We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Valentines meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
dwelch@fsmail.net
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentines meal”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Enjoyed a lovely meal at the Dales. The staff were very pleasant, and the food was very nice and presented very nicely. Our only gripes were the amount of times different members of staff asked us either if the meal was ok or we wanted topping up with water. Other than that lovely evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadannoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    146
    64
    39
    9
See reviews for
64
312
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A big thank you to The Dales in Sheringham for a fabulous evening. A family party of 7 of us had a fantastic meal . The food was excellent as was the service. Sarah and the rest of the staff were attentive and professional. Having eaten here before we know that every thing is always of the highest standards and nothing is too much trouble, even down to producing a creme brulee which was not on the menu! Very many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel setting is in a spot of natural beauty next to the National trust Sheringham park. After having a glorious walk in the grounds, I would recommend visiting the Dales country Hotel for lunch, dinner or a weekend stay. Lovely setting in beautiful historic surroundings. At the moment they offer a lunch special which is a selection from the menu on offer for 2, very enjoyable and tasty. We will be returning again quite soon. We would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: We visit often to eat and have not stayed at the hotel so cannot rate rooms etc. stop by for a meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just returned from Valentines Dinner. My husband paid extra for a box of homemade fudge and truffles together with a rose wrapped in cellophane. The chocolates were on our table ,which I placed in my bag on leaving. My husband asked the waiting staff where the rose was whilst he was paying the bill. The member of staff said they didn't know where the roses were and subsequently went looking for them. They returned to say they couldn't find them so we had no choice but to leave without a rose. Somewhat disappointing as the staff didn't even offer the rose in the vase on the table in lieu of the rose in cellophane.
Customer service??????

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaC40, Guest Relations Manager at The Dales Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
I am sorry to read that you didn't receive your rose for your Valentines dinner that your husband had arranged, having spoken to our Restaurant Manager - he is extremely embarrassed that this happened, but I believe that there was a mistake made with our order/deliver and for this we can only apologise. I am sorry that you weren't offered the rose off the table, this would have been a way to apologise. I do hope that you enjoyed your romantic meal with your husband and that the food lived up to the occasion... I am assure by other guests that it did. I do believe that the rose was never charged for however if this is not the case please contact me at the Hotel and I will arrange a refund. Maria Cooper - Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk united kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

booked for 4 nights in early feb sunday to thursday.hotel very quite, we were the only ones dining on the sunday night.table set up in library really nice touch.staff were excellent so friendly and attentive nothing seemed to much trouble.the hotel is really loverly and clean, only niggle we had was the room temperature quite cool at times during day and the water was not as hot as we would have liked.adam came to our rescue and boosted the heat when we asked he gave us first class service.loverly room and dog friendly with great walks in sheringham park.the food was of the highest standard.on arrival home the hotel phoned to say we had left one of our bags and offered to post it back to us ,will be back again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely afternoon tea especially the cakes. Would have been nice to have been asked for what sandwich fillings we would like, I know I'm fussy but I don't like smoked salmon,mustard,pickle or tomatoes so weren't any I liked also coffee could have been hotter I drank it it one go. Staff were friendly and it's a beautiful relaxing hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Booked here for a Monday evening in January on a dinner, bed & breakfast menu and upgraded to most expensive room, still not ridiculously expensive. On arrival told we were only guests - sounds as though that could be a bit off-putting or that service would be a bit lax but not a bit of it. It was like having your own country house with staff. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were all very friendly and approachable and made us feel like they put in as much effort for us as for a full hotel. Why it was empty is unfathomable, room great with lovely bathroom, made us up a small table in the cosy library rather than in restaurant. Breakfast spread was huge (again just for us) and overall we would visit again, particularly out of season if you want to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
11.1 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing