We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #13 of 33 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I haven't stayed in the hotel for several years, but it has recently been 'done up' & the looks have much improved. Went to eat there on a beautiful sunny day last Sunday, 6th July; it was very busy in Sheringham, due to the Potty Festival. Managed to get an outside table overlooking the beach, and ordered lobster salads. They were to die for! Succulent fresh lobster, beautifully presented, with a varied salad. Only slight complaint was that it was served with a very sweet honey dressing; but that came in a seperate jug, so didn't need to use it.
The other food that came out looked good also, Sunday lunches, burgers etc.
It is right at the bottom of the High Street, but certainly worth the trek down!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were able to get a room in the last minute and I would reconsider staying again if I was in the area. The staff we met were friendly and check in was efficient. The room was comfortable although the mattresses were rather soft for my liking - still slept though! Free wifi; parking is refunded to guests staying overnight.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Duncan - very steep and narrow staircase to get to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKBHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in room 2, Duncan, a twin room with a sea view. Excellent central location. Car parking is nearby, you pay £5 per 24 hours and the hotel reimburses you. Comfy, low set beds, wall mounted TV and en suite, all recently refurbed to a fair standard. Electric shower was a little quirky.

From the moment we walked through the pub door to check-in until we left, we were made really welcome. The staff are so friendly and helpful, it really was a pleasure being there.

The standard pub fare was not our kind of food although it looked well cooked and presented. Lots of families dining there. Fish & mushy peas were spot on. We cannot recommend the breakfast enough. The well coooked, full English sets you up nicely for a days coastal walking, quality local sausages and plenty of other local ingredients, all cooked to order and served by the charming Matthew.

The real ales were all on tap and Daniel the barman knew his stuff. Nectar!

Loved the place and we will return.

Room Tip: The stairs might be tricky for the less mobile as it is a lovely old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieblunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Located on the sea front, therefore gulls and litter collectors might wake you up earlier than you would like, but as the weather was good and it was already light this was okay for us. Room quite comfortable, we had superior king so plenty of space but shower not very effective and not easy to control the temperature. Room only serviced if you put the notice on the door when you went out. The ales in bar very good, pub kept very clean thanks to the hard work of cleaning lady and bar staff on early shift, food very much 'pub grub'. Breakfast satisfying but service was chaotic, chef never seemed to know how many guests to expect so waited sometime for breakfast both days we were there. When food did arrive it was plentiful and enjoyable.The rooms have been refurbished in the last year or so but if new windows had been put in the installer should be called back as they had a lot of condensation between the panes and one of the windows in our room didn't shut properly, not a problem for us as the weather so good but wouldn't like it if had turned cold. Staff all very friendly and helpful, especially cleaning lady regarding attention at breakfast and landlady regarding access to internet. Would stay there again as long as price is right, we paid £80 per night for king size room and two full breakfasts. Parking in public car park a short walk from the pub, car parking charges reimbursed by landlady.

Room Tip: Augusta room not easily accessible if you have trouble with stairs as staircase from bar is very ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving in the practically empty pub, we had two of the bar staff and a cook run around trying to determine if they could move a table to accommodate a disabled member of our group, as "the boss didn't want the tables moved". It wasn't therefore very welcoming.

It's a lovely, cosy building, but it fails to deliver when food was concerned. The (very typical) pub food served lacked a bit of flair and could have been so much more considering that it looks recently refurbished to a delightfully high standard and feels almost like a proper restaurant.

Maybe some home made crab cakes since we're in Crab Country?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alec_Waldeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

On first impressions the pub looked really good. Warm, comfortable, clean.
Menu looked good.
Then the food came out. I am sure it was nearly all from the microwave. The burgers were, well I don't know what they were. We're they beef?
For a drink lovely, great views and I bet in the summer it's packed.
Food, go to the chippy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 806JamesM806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We found the food and staff very good. The place was very busy but we managed to find a table and got served very quickly. The staff were polite and helpful, the food was great tasting and exceptional value for money when compared to other restaurants in the area. The food came out quickly and the beer was great, overall I'm looking forward to when we go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
758 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
759 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range: £89 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing