We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of The Two Lifeboats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Two Lifeboats
Ranked #15 of 34 Sheringham B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely clean, spacious, modern room with all the items you'll need for the every day modern traveller. Food is delicious both in the evening and morning with speedy service and locally sourced ingredients. Owners accommodating to your needs including letting me have an early breakfast so I could set off early. Especially loved my sea view! Can't wait to return - would say this is the best single room I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    67
    36
    14
    22
See reviews for
50
91
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have been here for Sunday lunch a few times now and have consistently good wholesome food. It's so good to find that each time you eat here it is as good as before. Lovely roast lunch with seasonal veg and good thick slices of succulent meat. £8.95 for a good plateful. We took friends who were also impressed. We live locally so don't stay there and cannot review bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends for my birthday weekend. When we arrived on the Friday afternoon we were met by a delightful, friendly young lady called Pip who showed us to our room, and even offered to carry our luggage. She was extremely helpful, pointing out the private balcony for my husband who is a smoker, and explaining the various exits and entrances, breakfast times etc. Our room was tidy, clean and nicely decorated, with everything we needed for an enjoyable weekend.The beds were extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed a great nights sleep. There was even a champagne bucked in our room, which we did use for a champagne breakfast the following morning, my birthday. There was a young man called Dan who worked behind the bar, who was also extremely friendly, charming and helpful - he even wished me a Happy Birthday and wished me a lovely day. The breakfasts were lovely and plentiful, with much to choose from. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and it was made even more special by the wonderful staff. It really makes such a difference to see a friendly, smiling face, and it was very much appreciated - Thank You

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Have been going to Sheringham for years & had some great times.
We only live an hour away but heard the Two lifeboats had been upgraded so decided to book 2 nights for my wifes 60th birthday.
Some money has been spent, great looking pub & a nice room with a sea view.
Very good manager & chef & nice bar staff all very helpful.
Cosy room just a bit of noise at closeing time, well it is a pub after all.
We eat in the bar first night, one meal off the blackboard & one off the menu both very good value.
Breakfast was full english & i mean full.
Will be going back soon

Room Tip: Ring the pub don't use other websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grifi500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for three nights prior to valentines day very nice large clean rooms shower was very good. The staff were very friendly and the food was a very good standard very surprised , as it is a pub not the normal pub food. Yes you did get a bit of noise but as it was just the pub back round music it never was a problem for us and it was never open very late at night. The log fire was a lovely site as we were there when the bad storms were battering everything to pieces. We had friends join us there to stay they had a good nights sleep. The breakfast is very nice you can have a full English or just tell them what you want if a full English breakfast is to much. We had a very pleasant stay and when we go back again we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went here for Valentine's evening. It's lovely to have views of the North Sea from your room. However, it was hardly peaceful as the rooms are directly over the bar and we could barely hear ourselves think due to the loud music. My disappointment relates more to the manager's attitude when we complained the next morning. It was apparently because we'd booked online so hadn't checked on their web site that there would be "entertainment" on Valentine's evening, it was "a pub not a hotel" and the music didn't go on all night. We were given a grudging apology. It takes more than a fancy web site and a trendy paint job to create class.

Room Tip: Access is difficult due to extremely narrow stairs. The landing smells of cigarette smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 840Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheringham hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I recently found myself here on three consecutive evenings. The first of which I quickly settled in and decided to eat there after a warm and friendly greeting from an excellent barman - in sharp contrast to the indifference of 'The Crown'. Adnams Ghost Ship is a great beer, the house Merlot first rate, and the Roasted Mediterranean Veggie dish, with slices of Brie and sauteed new potatoes, delicious. The following night I had a very good steak, and on the third could not resist trying the Veggie dish again. Disaster struck - a different chef, and it was awful. The nice manageress was sympathetic and I was not charged for it, but my evening was spoiled of course. Such a shame. Nice place though, in a lovely location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brystanners21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
4.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Burlington Berties
Burlington Berties
#1 of 34 in Sheringham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Two Lifeboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Two Lifeboats

Property: The Two Lifeboats
Address: 2 High Street | Norfolk, Sheringham NR26 8JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Two Lifeboats 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Pub with Waves of History The Two Lifeboats was originally a coffee shop and Fisherman's Mission circa 1720. The public house is named after the Augusta & Duncan lifeboats that rescued a crew of eight from the wreck of the Norwegian brig Caroline on December 6th 1882. Steeped in history and fully refurbished to a very high standard we opened to the public in June 2012. View our food menus at the Two Lifeboats... Offering not only high standards of surroundings, we pride ourselves on providing a quality affordable family offer. Bed & Breakfast The complete refurbishment of our six boutique bedrooms mans we can now offer a wonderful overnight experience. Check out our bedrooms page for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Two Lifeboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Lifeboats Hotel
Two Lifeboats Sheringham
The Two Lifeboats Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing