We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

The Sheringham Trawler
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If we are busy why not book a table and order you meal so that is ready for you to enjoy when you return, We normally have tables available every 20/30mins approx...So there is time for you to take a stroll to the sea front or a quick look at the shops..... Please ask a member of staff for approx waiting times on the day ..... We can also cook gluten free and wheat free and maybe able to cater for special diets ...... Please ask a member of staff for details
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We live in Cambridge and came down to visit family relatives who recommended the Sheringham Trawler. I would just like to say how amazing the food was...best Fish & Chips I've had in a very long time. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, we will definitely visit again when we are down. Can I also say to the gentlemen slating the Trawler 'McDonalds chips' & hearing it was poor? The chips are the fluffiest, golden chips I've ever tasted and as for hearing it was poor? Why would you try a restaurant that you've 'supposedly' heard was poor? Many thanks Sheringham Trawler, you'll be seeing us again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HarrisonStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    80
    14
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The food and service are both fantastic, the place itself is beautiful, local photos around the restaurant  shows how much they love the area and gives it a real community feeling. Prices to eat in are not too different to take away making eating in very tempting, a refreshing change to most places and certainly my favourite fish and chip restaurant in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady-Simone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive rubbish”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We heard the trawler was poor but decided to give it a try , 6 of us ate there , the fish was small and grey when opened the chips are mc Donald style poor service toped our visit never go again , still we had a fun time in sheringham

Helpful?
4 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“As far as the humble fish n chips goes..............”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As far as the humble fish n chips goes this is pretty much as good as it gets! Service was prompt, helpful and done with a smile :) I asked if it was possible for my little girl to have a half portion of chicken chunks and yes it was, then the waitress pointed out we could have half chips which i hadnt thought of, so we did! she is pre-school age. We all found the food well cooked and of a good ole fashioned fish n chip quality, portions were large, prices were much better than some sit down chippies, the chunky farmhouse style furniture is better than the old flimsy tables you might get and the local pictures on the walls is a good touch as is the bow of a ship as a shop front! Well done to the lads in the back and the girls out front! :) O and my little girl was given some paper and crayons to draw with, see you again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rustymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I usually leave the batter when I have fish and chips but this was so good I ate the lot and the chips were fantastic. Went with my husband and disabled nephew, we all loved the food and they made us very welcome with plenty of room for the wheelchair..... the only fish and chip shop with wheelchair access that we could find in the town, so a win-win situation for us all. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank biffaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sheringham Trawler also viewed

Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 
 

Been to The Sheringham Trawler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing