We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful part of the world.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stiffkey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Sand Creek Campsite
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful part of the world.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying again this year.Stunningly beautiful surroundings. You can't get a more breathtaking view which changes every day but remains untouched. Friendly welcome. Very relaxed atmosphere creating one of the best camping holidays ever.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarvell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ratley
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a great place to camp/glamp!

The pitches are well-sized and so tents aren't crammed together, the shower block is well-maintained and the prices are very reasonable. The site itself is positioned right next to the marshes so there is the chance of midges at the right (or wrong) time of the year. However, a short walk takes you to the crabbing bridge and a longer walk takes you to the seal colony on the sands. Be aware of the tide times though as getting these wrong would be a huge mistake! The coastal path runs between the marshes and the campsite so perfectly placed if you're thinking of walking or cycling the coast path. A 10 minute bike ride East takes you to Stiffkey Fen which, in the summer, is home to Spoonbills. Those of a more seafaring nature will enjoy using their canoes or kayaks along the creeks and attempting to find their way out onto the sea or to Blakeney Point. Getting to Wells by car takes just over 5 minutes where you can find all the amenties of a small seaside resort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMisterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend 4-6 July 14, the site was very busy with families and people celebrating birthdays. Despite this it was a wonderful site and quiet in a busy sort of way, you could not tell it was busy with the newish toilet/shower block coping very well with all the people. No queuing for facilities even at peak times. Lovely walk to Wells next to sea and dog friendly bus to bring you back to the end of the lane and the Elephant bus stop. Stiffkey village very picturesque with a nice round walk from the campsite through the village and back to the site. The Marshes right on the door step but will have to explore these on our next visit. Our pitch slightly sloped but that did not cause a problem, the site is obviously well drained as the ground coped well with all the rain we had whilst there. The site owners were very pleasant when we arrived and explained things well, we had no cause to go back to see them which to me shows that it is a well run site. Every one obeyed the quiet time between 11pm and 7am even our dogs. Will definitely go again and understand that we have to book well in advance in high season.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

First time camping and loved every minute of it, the lady at reception was very welcoming, the shower/toilet block was lovely and clean with definitely be returning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

High Sand Creek is a grassy open campsite overlooking the Stiffkey marshes. The sunsets are amazing. We visited midweek in June and had a wonderful stay and will go back for another stay later in the year. The campsite was clean, quiet, well maintained with just a few tents and motorhomes. The wardens couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The bus that goes along the coast stops just at the end of the drive, the pub (Red Lion) is a 10 minutes walk and the village has a little shop. All in all everything is really convenient including the costal walk which passes the campsite. The one little annoyance was the showers were not quite hot enough for my taste (no individual temperature control) and had those annoying push buttons which make it really hard to rinse your hair as the water only flows for a few seconds. Improve the showers and put in a washing machine and it would be perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annabel_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is our second visit to High Sand Creek, and we were looking forward to more of the same friendly atmosphere. Things took a curious turn when our two reserved pitches were already occupied. Not to worry, there's plenty of room. Except, the two replacement pitches were rough ground loaded with what could well have been builder's rubble. Approximately 9 out of 10 pegs hit rock and bent. When we mentioned this to the manager, she was dismissive and insinuated that we were making it up as no one had complained to her before; we since found out she had only been manager here for 2 or 3 weeks! Anyway, that aside, we were pleased to be pitched and looked forward to a peaceful evening. Well, despite the claim on the numerous signs around the site, they seemingly do not enforce their curfew any more. Hence, there were quite a few late-night disturbances from teenagers and adults. Not a deal-breaker, but certainly an unexpected and unwelcome change to policy. So, overall, a disappointment; and one that will likely see us choose a different destination next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stiffkey campsite is situated on the North Norfolk coast on the landward side of marshlands that go all the way to the sea at high and mid-tide, but at low tide you will have as far again to walk to the sea, and over either sand or mudflats. As the tide comes in, the sea quickly meanders it's way along extremely muddy creeks almost right up to the campsite. There is a small National Trust car park to the north-west corner side of the site, and perched on the highest bit of ground next to the car park is a small wooden hut that provides a perfect spot to sit to watch the marshes as the sun sets.

Once on an evening a gentleman was playing his Northumbrian pipes from there and the sound lilting over the marshes at dusk rounded off a perfect sunset and that, folks, is what this area is all about: the sounds of curlews and skylarks, the marshes, the mud, the crabs, the light, i.E. The unspoilt landscape. If that's not what you enjoy, stay well away, you'll hate it.

As you approach the campsite, the hut from whence all reservations and administrations are conducted is situated on your right at the entrance. You are requested to not go onto the site before registering. The tide times are also displayed here and if you are going far out onto the marshes it is suicidal not to acquaint yourself with these. You can actually walk far enough out to see the seals if there is a good low tide, but you must know when the tide will start to come back in. It comes back in very fast and fills creeks behind you with fast moving water before you know it. It will cut you off if you are not careful.

The campsite itself consists of a large sloping field surrounded by a tall hedge on the west side (your left as you enter), and by a narrow strip of trees on the North (seaward) side, and by a separate fixed caravan site to East (your right as you enter) and by large farm buildings on the landside.

The nearer the farm buildings you are, the harder the ground generally. It seems that there was a concrete surface there once long ago and so the earth is easier to peg the further away you get from that side of the field. If you are along that edge do some prodding before you commit to your final tent placing to make sure you can get pegs in. Wherever you are on the site you will find the soil is stony in places.

At the other (seaward) side of the site, you are essentially at the bottom of a hill, so if the weather is extremely wet this area would not be my first choice of pitch. Also at certain times of year, (whenever it is that the earwig breeding season is in full swing) you will find the inside of your bags and all open containers, that you so carefully hung from the highest poles and points of your tent to keep any marauding critters away from anything edible, will be absolutely heaving with the little varmints. They crawl up the tent fabric and drop down into the bags! Cunning or what? This location is the best for hedgehog spotting though. If you leave a mug of hot chocolate out they will come to you and wake you with their snuffling inside your tent, so have the camera and flash ready!

If the weather is very windy, which it can be on this exposed site, the best protection against the elements is usually on the western side under the high hedge as the wind seems to come more often than not from that direction. However you will not see the sun set from there because it is on a low side of the site.

The best place for views of the sun setting over the marshes is from the highest point of the site which is the central area and on the westerly slope of the site from the centre, i.E. Any of the higher ground to the west of the toilet/shower block.

We have been coming to this campsite for a very long time, long enough to remember when the toilet block was a corrugated structure, so for us the arrival of a brick shower / toilet block was the height of luxury. The toilet block itself is modern, more or less centrally placed and the number of loos, showers and sinks is adequate most of the season but struggles a little when really busy. It would not really be possible for the staff to keep it 100% clean as the main pastime for kids is to get absolutely covered in mud in the marsh creeks; I doubt whether the showers in any other campsite in the UK has this much mud to contend with!

This really is known as a family site, and my experience is that whilst there are usually lots of young children, they have always been well behaved and generally seem to have left computer games and other annoying electronic devices at home. Overly loud music is prohibited, certainly if it is causing a nuisance the staff will intervene and I have seen a few inconsiderate persons asked to leave during the years I have been going. Noise should be kept to a minimum later in the evening. Small barbeques /fires are permitted provided they are raised off the ground.

Inconsiderate raucous types usually get weeded out before they get onto the site although Its increasing popularity does means that occasionally you get groups who drive the latest and biggest and shiniest cars and who turning up very late seem to think they own the place. Rather than respectfully and quietly ensconcing themselves they are inclined instead to hold forth, either on the nose of the latest bottle whose cork they just popped or on the provenance of the fish roe they seem to want the world at large to know about, last thing at night.

Consequently when those young children of lesser mortals who got their heads down at a reasonable hour and who equally rose at a reasonable hour (for kids) and who are quite rightly tearing round enjoying themselves yet probably making less noise than the seagulls and pigeons did earlier at dawn; those well heeled lot, whilst obliviously inconsiderate the night before, unequivocally declare their belligerent exception taken at very normal morning camp-life, thus causing them to be held in even deeper contempt by the regulars.

Whatever the nature of such square pegs they usually realise this is a round hole to them, and leave. So apart from the occasional hiccup it is a very peaceful and smoothly run site.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Digital-Finger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stiffkey
8.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,326 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
611 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
Deepdale Backpackers & Camping
#1 of 1 in Burnham Deepdale
95 reviews
2.9 mi away
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
#2 of 6 in Wells-next-the-Sea
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
MerryHill Country Park
MerryHill Country Park
#1 of 1 in Honingham
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Sand Creek Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Sand Creek Campsite

Property: High Sand Creek Campsite
Address: Vale Farm 22 Bridge Street, Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Stiffkey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Stiffkey
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
High Sand Creek Campsite Hotel Stiffkey
High Sand Creek Campsite Stiffkey, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing