We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

South facing courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing courtyard
Dining area opening onto Courtyard Dining area from kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
South facing courtyard
Dining area opening onto Courtyard
Dining area from kitchen
Bespoke Kitchen from dining area
Bespoke Kitchen
Beamed Lounge
Open fire
Lounge - settle and games
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Hooks
Bathroom
Stiffkey Marshes
Spring in Sheringham Park
Sheringham Park Rhododendron walk
More rhododendron/azaleas
Weybourne mill from Sheringham Park
One view from Sheringham Park Ramblers' walk
Steam train (Sheringham to Holt) - view from Sheringham Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ayeshaswi...
Stiffkey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a brilliant stay at Lavender Cottage, kids loved it, as did we. It’s a half mile walk to the salt marshes, with a little park on the way. We went crabbing (and caught loads, they hide under the mud but bacon brings them out) at the crabbing bridge near the campsite and you can walk down to the beach, just be aware of the tide times. Parking was occasionally a problem when the road was full but a neighbour told us about one of the cottages that was empty so when we really struggled for a space we used that until a space came free on the road. If you have children I would recommend a visit to Bewilderwood, it’s an hour’s drive but totally worth it and we visited Cromer on the way back for fish and chips at No1. Wells beach was gorgeous, honestly so many lovely spots around to see. There is also Dinosaur Roarr Adventure nearby but they had a massive problem with wasps so we decided to save that one till next year. We hope to return next year, if Natasha would have us back, we made some lovely memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squirrelb...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage for a stay in North Norfolk”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This cottage has everything you need, a lovely outside space, cosy living room and dining area with bi-fold doors and well-appointed kitchen.

The location is perfect and Stiffkey is lovely. A short walk from the marshes, a local shop and a pub. What more could you want?!

The owner was great, and helped us out with an initial problem we had on arrival, even though she was on holiday herself.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Hi Squirrelbunker
Thanks for your kind review. It's great that this year guests can enjoy the outside space, having had so much sunshine. It's only small but it is a sun-trap.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamBatche...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute little cottage”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Pretty little cottage with a fantastic kitchen. Has all the equipment you need . Beautiful sunny area all day long.
The host was very helpful too when we was lost.

No parking outside the cottage so was a struggle for us as we had a van, lucky enough as it wasn’t too busy. Have to park on the road outside.

A great all round cottage ideally placed for visiting the beautiful area of the coastline, and surrounding area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2018
Hi Pam
Thanks for your great review. Guests usually love the kitchen so we're glad you did too.
Do come back to visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lavender Cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Spent very enjoyable few days in this delightful cottage. It is beautifully furnished and fully equipped. The garden is a sun trap sheltered from any wind. The village store is just around the corner as well as bus stop for costal bus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review Valerie. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUISE S
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Ideal location for walking along the North Norfolk coastal paths. Lovely, cosy cottage with an open fire and very well equipped kitchen.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
johnrobso...
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lavender cottage stiffkey”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage but let down by lack of cleaniess stain and gritty floor tiles and a very sad bathroom in need of an update, clean it up and we will be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
We are pleased you liked our cottage but obviously very sorry to hear the tiled floor did not appear clean. We do ask guests to contact our local property manager on arrival if anything is not satisfactory in order that it can be rectified, as we do aim to give our guests a stay they will enjoy. At this stage, all I can do is apologise and assure you I will feed back your comments to our cleaners.

The bathroom is redecorated every couple of years and is due to be done again this winter.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback; it helps us to monitor the experience/views of our guests and is appreciated.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing