We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Dinner 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just returned from Valentines Dinner. My husband paid extra for a box of homemade fudge and truffles together with a rose wrapped in cellophane. The chocolates were on our table ,which I placed in my bag on leaving. My husband asked the waiting staff where the rose was whilst he was paying the bill. The member of staff said they didn't know where the roses were and subsequently went looking for them. They returned to say they couldn't find them so we had no choice but to leave without a rose. Somewhat disappointing as the staff didn't even offer the rose in the vase on the table in lieu of the rose in cellophane.
Customer service??????

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaC40, Guest Relations Manager at The Dales Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

I am sorry to read that you didn't receive your rose for your Valentines dinner that your husband had arranged, having spoken to our Restaurant Manager - he is extremely embarrassed that this happened, but I believe that there was a mistake made with our order/deliver and for this we can only apologise. I am sorry that you weren't offered the rose off the table, this would have been a way to apologise. I do hope that you enjoyed your romantic meal with your husband and that the food lived up to the occasion... I am assure by other guests that it did. I do believe that the rose was never charged for however if this is not the case please contact me at the Hotel and I will arrange a refund. Maria Cooper - Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

booked for 4 nights in early feb sunday to thursday.hotel very quite, we were the only ones dining on the sunday night.table set up in library really nice touch.staff were excellent so friendly and attentive nothing seemed to much trouble.the hotel is really loverly and clean, only niggle we had was the room temperature quite cool at times during day and the water was not as hot as we would have liked.adam came to our rescue and boosted the heat when we asked he gave us first class service.loverly room and dog friendly with great walks in sheringham park.the food was of the highest standard.on arrival home the hotel phoned to say we had left one of our bags and offered to post it back to us ,will be back again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Lovely afternoon tea especially the cakes. Would have been nice to have been asked for what sandwich fillings we would like, I know I'm fussy but I don't like smoked salmon,mustard,pickle or tomatoes so weren't any I liked also coffee could have been hotter I drank it it one go. Staff were friendly and it's a beautiful relaxing hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Booked here for a Monday evening in January on a dinner, bed & breakfast menu and upgraded to most expensive room, still not ridiculously expensive. On arrival told we were only guests - sounds as though that could be a bit off-putting or that service would be a bit lax but not a bit of it. It was like having your own country house with staff. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were all very friendly and approachable and made us feel like they put in as much effort for us as for a full hotel. Why it was empty is unfathomable, room great with lovely bathroom, made us up a small table in the cosy library rather than in restaurant. Breakfast spread was huge (again just for us) and overall we would visit again, particularly out of season if you want to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it, so it was lovely to have a similar experience. The situation is really pleasant and very peaceful. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Kingfisher which has a four poster bed and balcony, it is well appointed and cosy. The food is really excellent. You make your menu choice in the bar while you enjoy a pre dinner drink. The staff address you by name, what a treat. It is friendly and very civilised. If you enjoy walking this is the place for you. Just park your car and go. The hotel backs onto Sheringham Park and a mile further on is the sea, it is wonderful. Previous comments regarding poor staff and service do not match up with our experience, we will be returning.It is good and excellent value








Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visited here last year after receiving a gift of afternoon tea from some relatives. We live in Norfolk and it was a beautiful day, so we decided to take are tea on the lawn. Although we had booked for a specific time the staff seemed very disorganised and we waited a considerable length of time for our food. It made a pleasant change but I cannot say it was anything exceptional. The hotel is attractive and set in a lovely area but this alone was not enough to make us want to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After a most trying four years we needed a few days to crash out in November prior to a major operation at the end of the month. As soon as I could drive we were in need of a second crash-out in January. Through offpeakluxury-com, who most helpfully provided a shortlist of hotels that they thought would suit our particular requirements, we selected the Dales at Upper Sheringham, a converted rectory standing in its own beautiful grounds, just through a gate into Sheringham Park. In the Autumn and Winter, dogs don't have to be on a lead. The dog (Miniature Schnauzer) was made as welcome as we were by the cheerful and accommodating staff, so it was like a home-from-home for all of us on the second visit. The food was excellent - we were on a four-night half-board weekday package (with ground floor room upgrade) and we expected to incur extra charges for a number of a la carte evening meals. However, the quality and selection in the table d'hote menu was more than sufficient. They are fortunate with their current chef. We are looking forward to our third visit later in the year when I can walk a respectable distance - North Norfolk has plenty to offer,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
540 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
785 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
16.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range: £152 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing