We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dales Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Weekend”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent a very pleasant two nights at The Dales. We were part of a group of 36 people and the staff were friendly and efficient. The food was very good and the afternoon tea served in the garden was delightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieW3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    150
    64
    40
    9
See reviews for
64
314
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Found this place by accident while walking in Sheringham Park ! We have been twice now for lunch which we enjoyed in the lovely garden setting .
They also serve afternoon tea and I asked about gluten free options and they said if given notice they can adapt it to gluten free!
Dogs are welcome too which is great !
My only criticism is that the service was very slow when we went on a Bank hol Monday but it was busy then .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlutenfreeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we have just returned from a 3 day break at the dales we was greeted by sarah who made us welcome like old friends even though we have never stayed here before our room was clean with views to the garden and was really quiet nothing was to much trouble here, the food was lovely and sarah was there again in the evening serving they really work hard here to make your stay the best thank you and we will be back next year

Room Tip: room 5 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colmenar, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This sister hotel to the "lInks" at West Runton is a flag ship venue for a quiet stay in super surroundings, the listed building in well kept, it is a must for a short stay. The staff very good in every way which is a credit the the hotel chain. Food of the highest quality, the chef there over the 4 nights we stayed was excellent, he will be hard to keep there. Room 10 was mine, just needed some new wall paper but very comfortable, perhaps the management could have tea making facilities in the room which would be super. The breakfast was served at the table and plenty of choice. Enjoy this hotel it is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms I reviewed very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRPMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for one night in this beautiful old place full of nice pieces of furniture and art. All the staff was very friendly and welcoming. A comfortable bed made our stay very pleasant and a free DVD we borrowed entertained us well.
4 stars hotel with a good service, quite pricey food
Beautiful gardens with gigant chess and jenga :)

Room Tip: Room NO 3 had a leaking shower into the restaurant downstairs but I think they fixed that :D Facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Spent a very pleasant weekend at The Dales Country House Hotel. The setting is delightful. The main rooms lovely too. The welcome very warm and efficient. Found the staff friendly and very helpful. We booked the best room available whilst the couple with us a superior room. They expected it to be good and were laying for us as a gift for my partner's birthday. There is a programme of renovation at the hotel ....we had a lovely room whilst the others a terrible room with rusty windows, a tired room and sad bathroom. The hotel apologised but no other room was available. This hotel could be wonderful with a little care as to the finish of the renovation. The shower screen did not fit well and leaked over the pretty lighting fitted into the bath panel...it freaked me out a bit..electricity and water and all that. The hotel promote their restaurant and something special but I am afraid that it let the hotel down for us. The portion sizes were fine for me but tiny for anyone wanting normal sized meals. Starters ok, puds nice too but mains were horrid. On the second night we chose a la carte herb lamb cutlets medium rare, they were raw and the whole course terrible. I wd suggest it s nice place to stay, conveniently located but be prepared to wait a little for bar service tea, coffee etc it isn't fast but not a problem for us as were were not in a hurry. The pleasant staff made up for that. The meals well take a deep breath and do not expect too much is my advice u less you eat out. Breakfast and sandwiches were really good.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements and ensure it is a renovated room and not a messy or sad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This country house looks fantastic and has a great history. Our room was pleasant enough with a nice garden view, it was tired and needed some tlc, the curtain was hanging off the rail at one end, the pillows were very old and tired they fell like a towel would when placed over your arm. The staff were helpful and friendly but during our 1 night stay appeared to be leaderless, there was no manager either for reception or restaurant and so it all lacked a professional feel that you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The bar and lounge were comfortable enough as was the restaurant but food and service in the restaurant was poor. We thought the service was slow in the evening with at least 30 mins between starters and main course but breakfast was worse. We would have liked a second bottle of wine, as we had a long wait for food the first went fairly fast, but not staff were present to ask, they appear only to take orders and put plates, and clear plates from tables. Their eyes are cast down so attracting attention is difficult as they disappear back behind the scenes. In the morning We ordered breakfast and then waited over 30 mins for it to arrive we asked why it had been so long and were advised the chef had made the order up incorrectly, I accept this can happen but someone should have told us there would be a delay there was no apology. At check out there was again an issue with the bill we were told their Ops Manager was away so they couldn't confirm pre payment, accepting they had our credit card details they condescendingly accepted our position. All in all one not to return to until professional management is in situ, this was an expensive mistake.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Juls3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheringham
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
5.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
499 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
5.0 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Country House Hotel

Property: The Dales Country House Hotel
Address: The Dales Lodge Hill, Sheringham NR26 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in national Trust parkland, you will find a quintessentially English grade II listed country house. Discover luxurious bedrooms, original fireplaces, mullioned windows and a fine oak staircase. Add to this, innovative English cuisine and a wealth of those little extras that make all the difference, and truly you have found a place where you can relax! You can also enjoy free, wireless internet broadband access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Dales Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Country Hotel
Dales Country Hotel
The Dales Country House Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing