clean.
Menu looked good.
Then the food came out. I am sure it was nearly all from the microwave. The burgers were, well I don't know what they were. We're they beef?
For a drink lovely, great views and I bet in the summer it's packed.
Food, go to the chippy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 806JamesM806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We found the food and staff very good. The place was very busy but we managed to find a table and got served very quickly. The staff were polite and helpful, the food was great tasting and exceptional value for money when compared to other restaurants in the area. The food came out quickly and the beer was great, overall I'm looking forward to when we go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spend an awful lot of time in North Norfolk (10+ weeks a year) and are finding it more and more difficult to find good basic pub grub. The Two Lifeboats offers that! We eat out regularly and find that the prices on the coast are becoming prohibitive (£12 for haddock in batter and chips or more than £10 for lasagne and chips). Here at the Two Lifeboats we can eat for a relatively cheap price and get standard "pub" food which matches the prices. If you are lookig for fillet steak - go elsewhere! However, we will certainly be returning in the future and this is an ideal place for a lunch!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location of this pub is fantastic,nice to sit out have a drink&having the sea as a backdrop.The lad behind the bar who had his hair shaved off was a good bloke but......the food was awefull,so i would advise a great place to go for a drink but i wouldnt eat there again :( ,so the score is for pub & lad behind the bar only!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Property: The Two Lifeboats
Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing