We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel.. Very pleasant stay....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dales Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel.. Very pleasant stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

An absolutely amazing hotel. Just near Sheringham town centre.. Nice rooms, very polite and professional staff. The breakfast was nice too.. It has amazing gardens at the back. Absolutely loved my stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pulakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    143
    63
    36
    9
See reviews for
62
305
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stopped for two nights at the Dale. There was an excellent welcome on arrival. The receptionist escorted us to our room which was comfortable, clean and with the expected country house feel and style. Then a most welcome pot of tea was provided in the lounge. The evening meals were very tasty with friendly service and there was a reasonable wine list. The breakfast is cooked to order and both the kippers and the ‘full-English’ are excellent. The eggs; fried, poached and scrambled, always a good measure of a cook, were well cooked. There was a small cosy bar with a good pint of real-ale. One small criticism was that there was a slight drain smell from our sink; solved by us by keeping the plug in.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher room has a balcony with a great garden view. It also has a spa-bath and a four poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

this hotel is so cosy tastfully decoated very quiet amazing surrounding grounds .Our stay was great lovely room BEAUTIFULL MEALS . freindly staff .Lovely relaxing lounges to relax in just like being in a country home OUR STAY WAS THE BEST AND I WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We attended The Dales Country House yesterday afternoon for Traditional Afternoon Tea. From the outside the House is so picturesque and adjacent Sheringham Park off the A148 Holt to Cromer Road. It has a mix of bricks and finely knapped flint facing with its Victorian windows. In the Great War it served as a Miltary Hospital.

The reception is on the left as you enter the main door. We were met by a very friendly young lady and she made us feel wanted and at home. We told her we wanted a traditional English tea. She ordered that for us and said we could have it in the bar area which was very qaint or the Longe or Library.The rooms were all shown to us and very ornate the rooms are too. We chose the lovey bar area which overlooks some lovely gardens. It has the most decorative styled staircase i have ever seen and surrounded by lovely oil paintings of local scenes.Its an expensive hotel but clientel accept this as its an afternoon of pure indulgence

The Tea contains - smoked salmon sandwiches,Ham etc; plus a selection of fancy cakes and and scones for a cream tea. A pot of tea and a second pot for free. My only gripe is that hotels of this class use tea bags and not leaf tea. I chose a large glass of red shiraz wine which cost £7.50p. The most i have paid elswhere in the area was £6.00. It was worth it though.

The lavatorys are also very clean.

Room Tip: I only went for tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a cream tea here and was fantastic!
Tremendous service and a fabulous setting even if it was raining outside.
There was so much that they could not fit the scones onto the serving plate.
Whe we finally got to the scones they were still warm!
Would highly recommend The Dales as a venue for a cream tea.

Brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1968ajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently came to stay with my husband at The Dales and we were very pleased with the relaxing settings. I don't feel that some of the negative comments are fair at all. The place has a lovely garden, not far from the sea or Sheringham Park so it's perfect for a lovely evening stroll.
We were very impressed with the high quality of food. But what really stood out for us was the excellent service from the staff, in particular was Lucy. She was very helpful and attentive it's a shame more establishments don't have quality staff like her! She is an asset to the Mackenzie hotels! Although it was reasonably busy we never felt ignored.

We will certainaly be back to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsL-C-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We are repeat guests, we love this hotel!!
On arrival this time we were shown to a lovely large ground floor room called 'Pipestrelle', which was perfect for us as we had our dogs this time and our own access to the national trust park.

As usual the staff provided some of the best service we have ever received, we couldn't fault them.

We can't wait to go back in the New Year, we will be asking for Pipistrelle again.
I have noticed some negative comments on here regarding this room though as it's at the back of the hotel it's not a very bright room, all I can suggest is asking for a bright room not on the ground floor?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
11.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing